We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Incredible Place EVER!”
Review of Rock House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rock House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our third trip to Harbour Island and our first stay at the Rock House. In my opinion, the Rock House is the best place to stay on the Island. The staff makes you feel welcome and really wants to take care of your every need. They are friendly, happy, and are so helpful and not intrusive. The Rock House is beautifully decorated and well-maintained, with all the amenities of fine establishment. I appreciate how much the owner Don and manager Erick are around to secure the best stay and experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nothingbutsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Rock House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved everything about Rock House.

Well managed by its owner Don, Erick the manager and an excellent staff all of whom were most friendly , welcoming and most helpful, the positive reviews we read all hit the mark.

We stayed at the Asian room ,the farthest room from the main lobby and were disturbed only by the crowing of the local roosters ...indeed wherever we went on Harbour Island, roosters could be found on posts and even on grave yard crucifixes.

The Asian has its own wifi and we thoroughy enjoyed its spaciousness ...for smokers( which we aren't) it has its own cabana.

The swimming pool was pleasant and most inviting....and not busy...particularly inviting when the ocean was turbulent.

The food and wine were ambrosial, we sat each evening on the balcony overlooking the harbour enjoying the spectacular vista and the setting of the sun ....the perfect setting for romantic couples.

The famous pink sands are only minutes away by golf cart with a specially designated and well maintained area for Rock House customers.

Above is Sip Sip a convenient and popular restaurant for enjoying lunch.

We musn't forget Don's dog Rocky ,the hotel mascot ,who we suspect runs the whole show....just don't disturb his bowl.

Room Tip: We can only comment on the Asian room...the farthest from the action, which is what we wanted...pres...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our third trip to Harbour Island and our second stay at the Rock House. In our view, the Rock House is the best place to stay on the Island. The staff’s primary goal is to make you feel welcome and take care of your every need. They have the right balance of friendly helpfulness and not intrusive.

The Rock House is well-maintained and has all the amenities of fine establishment. We love being on the Bay side of the Island – we stayed in the Pineapple Room which has a nice porch overlooking the Bay. We did not rent a golf cart but instead walked everywhere we went. The Rock House is in easy walking distance to the beach and shops as well as good food at Sip Sip, The Landing, The Pink Sands, The Dunmore, Runaway Hill, Coral Sands, and Arthur’s Bakery. It is a short stroll to Valentine’s Dive Center as well.

We had two dinners at the Rock House and they were the best meals. (We did enjoy the others and variety is nice, but the Rock House is the best!) We also enjoyed lunch one day at the Rock House.

We will return to Harbour Island and will return to the Rock House. Don and Eric know how to take care of their guests!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erbele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the first moment you walk in to Rock House it takes your breath away. The décor is stunning and the staff is very friendly. Rock House is a boutique hotel that has 10 rooms in the property. Each room is carefully decorated differently with beautiful décor and all the amenities you need to make your trip enjoyable.
My husband and I originally booked the reef suite but were surprisingly upgraded to the Asian suite. Our suite had a living room, dinning area, two bedrooms and two bathrooms.
We had complementary breakfast every morning. Dinner at the restaurant is amazing.
They also pack a beach bag with towels and water. The drive to the beach is 5-minute drive in the golf cart.
If you are looking for a romantic or even a relaxing place to stay I would highly recommend staying at Rock House.
Thank you Don for the upgrade and thank you for making our vacation one to remember.

Room Tip: Romantic, quite, relaxing, excellent food, excellent staff
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Rock House is an amazing boutique hotel that offers 1st class service and amenities. The hotel is in a great location - walking distance from the dock (where people arrive by boat); and a mere 10 minute stroll to the beach. No need for a golf cart, unless you want to enjoy the tradition of the island. I could walk to the shops (Sugar Mill, Dilly Dally and others) and to restaurants (Blu Bungalow, Sip Sip and Queen Conch). The best meal, hands down was dinner at the Rock House. Don spent time explaining each dish and detailing the local and exquisite ingredients. Eric stopped by to ensure everything was to my liking as did the waitstaff. The attention paid to each guest is impressive and quite lovely. Don and Eric, and Flo - all took time to get to know me and to make sure I was enjoying my stay. As a solo traveler, meals alone and stays at small hotels can be daunting at times, but not at Rock House; there it felt like staying with family.

I stayed in the Monkey Room; it was chic and beautifully appointed. There is noise from the bar area and kitchen - but like the others said, it magically disappears at 10pm.

If I could've moved in, I would have. I will definitely be back!

And P.S. the breakfast is perfect. Homemade coconut banana bread, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, and delicious yogurt. The coffee was wonderful and the staff seemed more than happy to accommodate special requests.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkwtraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donpurdy, Owner at Rock House, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Rock House. We are happy that we were able to make your stay ahh-may-zing"! Besat regards, Don & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Rock House January 15-20 and the fond memories of our stay on Harbour Island are keeping us sane through this stormy winter in New England. Every review here is true, and we, too, share the same sentiments. We were there in the "slower" time of year and actually enjoyed the calm.

EVERYTHING about our stay was wonderful. Don, Eric, Flo, Michelle, Marva, Tina, Jenny and the rest of the staff were incredibly warm and welcoming. Every detail was just right: the style of decor, the quality of all the amenities and linens, but most of all the personal service. That Don upgraded our room for us before our arrival all contributed to our outstanding vacation experience. One of the surprising amenities was the beach bag we were offered when we went to the beach: two towels, two chair covers for the chairs on the part of the beautiful beach reserved for Rock House guests (complete with tables and umbrellas) AND two bottles of water. Every single thing was thoughtful and showed the love of hospitality that Don believes in and that his staff exhibits as well.

We ate at the restaurant twice and Jenny's food was the best on the island. Eric was quite an addition to our stay and was very knowledgeable about wine and we enjoyed chatting with him and Don after dinner in the bar. Yes, there was sound coming from the dining room when we sat on our harbor-side balcony in our room, but as another reviewer said, these were happy sounds of people dining and enjoying the company of friends while eating fabulous food. To that we say "Cheers!"

We travel often in the winter months and rarely have we said to one another within the first hour of being somewhere "Let's come back." We plan to return in mid-February next year to celebrate my birthday and to experience the island at a different time. We should probably make our reservations now!! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at the Rock House for a week for the 2nd year in a row. Both Harbour Island and the Rock House are truly special places. Harbour Island has the benefit of being "remote" yet it offers high-end accomodations and dining. The Rock House is an exceptional hotel with outstanding service, food and ambiance. We have been to many of the well known luxury island resorts and the Rock House easily surpasses all of them. Many of these resorts are too expensive, are lacking in service and dining, and cater to groups and families with children. We plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
287 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tingum Village Hotel
Tingum Village Hotel
#2 of 4 in Harbour Island
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Address: Corner of Hill and Bay Street, EL-27234, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range: $308 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock House is a luxury 10 room boutique hotel on Harbour Island, Bahamas. Our fine dining restaurant has one of the best sunset views of the bay. Personal service and unmatched attention to every detail.Rock House has been a vibrant and colourful feature of the Harbour Island landscape since the early 1940's. Originally a private home, then a Bed and Breakfast and for many years a rental property, Rock House today has evolved to become the standard for elegance, island sophistication and superior service. Fodor's Choice, Condé Nast, Travel & Leisure and Tripadvisor award winner.In July 2002, Rock House caught the interest of the well-known South Florida builder J. Wallace Tutt III. Tutt and business partner Don Purdy, who had already created the successful Hotel Impala in South Beach and worked on commissions for Cher and the late Gianni Versace, had a vision of transforming the property into a luxury boutique hotel. The bar and dining experience at Rock House warrant special and distinct mention offering fine dining under the stars on the pool patio, at our select Chef's Table or on the Terrace overlooking the bay - you can be assured of the perfect cocktail, a superb wine list and delectable menu choices, all served by an attentive yet unobtrusive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Rock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock House Hotel Harbour Island
Rock Hotel Harbor Island
Rock House Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing