We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The planes was delayed five hours and I knew I would miss my connection so I called Stella Maris. The wonderful women at the front desk (Yvonne? and Lakera) booked Orange Hill hotel (family run & close to the Nassau airport) and rescheduled our flights for the next morning. A cab was waiting for us at the Stella Maris airport and 10 minutes later we were in our cottage. The hotel rooms may have a better view but we enjoyed the extra space in the cottage which had cute decorations and were immaculately clean. Also, we were the only ones who used the pool which was steps outside our door. We relaxed at Moonshine's beach bar and over the course of a week became friends with two wonderful Long Island bartenders Sue and Queen. We loved the Salt Water pool, you've got to see it to believe it and visited it several times a day to experience it during high and low tide. Peter and his grandson drove us on several complimentary excursions and we appreciated the fact that the he was willing to send us on a shorter kayaking trip, we enjoyed Deal's Beach and loved the snorkling at Columbus Point (I saw a turtle!) Except for the rum punch party with a rake and scrape band, it was quiet in the evening but we enjoyed talking to Shawn at the bar and there is always the pool table and foose ball but my favorite activity was walking to the beach and looking at the stars. Service at breakfast (Laura?) and dinner was excellent and Bruno's food was an interesting combination of Bahamian and German. Everyone was friendly and helpful but most importantly seemed genuinely happy to be working at Stella Maris, a sure sign of a well run resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful compliments to our staff. We are glad we were able to help you through your flight delay, as a remote destination, the journey is part of the adventure. I love the snorkeling at Columbus Point, too - one of my favorites for exceptional 'finds'!
On behalf of all the owner/managers and staff, I send you sunny regards, and a wish to welcome you back to Long island and Stella Maris Resort soon! - Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 245 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

You have to make your own night life here but if you want your very own beach, this is the Island to be on. The staff at Stella Maris couldn't have been more friendly. Trips around the north end of the Island are included and realy save on Taxi fare. Everything in the Bahamas is pricey, expect about 2 times the US, but this trip was truly worth it. Would love to make this trip again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Our very best wishes to the bride & groom. We are so very pleased that you chose to honeymoon with us. My husband and I honeymooned at Stella Maris in 1990. We loved exploring the secluded beaches and roadside stops. The excursions we offer at the hotel are great. We also enjoyed renting a car for a day and exploring on the hotel's complimentary bikes.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon - maybe an anniversary visit?
Sunny regards from all of us at Stella Maris - Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived by boat (three of us), then had the rest of the family fly over (15 more) and just loved everything and everyone on Long Island. From the great food to the warm smiles and of course those RUM punch parties that Stella Maris throws once a week....All fantastic!
We will be back........Thank You all for making our summer vacation great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horace34346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Our thanks to your family for spending some of your summer with us! We are delighted to hear that the 18 of you enjoyed your time on Long Island, and the Rum Punch :) Hope to see some, all,next generation? back at Stella Maris Resort again soon.
Sunny regards from your Long Island 'family' - Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is my FAVORITE VACATION GETAWAY SPOT!! Whether traveling alone, with someone special, or with a group Stella Maris Resort always delivers a personalized vacation experience. I've travelled here on holiday with friends and family for over 35 years and every visit is better than the last one (if that is possible). Now into the third generation this is an ideal repeat vacation destination. The hotel rooms and home rentals are ideal; and the island experience is refreshingly unique!!! A 'must-do' location - over and over again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaraLKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Great photo of the Dolphin House pool, thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

GO!!! After having traveled to a number of the Bahamian islands, long Island, and in particular, Stella Maris, is the highpoint of all those trips. Jill, Joel and the rest of the staff @ Stella Maris go out of their way to make sure you have the trip of a lifetime. My son and I were there to fish and while the fishing was tremendous, the stay at Stella Maris exceeded all our expectations. The accomadations, food, service, and beauty of the resort and surroundings are all first rate. Don't miss the Friday Conch fritter/Rum Punch gathering!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Jill, Joel, and all the staff at Stella Maris thank you for your compliments. We are so glad to hear you and your son enjoyed the hotel, and, the fishing! Hope to see you again soon, we'll save you some Conch Fritters and Rum Punch.
Sunny regards - Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stella Maris was a wonderful place to reconnect with our kids. We’ve been there twice and have loved it each time, looking at the photos constantly and delighting in the memories. Our 11-year-old also did his open water scuba certification there with the support of dive instructor Robert. Bravo, Maclain! Thank you, Robert!

Room Tip: I like the villas by the water for the breeze and the sound of the waves - Rainbow, Dolphin, Flaming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Isn't this a great place to learn to dive? I'll never forget my resort course and first dive with Peter - is it really more than 20 years ago?!? That first peek of the color and vitality below the surface of the 'gin-clear' Bahamian waters filled me with awe. How wonderful to learn that 'diving' doesn't just mean plunging head first into a pool.
Robert sends his regards, and thanks for your compliments; and hopes to have you back diving with us again soon.
Sunny regards from all at Stella Maris - Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is my fishing groups (Annual Fishing Trip AFT) 24th trip to Stella Maris. We started the trip in 1990 with the idea of going a different place every year. We never executed on that idea because it was so perfect and still is today. As I have said before if you want a Sheraton or Marriott this is not the place. If you want to relax slow down and experience what life was like in the island 40 years ago this IS THE PLACE. Long Island the people are just some of the nicest people with a great sense of humor and grace. This is not Atlantis. If it rains there are bug, if the wind blows hard it is rough. The food is amazing (Thank you Bruno) the service is great (thanks to Jill, Joel, and staff). I have been over 30 times and will be back for AFT 25 a quarter century. Thanks to all of Long Island of being such good hosts.

Henry and the AFT 24 group

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liveforwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Always a pleasure to have the AFT group 'home' for your annual fishing trip. Love the photos, thank you for sharing. 25 years is a milestone anniversary we are looking forward to celebrating with you AFT 25.
Sunny regards from Bruno, Docky, JIll, and all of your friends at Stella Maris! - Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.2 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
191.4 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
127.2 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#8 of 13 in Eleuthera
54 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
39.3 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
Price Range: $211 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing