We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location. Rooms need face lift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Long Island
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location. Rooms need face lift”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff are lovely and friendly and the beach and location could not be better. The rooms look like they were last re done in the 80s is the only problem. I could live with it if the prices were low but they are not! We appreciated the complimentary kayaks and bikes and again the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was pretty good in the restaurant and again attentive service but high prices. The beach was stunning the water crystal clear so all in its a great place and we would return!

Room Tip: It is pretty quiet everywhere !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lhmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    100
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
184
313
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Pros:
1/ It is paradise location, indeed
2/ very nice and helpful staff, excellent customer experience
3/ memorable activities at the hotel

Cons:
1/ I can’t remember any what means there were no cons

Me, my wife and our doughter love this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZbigXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I were guests in Bungalow Ii at the beginning of the month. We hit the perfect weather, co-guests, lack of bugs, name it. The pictures on the web site are true. The resort is on one of the "world's" best beaches let alone the Caribbean. The staff went out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. My wife took advantage of the scuba diving and I became a "Jack Reacher" fan. I don't understand why we haven't vacationed in the Bahamas sooner?

Room Tip: Be as close to or as far from the Main House as you wish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a great place. We have been going here almost every year for some time now. It has one of the best beaches in the islands. Great accommodations, right on the beach. The restaurant is one of the best in the islands. Lots of water sports and side trips are available. Staff always friendly and it is nice to see the same people year after year.

Room Tip: There is no pool on site but I could not select N/A. We like the rooms at the ends of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piperkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was my second year here. Previously, I'd been here for my friend's 40th birthday. This place couldn't be more relaxing. If you're looking for the polar opposite of Atlantis this is for you. I immediately fell into a pattern of: breakfast, beach, fruity drinks, sunset, dinner, scrabble, sleep and repeat. The quaint main house has a restaurant and bar. It doesn't have huge attractions like water parks, casinos, chain restaurants and the nearest tourist town is about 1 1/2 hours. Instead you have kayaks, paddle-boards, snorkeling and bikes and peacefulness. The kids indulged in the natural beauty of: snorkeling for a glimpse of a starfish, combing the beach for shells to make necklaces, climbing the sandstone Etc. I think all week the beach rarely had more than 20 people on it. And I'm talking an alcove of about 5-6 miles of beach. It's great for kids bc depending on their age ( we had a 4 and 7 year old)they can run freely up and down the beach because its virtually wave- free and its not crowded so you can watch them the entire time from a distance.

I've stayed in the villas and bungalows. The villas are definitely beautiful and have many amenities. Like washer/ dryer/ dw/full kitchen. The bungalows are just as charming and have a more vacation Bahamian feel to them and can accommodate a family (You'd just need a meal plan.) It can be a little tricky to get here, but don't let that dissuade you. That's what weeds out many people and makes this such a great place.

Lastly, I can't say enough about the staff and service. They are simply the best!! From the kitchen, to front desk- everyone knew my name and bent over backwards to make our stay amazing. You'll never go anywhere else in the Bahamas once you've gone here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGriff06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is the greatest place to visit. I have been all over the Carribbean and this is by far the best.
Our Villa was great while the kids bunked in a condo next to us.The Resturant was excellent
and service was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyboy92091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riner
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

When were planning a vacation in the Bahamas we wanted go to a somewhat isolated place that had beautiful beaches, but relatively few people, and where we didn't have to cook. Cape Santa Maria was the perfect place for us.

We landed at the Stella Maris airport and Shervin (Smitty's Taxi) was waiting to take us to the Resort. When we arrived Brook and Ewa, managers of the Resort, were at the front desk and they and the rest of the staff greeted us with friendly smiles. Based on recommendations of others here on TripAdvisor we asked for Bungalow #1 and were so happy that we were able to get it. Bungalow #1 is the farthest from the Beach House, and probably the quietest and most private. Our neighbors Dennis and Nancy (Bungalow #2) were friendly but not intrusive. Although the Resort offers many activities from deep-sea fishing, to tours of the island, to free use of bicycles and kayaks, our plan was to spend as much quiet time as possible, take long walks on the beach, and just enjoy the beautiful island atmosphere without the distractions of TVs, telephones, or computers.

When we return the only thing we would change is we would not purchase the meal plan. If you really like to eat, then it is probably worth it, but my wife and I are fairly light eaters and I found myself ordering things I normally would not have just to get my money's worth. As far as the food is concerned overall we found it to be very good with a nice mix of Western and Bahamian cuisine.

As far as room security goes, at night we slept with the windows and doors open and only the door to the screened in patio locked so we could listen to the ocean waves and feel the cool island breeze. The bungalows also have safes to store valuables in.

We are already looking forward to returning to this island paradise.

Room Tip: If you want privacy then Bungalow's 1 and 2 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbrownfnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook C, General Manager at Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear sbrownfnp,

Greetings from Paradise! It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for the great review. I understand your comments regarding the meal plan. I often recommend the Modified Meal Plan which includes breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is served until 11am and dinner starts at 6pm, so often only a light snack is needed for lunch. I also want to thank you for your comments on the quality of food. We are close to rolling out a few new menu items, so you will have to try them next year.

We look forward to seeing you once again on this island paradise!

Cheers,
Brook Castelsky
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island
44.4 mi away
Winter Haven Inn
Winter Haven Inn
#2 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
6.4 mi away
Stella Maris Resort Club
Stella Maris Resort Club
#2 of 5 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.5 mi away
Gems At Paradise Resort
Gems At Paradise Resort
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#4 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor Breeze Villas
Harbor Breeze Villas
#1 of 2 in Clarence Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas

Property: Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas
Address: Galliot Cay, Long Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Long Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Long Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched... Undiscovered... Barefoot elegance in a Caribbean paradise. Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is unlike any place you have ever experienced. Mile after mile of silky-fine sandy beach melts into the warm turquoise water. With twenty bungalows and a handful of villas steps from the most beautiful beach in the Bahamas, an escape to Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort is an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Long Island
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort And Villas
Cape Santa Maria Beach Hotel
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas Long Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing