We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid As A Rock!”
Review of Rock House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rock House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solid As A Rock!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We just returned to Australia from the Bahamas. My husband and I visited 3 islands out of the 700 in the Bahamas and Habour Island was our favourite. Habour Island was particularly special because the stay at the Rock House was faultless.

Location is easy to get to: To Rock House from Eleuthera Island
(a) 5 mins taxi ride from North Eleuthera Airport to Three Island Dock (Total US$10 for 2pp)
(b) 5 mins water taxi from Three Island Dock to Habour Island Dock (Total US$10 for 2pp)
(c) 5 mins walk from Habour Island Dock to Rock House hotel; you can see the hotel from the dock, ask the water taxi driver to point it out to you (We had one suitcase each with 4 wheels so it was easy to walk there.) There is a staircase from the road to Rock House. Let someone from Rock House know when you get there and they will send someone down to help you right away!

As soon as we arrived. The Manager, Eric, welcomed us and showed us our room and facilities. He also provided us a map and circled places he would recommend to visit/dine at. Throughout our stay, Eric was extremely helpful and as busy as he was, he never rushed. We met Don, the owner, a bit later and he was extremely friendly and very generous. Thanks Don.

Room & Facilities were immaculate: We stayed in the Nautilus room. It was large and very clean. Wifi was complimentary. No views in this room. If you would like to have water views, perhaps stay in Commodore or Pineapple room.

Beach was an easy walk: Rock House provides a beach bag containing beach chairs towels and dry-off towels and bottles of water. Once you collect it, you are set for the easy stroll to the pink sand beach! We preferred to walk rather than hire a golf cart. We have eaten too much for the last month and need to walk it off! Seriously though, everything is walking distance and did not think a golf cart was necessary.

Food was amazing: Every morning we had a good breakfast of toasted banana bread, bowl of fresh cut fruits, yoghurt with mango pieces and coffee. There were home-made muesli bars, cupcakes, cereal and juice too; all complimentary. You can order hot breakfast, but not sure how much it costs. We loved what they served already, so did not order hot breakfast. Every morning either Marva or Flo greeted us and other guests. They made time to chat with us and their service was exceptional! If you have a chance, try having dinner at the Rock House. We had dinner twice there and their food was just amazing!!! The highlight of my stay in Bahamas (food-wise) was their stone crab claw! Apparently it is not always available, so hopefully the night you go, they are serving it! We have dined at The Landing (just next door to Rock House), The Dunmore (also at Habour Island), Graycliff hotel (New Providence Island) etc. We would say that Rock House still produced the best food out of all.

Hospitality, food and service........Solid As A Rock!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kellytrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, General Manager at Rock House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Kelly and Andrew,

Looks like you have made it back home safe and with a suitcase full of memories. It was great meeting you during your stay at the Rock House. We feel honored every time guests decides to come to the Bahamas for their vacation and chooses to stay with us, specially someone like you traveling across the whole world.

Thank you for such a detail review which I believe will be helpful to other visitors that have never been to the Bahamas.

Greetings from everybody.

Eric Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    5
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
179
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husand and I stayed at Rock House because of other TripAdvisor reviews and we are so glad we chose this intimate spot for a respite from the cold and our busy lives. Hosting 9 individually decorated rooms and suites, Rock House delivered a quiet getaway where our every need or wish was met with smiles and efficiency. Every employee takes pride in what they do and it was 5 star service from the first phone call booking with Marilyn at the boutique resort.

The owner, Don, is on premises and makes sure that he meets everyone. I like that as many times you never meet the person who pays the bills and whose vested interest rests with making you happy. The General Manager, Eric, is simply an amazing person and has the perfect personality for his perfectly run resort.

When we go back, we'll stay in the Commodore's Suite overlooking the Harbor. It has a private porch where you can get one of the best views of the famous sunsets over the harbor. We also toured other suites and rooms and found all of them to be lovely, clean and stocked with upscale toiletries, hairdryer and plush linens.

Getting to the beach is a 5+ minute walk but we had rented a golf cart. Everyday, beach bags were waiting for us with fresh towels, chair covers and water.

The restaurant is probably the best on the island and we had several excellent meals while there. We rented a golf cart (a must) so that we could tour the island, go out to dinner at other venues and scoot to the private beach the hotel has on the pink sands of Harbour Island.

Will we return? Yes! Why? Because we liked the fact that we were treated like family; the intimate atmsophere was charming and the people and food were extra-special. Other people we met who were staying elsewhere were envious of how we were treated.

The Chef, Jenny, is fantastic and inventive with the fresh seafood served daily. If you needed a special diet, I am sure she would be able to make it happen. That's just the the whole place is run.

After our first day, all of the staff knew our names and the names of the other guests as well. (This is an adults only resort and would not be suitable for families with small children.) As a show of appreciation for their efforts, I would like to mention Marva and Flo in the mornings serving a fabulous breakfast. Wanda, Paisley, Kava and Abbi in the evenings for their excellent service and Johny, Douglas, Ashton for keeping the tables clean. Fluffy and Tremei in the bar (ask Fluffy about her new Chocolate Martini). Jushina, Madeline, Bonnie and Valerie kept the entire place spotless. Ce, Ben and Benoit for taking care of our luggage and groundskeeping.

Thank you to all at Rock House!

Room Tip: There are only 9 rooms/suites. i would choose the Commodore Suite for the views and the Asia Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank augiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, General Manager at Rock House, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hello Nancy and Milton,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time while staying with us in our little oasis. Its guest like you that makes our job so much fun. We are all remembering with great joy our recipe sharing evenings (I cant wait to try that salad dressing) and your creativity with cocktails :)
I am looking forward to see you back in Harbour Island.

Your amazing review will be shared today with all of our coworkers. Thank you very much!

Eric Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean, attention to detail, great food, and rooms with a great view of the Gov't Dock at the front of the house. The hosts were very nice. And, the location gives you easy access to Dunmore Town and the great restaurants, shopping, and friendly locals to share stories with.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jdwolfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donpurdy, General Manager at Rock House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Dave W,

Thank you for your time to write a positive review for the Rock House. We gratefully appreciate your feedback.
Looking forward to see you at the Rock House.

Eric Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Husband and I stayed for a long weekend in February for our "babymoon". We love searching for exceptional places to stay, but are in our late 20's and with moderate income, so don't have as deep pockets as the typical HI clientele. For us there is nothing more important than a fabulous place to stay, and found you can save some money other ways on HI.

Room: Stayed in the Parrot Room and loved that it is in the section behind the pool area (outside of the main house), which is much quieter and secluded. There is not a view from the room, but that didn't matter to us, and the inside decor and amenities were lovely.

Property: Easy stroll from the water taxi dock. Lovely hotel, pool area with comfortable seating options, and wonderful service. Everything is so clean and impeccably decorated which I truly appreciate! Although we were the youngest guests at the time, we were treated wonderfully by the staff and other guests. Given the occasion, we were there for a relaxing time and had the perfect amount of socialization with the staff and other guests (definitely many returning guests!). The bar area was vibrant at night if you are interested in the social scene. The gym was well kept and cool.

Beach: We visited on an unseasonably cold weekend, but still enjoyed the pool and beach. Given we were only there for a long weekend and budget conscious, we opted to walk to the beach. If I can do it 5 months prego and in moderate shape, you can too! It was about a 10 min walk with moderate hills. I would splurge for a golf cart at least one day to travel the island. The beach bag they give you with water and towels is a nice touch, and chairs set-up on the beach were great. The beach is just beautiful.

Food: We were prepared for the high prices, but you swallow the cost easier given the wonderful food. Rock House was truly amazing for dinner. The complimentary breakfast was just adequate with fruit, yogurt, breads, etc. Lunch and drinks...per my husband :)..were also great. We also enjoyed meals at The Landing right next door and the Dunmore (you can walk here if you are up for essentially the walk to the beach...recommend only if light out). We dined at Aquapazza and thought it was marginal, but I know many seem to love it - this is definitely a cab or golf cart distance. Of course we also shared the decedent lobster quesadilla at Sip Sip. I would have loved to try some of the more "local" places but was being conservative since dining for two. You can take a quick stroll to the Piggly Wiggly mart for things like bottled water, crackers, etc.

We couldn't be happier that we stayed and dined at Rock House, and highly recommend it for just about anyone!

Room Tip: Four or five of the rooms are located behind the pool area - quieter if you like to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PoolLovinFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donpurdy, General Manager at Rock House, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear PoolLovinFoodies,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and comprehensive review. We are all happy to hear that you were not disappointed with your stay at the Rock House. We look forward to see you back in Harbour Island.

Eric Franz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Long overdue review... The Rock House is the quintessential boutique hotel experience. Everything seems perfect there: the location the staff, the food, the rooms, the decor, the cocktails. The vibe is a perfect mix of feeling right at home and being at a members only hot spot. We are always sad to go and always planning when to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lalawoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A wonderful place to stay and eat. If you are the at the right time you may run into some model's or celeb's.
The food here is top notch but on the high end of the price list. Great location on the island but I recommend a gold cart so you can get around to the beach and much more.
I have been going to the island for 20 plus years and love the place. A good romantic spot to visit with it's pink sand beach!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gtrain_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been escaping to Rock House for about 6 years now - and it keeps getting better. Starting with the staff - that remembers your name and what you like for breakfast, the bedding (which I had to buy for my home), the attentive service that is no where to be found until the moment you think of something - and then they are on it. Then there's Chef Jenny's ridiculous pork tenderloin (which followed a sublime spinach salad and stone crab claw)! The homemade espresso ice cream (yes, really home made) - tough to choose over the "Hokey Pokey" house flavor - but you can get hokey pokey when you order their turtle for dessert (yes, I know that's two desserts. Oh well - vacation, remember?) In fact, there's a third, some kind of dark chocolate and creamy dream bar that rivals the turtle and the ice cream. Then there's the Rock House beach - with chairs, towels - and water, just waiting for you to watch the sunset as the sand turns the famous pink color in the late afternoon sun. Come back to the crystalline pool that is always perfectly clean to relax on comfortable lounges (really closer to a bed), with intriguing music in the background. By the way, the owner of the Rock House makes a killer bloody mary. Yes, we love it. It's only an hour from Fort Lauderdale or Miami and even has a quick water taxi ride from North Eleuthra to get you in the right frame of relaxed mind. The taxi drops you at the common dock on Harbour Island - or Briland and we who love the place call her). Please don't tell too many people

Room Tip: This boutique hotel has but 10 rooms. Cannot go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tingum Village Hotel
Tingum Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Property: Rock House
Address: Corner of Hill and Bay Street, EL-27234, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock House is a luxury 10 room boutique hotel on Harbour Island, Bahamas. Our fine dining restaurant has one of the best sunset views of the bay. Personal service and unmatched attention to every detail.Rock House has been a vibrant and colourful feature of the Harbour Island landscape since the early 1940's. Originally a private home, then a Bed and Breakfast and for many years a rental property, Rock House today has evolved to become the standard for elegance, island sophistication and superior service. Fodor's Choice, Condé Nast, Travel & Leisure and Tripadvisor award winner.In July 2002, Rock House caught the interest of the well-known South Florida builder J. Wallace Tutt III. Tutt and business partner Don Purdy, who had already created the successful Hotel Impala in South Beach and worked on commissions for Cher and the late Gianni Versace, had a vision of transforming the property into a luxury boutique hotel. The bar and dining experience at Rock House warrant special and distinct mention offering fine dining under the stars on the pool patio, at our select Chef's Table or on the Terrace overlooking the bay - you can be assured of the perfect cocktail, a superb wine list and delectable menu choices, all served by an attentive yet unobtrusive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Rock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock House Hotel Harbour Island
Rock Hotel Harbor Island
Rock House Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing