We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A repeat visit for sure!”
Review of Rock House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rock House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A repeat visit for sure!”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Nestled on beautiful Harbour Island is a gem of a place. Words cannot describe the feelings you experience when you spend time at this very unique hotel. From the minute you step onto this property until you depart, you are treated as a very special guest.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmlupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    5
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
179
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I haven't been seen last year but ran across them when browsing Tripadvisor. We had an amazing time at the Rock House Hotel and the service was top notch. Dinner at the restaraunt was always the highlight of the day. The personal Service is the one thing that makes this place stand out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Rock House was/ is the perfect honeymoon destination! My wife and I took the fast ferry from a Bahamian destination wedding to the Rock House for some honeymoon R&R and our only knowledge of the hotel was it is "a find" in a Bahamas travel book. My wife and I are not resort people as we enjoy the personal touch and attention of boutique hotels. The Rock House was the best boutique hotel we have ever experienced and the personal touch and attention were incredible! From the staff meeting us at the door of the hotel to escort us to our room to the hotel being immaculately designed and maintained (the late co-owner designed the South Beach Versace Mansion!) this hotel was better than "a find," it was perfect. The owner, manager and staff were wonderfully kind people, the hotel was designed without flaw and I would not consider staying anywhere else but the Rock House in Harbor Island.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and they will help. Very kind and helpful people work at the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Burke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

From the moment we got off the water taxi (we walked 2 mintues), to bottom of steps then staff carried our bags up. hotel was a little empty since off season, so they started with a room upgrade and did not let up to the minute we departed. Eric, Don, Flo, bartenders and everyone was amazing. Service that was quiet but perfect.
Property on the bay side so nice to watch the boats come and go. We walked to beach first day, but rented golf cart after. We found that having the golf cart let's you vacation the entire time because you are everywhere on island in a couple of minutes.
Food on the island is expensive but very good. Perfect day for my wife and I..... coffee in room or free continental breakfast (very good) at hotel. Pool for an hour or two reading, then golf cart to Sip Sip for lunch, then down the steps to the RH beach area. (take your RH beach bag with you to lunch). Take a cooler (from closet) and fill with beers, and for mixed drinks walk over to the Dunmore (really nice property and worth having drinks with Bartender Henry or dinner.... I think was as good or about the same as dinner at the Rockhouse. Those two were the best we had. Other breakfast option is Arthurs Bakery, and also a somewhat affordable lunch as well.
You will start to feel at home as you come down in the evening or sitting poolside and decide to have a cocktail, and they custom make something perfect.
Island great for relaxing, although our new friend Eric and Nic did take us to two club like bars, one with a sand dance floor and the other with 80s disco vibe.... funny but fun! Sorry I don't have the names but that description will get you to them.
Island locals very nice, felt safe, not one person tried to sell us anything, or promote their places.
We may take our kids next time, but couples are perfect. Just expect food and drinks to be bahamas like expensive before you get there and I think everything else should be great. no need to plan your water or fishing in advance, it is the bahamas, go on the day you feel like it and make it up as you go.
For beach side properties, we would consider Dunmore or Runaway Hill, but would be really tough to pry us away from the Rockhouse and the experience that was truly amazing.
Hello to our friends from across the pond as well, Paul and Phillipa. Hope you enjoyed part II in Nassau.

Room Tip: rooms looked all very nice, not a view from all but this is not that type of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EventDriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I recently visited Harbour Island and stayed at the Rock House. Everything about the trip was amazing. It's a beautiful island that has stunning beaches, fantastic restaurants and the nicest people. The Rock House itself is a great boutique hotel, the rooms, pool area and restaurant are all perfect. Our meals at the Rock House were the best on the island and the island has good food! We met so many nice and interesting people at the hotel, there were people to chat with when we wanted to be social and when we wanted to relax, there was no problem. Our hosts Eric and Don were super gracious and as many people have already mentioned, you really feel as if you are at friends amazing home. We will definitly return to Harbour Island and the Rock House. And the beach really is only a 5 minute walk from the Rock House.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Put simply, we love the Bahamas....especially the quiet out islands. A few years ago while visiting Eleuthera, we took a day trip to Harbour Island. While more commercial than Eleuthera, it certainly had a charm that made us want to return. I have to say Pink Sand Beach is certainly one of the most beautiful we've seen in the Bahamas or Caribbean.

We chose The Rock House for our stay after reading reviews here on trip advisor. This proved to be an experience we will never forget. From the moment we arrived, everyone on staff did everything they could to make us feel "special". Granted, this is a small (and expensive) boutique hotel, but they did make us feel like family during our stay. The positives are too numerous to write in this review, but I will be happy to respond to any questions. Let me just say the room was very pretty and quite comfortable with a large balcony overlooking the harbor. The food was excellent. The staff was by far some of the friendliest we've encountered. The island is warm and welcoming. Everyone rents a golf cart during their stay as that seems to be the primary mode of transportation. While not located on the beach, it takes about 5 minutes to get there by cart. The Rock House has comfortable beach loungers with umbrellas set up for their guests only. There are numerous dining options on Harbour Island-all a short ride by cart. Negatives? I don't have any.

We still have many other place to visit, but returning to The Rock House on Harbour Island is a must. It's worth the two flights followed by water ferry to get there. Like I said in the title, we're still smiling..... months later.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2011

From the moment we arrived at Rock House the service was spectacular and the staff friendly and inviting. Eric went to great lengths to ensure that our needs were met and that our stay was most enjoyable. The room was lovely and the hotel was charming. The food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious and the view was spectacular. When we did not dine at the hotel restaurant, Eric recommended a few other lovely places to dine. Only a five minute walk from the hotel, the beach was beautiful and secluded. It was the perfect place to spend our wedding anniversary and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil4florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tingum Village Hotel
Tingum Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House

Property: Rock House
Address: Corner of Hill and Bay Street, EL-27234, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rock House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock House is a luxury 10 room boutique hotel on Harbour Island, Bahamas. Our fine dining restaurant has one of the best sunset views of the bay. Personal service and unmatched attention to every detail.Rock House has been a vibrant and colourful feature of the Harbour Island landscape since the early 1940's. Originally a private home, then a Bed and Breakfast and for many years a rental property, Rock House today has evolved to become the standard for elegance, island sophistication and superior service. Fodor's Choice, Condé Nast, Travel & Leisure and Tripadvisor award winner.In July 2002, Rock House caught the interest of the well-known South Florida builder J. Wallace Tutt III. Tutt and business partner Don Purdy, who had already created the successful Hotel Impala in South Beach and worked on commissions for Cher and the late Gianni Versace, had a vision of transforming the property into a luxury boutique hotel. The bar and dining experience at Rock House warrant special and distinct mention offering fine dining under the stars on the pool patio, at our select Chef's Table or on the Terrace overlooking the bay - you can be assured of the perfect cocktail, a superb wine list and delectable menu choices, all served by an attentive yet unobtrusive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Rock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock House Hotel Harbour Island
Rock Hotel Harbor Island
Rock House Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing