We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valentines Resort and Marina
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot !”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

You need a place to stay in Harbour Island ? Valentines is the One ! Friendly atmosphere and staff who welcome you with a Big Smile from the front Desk with Latoya,Vanessa ,Deaundra ,Ilianna to the Restaurant with Ron .Great location, Beautiful View, very nice outdoor Furniture on the Marina patio to have a Cocktail , Quiet and Great cuisine with a New Chef - Pata- Very Creatif !
You have to Go ....
We will return for Sure very soooooon to relax in This Beautiful Island with Wonderful and Friendly Peoples !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandsGourmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
What a nice review – thank you so very much for your kind words. We will certainly pass your comments onto the chef and all of the staff, especially those you were kind enough to remember and mention by name. We hope you will in fact return very very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    62
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
101
105
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for a week of chill out in February. Though it is hard to separate this resort from the overall charm of Harbour Island, there are a few things about it that are noteworthy.

We had one of the lower priced rooms - the resort calls them villas, but in effect it was just a big room, divided in the middle by a kitchenette area and one side of this was the bedroom bit and the other a lounge area. Our room was on the ground floor and for some reason it seemed really dark - I suspect that a room on the second floor would get more light. and more of a view of the spectacular sunsets. The bathroom was huge and had separate toilet and a large shower cubicle. The water pressure wasn't great though and it seemed to take an age to get the hot water to run. The room was spotlessly clean and the air conditioning was good, if a little loud at times ( but not as loud as the fridge, which woke us up with a few high pitched whines on a couple of nights). We did no cooking at all during our stay here and so i can't really vouch for the kitchen area - but if you really wanted to cook dinner, i think the arrangements would be just adequate - and there was a dinning table in the lounge area. On reflection i think i would have rather just had a large bedroom and bathroom, but this isn't an option at this resort.

There is a lovely pool with great loungers and shades. When we first arrived though it was as warm as a warm bath and this made a refreshing and cooling dip a bit of an impossibility. As our week progressed though it got a bit cooler and there were so few people there that we always seemed to have it to ourselves.

The marina that is at the heart of this resort is bordered by a great bar which segues into a deck where food is served. The food is good ( fruit platter and banana loaf at breakfast was great) and very unpretentious. There were quite a few very expensive yachts in when we were there and there was must fun to be had in watching the comings and goings from these over breakfast or a sundowner.

The main beach on the island is not within walking distance of this resort( despite the fact that the island is tiny) and you will need to hire a golf buggy to get yourself there - which we did. There is a dedicated area on the beach with sun loungers, but we had a monumental struggle to try and get a beach umbrella ….. first we were told by the resort's reception that there was a man there who would take care of this ( not true, as we found when got there…) then we were told that the umbrellas had been stolen and they were in the process of trying to replace them ( ok, but they were clearly not being replaced on the day we wanted to use one !!) and then we were told that they would try and find one for us the next day ( they did, but it was broken… ) What a disappointment this was, not to mention a bit frustrating. The staff on reception , it was clear, were trying their best to manage our expectations, but really, i found myself asking why on earth they were charging an additional 'resort fee' when such a simple thing as a beach umbrella couldn't be made available? As there were so few guests staying a the resort, i think that this wasn't seen a priority issue, but of course, it was for us, given that this was, possibly, our only chance to spend time on one of the most beautiful beaches that i have ever seen… All of the other resorts that border the beach have their own areas of umbrellas and sun beds, and one day, in sheer frustration, i asked one of the reception staff to see if she could ask if we could use the sun loungers and umbrella from one of these resorts ( she hadn't thought of this, and seemed to think it a genius idea..) This worked, and as a result, we had a great day on the beach courtesy of Jennifer at Runaway Hill….

Harbour Island is just beautiful and unspoiled in so many ways. We loved exploring it and sampling some great sea food and lovely ( and expensive ) restaurants. It was a shame that Valentines didn't get it all right for us though - but it was only a blip on what was a very chilled stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gullgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at Valentines and for sharing your review. We take every review seriously and our team members try to ensure that ALL guests leave the hotel happy. Our resort staff did go above and beyond for you and I thank you for recognizing this. Of note, our beautifully appointed Jr. Villa is 670 square feet with a very large luxurious bath incorporated into the suite. In comparison, a large hotel room is seldom bigger than 400 SF. As an added amenity there is also a handy kitchenette. We also have villas and townhomes with full kitchens. As for the beach, the resort recently purchased 10 replacement umbrellas. Several have been set up after being modified to handle our rare periods of wind and weather. In the next week all will be securely placed on the beach. For those who might enjoy a short walk, the beach is less than ten minutes from the resort. If you wish to discuss your stay in further detail feel free to contact us directly. Our goal is to exceed your expectations, and we certainly hope we have another opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My buddy and I were there for the last month working on aboat and the entire staff made us feel like family. Peter and Marcus on the dock, Karis,cameo and the rest of the bartenders were super friendly. Get the goombay smashes!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review - we're glad you enjoyed your extended stay at our resort. We will certainly pass your kind comments on to all staff especially those you were kind enough to remember and mention by name. We hope you can come back for 100% vacation next time, and not just for work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We were somehow (luck) booked here by our airline when our flight home was cancelled. We actually had been staying on harbor island in one of the "best" resorts, and I can tell you I liked Valentines better. The rooms were spacious, impeccably clean, the food was delicious. I would totally come back here.

The only place it could be better is of we're directly on the beach. It is not. I think the resort itself is worth staying a few blocks from the beachfront.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SSemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Valentines and sharing your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, even if was by ‘accident/luck’! Valentines does have a reserved section of the beach just for our guests with golf cart service back and forth for the short ride. We certainly do hope you come back and visit on purpose!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Enjoyed dinner at Valentine's dining room which has been remodeled since we were there last. Chatted first with the kitchen to find out what they liked best and what was available that evening. The weather had been very windy and so some of the fishermen did not go out that day. Be sure to have a Pina Colada as prepared by Lymon. She was great and it was great!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosesSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. Excellent suggestion about checking with the kitchen about what they recommend! Great tip for future guests. Thank you for noticing the improvements we recently made to the Boat House. We look forward to perhaps having you as hotel guest as well on your next visit to Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau City, New Providence, The Bahamas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

On a whim, our family decided to spend New Years in Harbour Island. Luckily we found a room at Valentines Resort. WOW, a great Junior Suite, was our accommodation, with a full upstairs bedroom and bath, downstairs, full kitchen, dining and living room with pull-out couch. But the best was the Staff. Big Thanks to Vanessa and June for accommodating our family and making our stay a great one!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narayani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your suite and your stay with us over New Years! We will certainly share your kind words with the staff, particularly those you were kind enough to remember and mention by name. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stopped at Valentine's to look around and shop and decided to have a drink (Goombay Smash) and then have lunch at the Rooster Bar. The lunch turned out to be quite good and the service was also good. We enjoyed the lobster quesadilla with a view of the marina for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort_Team, Manager at Valentines Resort and Marina, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us at the Rooster Tail Bar. Thank you for sharing your review and recommendations. We hope next time you are on island you consider staying with us at Valentines Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.5 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunmore Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentines Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Resort and Marina

Property: Valentines Resort and Marina
Address: Box One | North Eleuthera, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valentines Resort and Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valentines Resort & Marina is a top luxury resort on Harbour Island, North Eleuthera, Bahamas. On an incomparable setting for boat enthusiasts, yacht owners, and families with flair for ocean life and pink sand! The resort boasts 38 ultra-luxury suites and 50 boat slips in our world class marina. Each suite is equipped with WiFi and cable television, modern kitchen appliances, with large balconies overlooking the pool, gardens and marina. With colorful clapboard-sided walls, white trim and shuttered dormer windows, they provide a unique vacation experience. F&B venues include the Boat House Restaurant, Rooster Tail Bar and Cocoa Coffee House. Stay fit in our new state of the art fitness center with everything you need to keep up with your daily fitness routine. The Valentines Dive Center is the leading PADI dive resort facility in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Valentines Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Resort And Marina Hotel Harbour Island
Valentines Hotel And Marina
Valentines Resort And Marina Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing