We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stella Maris Resort Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home again!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been travelling to Long Island and Stella Maris for over twenty years, even though we live in Tasmania Australia. From the time we board the Stella Maris private plane with Joel, to the airport welcome from Smithy and his taxi and the arrival rum punch we always feel contentment washing over us! this year we chose to stay in a king bedroom cottage closer to the club. There are four cottages grouped around a very inviting little pool. Ours had a timber deck with chairs and table facing the pool and then sliding glass doors looking out to the garden and over the Atlantic, where sunloungers were placed. We have stayed in the beach houses when accompanied by more family. I could recommend Dolphin House with it's fabulous pool. But all beach houses are beautifully comfortable. Facilities at the Club have difintely improved over the years with the Moonshine bar being a great asset.The new bathing area at Cape Santa Maria beach is very good also. It is important to hire a car from the office if you are the adventurous type and like to explore all the mysterious little roads or visit beautiful beaches.There are many small restaurants and quirky bars to visit and have some fun. We enjoy the friendliness of the Long Island people and the staff at Stella Maris is no exception.They are wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are delighted to be considered your 'Island Home'. Moonshine is a great spot, I love snuggling in on that beach with some fresh fruit and a good book. Dolphin is one of my favorites, too - love the little bar built in to the pool. Please accept our thanks for your generous praise. We look forward to welcoming you 'home' again soon.
Sunny regards from all of us at Stella Maris - Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    46
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
66
98
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stella Maris has a phenomenal atmosphere, is comfortable and clean, and it is on the best spot of the island! We traveled to the other top-ranking properties, and Stela Maris is a clear winner! The staff will take you to other parts of the island, to the other beaches, and are eager to please. This is a perfect home base for enjoying Long Island.

Room Tip: The cottages are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxA00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
So very happy that we could be the home base for your exploration of Long Island. And delighted that you enjoyed the complimentary beach excursions. Hope you got a chance to explore by kayak and bicycle, too. Long Island has so much to see and do, on the sea and on the shore. We hope you'll be back again soon to continue the adventure.
Sunny regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Recently my wife and I and two other couples made our annual early spring bone fishing / beach vegging trip. We have been to a number of Caribbean locations and chose Long Island Bahamas as we had never been there and for years had read about the bone fishing there. After much research on accommodations we chose Stella Maris Resort and are extremely glad we did. From our initial contact with Jill, one of the owners of the family run resort, to all the waite staff in the restaurant, we were very pleased with all involved. We spent probably a little too much time at the oceanfront bar, but got attached to Queany and Sues Pina Coladas,. They were delicious and both girls were very attentive and fun to be around. We ate all but one of our dinners at the resort and no one in our party had a bad meal. The bread is to die for and I couldn't get enough of the conch fritters. Joel, the pilot who takes you from Nassau to the Stella Maris Airport, is Jills brother and is also an owner whose sense of humor is great. Both owners also waite tables which shows how all seem to work together and take customer service very seriously. Although the bone fishing wasn't what we had hoped for, it may have been our timing and we plan on giving it another chance as the resort and the Long Island people are enough to bring us back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gecko House which is a three bedroom villa overlooking the Atlantic and was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonefish48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Bonefish48,
We are so very pleased that Stella Maris Resort was your introduction to Long Island, Bahamas. And that you got to fly with Joel. Isn't that a beautiful flight from Nassau to Stella Maris? I never cease to be amazed by the spectrum of colors of our Bahamas seas from the air.
I wish the bonefish had been more cooperative, our weather in early spring was a bit more brisk than usual. Thank you for giving it a second chance. Looking forward to you return.
With sunny regards from management and staff,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We enjoy traveling to different islands in the Caribbean, especially ones off the beaten track. We try to avoid places with high rise hotels, glitzy casinos, and lots of people. Long Island was a perfect destination for us and Stella Maris offered the perfect out island resort feel. When Joel met us at the airport in Nassau, it was super to fly in the private Stella Maris plane, no waiting at either end and as another reviewer said, it makes you feel special.

We stayed in the Gecko House which is a three bedroom house located on the Atlantic Ocean and a three minute walk to the Moonshine Bar. It was perfect for the six of us. Any issues or concerns were immediately taken care of by Jill, even though we did not communicate our issues to her. The staff took care of all our needs. And Queenie and Sue at the Moonshine Bar were especially enjoyable and both made a great pina colada.

We had hoped to do some do-it-yourself bone fishing which was disappointing as I am not sure that opportunity is a solid one. However, there is a learning curve with fishing a new place and I feel we need to give it another chance. We did fish with a guide two days which did produce a few hookups and catches.

Long Island has some great beaches with the Atlantic side being rocky and ruggedly beautiful while the Caribbean side has soft, sandy quiet beaches. Pick the one you like. Deans Blue Hole is a must to see. It is the deepest blue hole on Earth. We found grocery shopping to be quite adequate but a car rental is a must (for us).

I hope to return to Long Island and would stay again at Stella Maris without hesitation. I forgot to mention that the dinners there were very good. We did try eating at the other resort, but enjoyed the food at Stella Maris more so.

Make sure that you know what your expectations are at an out island. If you enjoy off the beaten track destinations as we do, I think Stella Maris will exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carribeantraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
So very nice of you to share your experience with our flight service. We try very hard to accommodate our guests arrival and departure schedules.
Sue and Queen appreciate your compliments to their mixology skills, nothing beats a good pina colada seasoned by a ocean breeze.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sunny regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Being the only resort on Long Island, it is extremely peaceful, tranquil and serene to be there. Everyone, from the owners to the staff and even to the locals, are friendly and hospitable. You can participate in activities or do nothing at all. Amazing snorkeling and shore fishing too.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aptoitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
It was our pleasure to introduce you to Long Island. Many thanks for your compliments to our staff. Hope to have you visit again soon.
Sunny regards from all at Stella Maris,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

From the moment the owner of Stella Maris picked us up at the Nassau Airport, we felt special. This family-owned and operated property- in the rural out islands of the Bahamas amazed us with raw natural beauty, friendly people, and plentiful ammenities. If your idea of a great getaway includes: clubbin', shopping, or people-watching on a crowded beach, then this incredible oasis of true Bahamaian hospitality is not for you. However; if hiking with your sweetheart from one incredible, private shore to another along flats that go on for miles... with a picnic, a hat, and a fishing pole sounds like a perfectly blissful way to waste a few days....then please come to Stella Maris. Spend a day flyfishing with the renound "Yoda of bonefish", Docky- owner of Bonafide Bonefishing. Rent a car one day- just to get a view of the island and it's beauty. How's the food? WOW! (and I'm a working chef) The Chef at Stella Maris is the real deal, and the food at the resort was just our style: simple, local, and delicious. We HAVE to go back next year- we were so busy fishing, star-gazing, holding hands, trying new island recipes and flavors (food AND beverages), reading, wading, relaxing, and exploring...I forgot to SIT BY THE POOL!, so- we just have to go back! We also never got to climb to the top of the Lookout Tower, checkout the tennis courts, or shop for our retirement home. On our third day, my fish- addicted but still romantic husband simply said, "honey, you nailed it". He Loved it and so did I. These folks are working together (in a socially and environmentally responsible way) to offer a full-service experience in a natually beautiful, secluded environment. Two tickets to paradise? I'll leave tonight! Go to Stella Maris! Call the resort direct. Tell them about your dream trip. They will help you make it happen.

Room Tip: loved our cottage! every room has a view~!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Always liked that Eddie Money tune. Thank you so much for your compliments, to staff, to Docky - he really is a great guide, and teacher; to Bruno and our wonderful kitchen staff, and to paradise that is Long Island. We look forward to your return, and with great summer rates and our continuing flight special, there's no reason to be crooning, 'waited so long' before your next visit.
Sunny regards from all at Stella Maris,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been going to Long Island since I was very young, and the Stella Maris Resort has always treated me like family. Whether I was a guest at the resort itself, or simply visiting the restaurant and bar, I have always been greeted like family. When the stove broke on a property I was staying in not owned by the Resort and I showed up desperate and unfed, the staff at Stella Maris made sure I had something to eat and the phone number of the island electrician who arrived early the next morning and fixed the problem
The past three years I have had the pleasure of visiting the resort during Christmas/ New Year and every time I am newly amazed at the fun loving and inclusive atmosphere that the owners create. All of their parties include local people, music and food, a refreshing difference with some other establishments on the island. Even as a young teen, my parents had no qualms about letting me stay late at resort parties or go explore relatively unsupervised because of the positive, safe environment in Stella Maris. Island time is a reality in Stella Maris, as elsewhere on Long Island, but it never impeded my daily activities, and was much more refreshing than it was a hinderance. I look forward to making it back to Long Island this coming year, at least once, if not more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starofthesea, Director of Sales at Stella Maris Resort Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It sounds like you have some wonderful memories of visits to Stella Maris with your family. One of my favorite trips was in my 20's with Mom, Dad, Grandma, and all my siblings (5 of us). A wonderful holiday filled with sun, sea and sand - and over 30 years ago! We, like you, came to think of Long Island as our 'island home' and the people as our extended family.
Sunny regards,
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
38.2 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Resort Club

Property: Stella Maris Resort Club
Address: 123 Ocean View Drive | Stella Maris, Long Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stella Maris Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stella Maris Resort Club,is off the beaten path. On a tranquil island, where nature abounds, where the ocean and beaches are at their best, with an unhurried pace of life and with islanders, much known for their old-fashioned hospitality and friendliness.We are an intimate out island style resort, offering a wide range of tropical accommodations, from panoramic ocean view rooms to appealing four bedroom water front villas. Food is great, as is casual evening fun. Many activities are free of charge. We can even fly you here from your international Bahamas airport hub. It's a place for anyone who seeks to get away from every-day's stress, who loves nature, who loves being at and in the water. From singles to couples, from families to small groups. And there is no better place for a romantic island wedding, barefoot or elegant, or for celebrating your anniversary! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Stella Maris Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Resort Club Hotel Long Island
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Resort Club Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing