We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettably great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pink Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pink Sands Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Salem, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettably great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

On our first trip to the Bahamas, we stumbled upon this gem. As GA noted, it is an amazing combination of beautiful beach, excellent service, great food, relaxation. The best thing to do is call the resort and have reservations figure out what flight you need to take in and out from North Eleuthera Airport. From there, the Sands Resorts man, Solomon, will make sure you feel secure in the short taxi and water taxi rides. We had the best surf and turf (lobster tail and filet mignon) ever, and we pride ourselves on being good cooks, but this was so fresh, so tender, so melt in your mouth. We found the staff exceptional, and we learned everyone by name and/or face very quickly. The manager, Mark, was very visible and very gracious and listened not just with his ears but with his heart, which we needed.We came stressed out and we left, reluctantly, at peace and feeling treated superbly.Shawnee, Toya, Special K, Sherene, Debbie, Suzanne - these are just a few names I remember. We wished we could have stayed a month or more. Would love to come back soon.

Room Tip: Tennis Court South has a garden view, and an ocean view - Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, General Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
What a pleasure it was for all of us to have you visit Pink Sands. Thank you very much for your kind words and review of your experience.

I believe that when we embrace local people and customs wherever we travel, then the experience is so much greater..and that is exactly what you did.

I will pass on your comments to our chefs ( that is a very popular dish) and the entire team here.

We look forward to seeing you again.

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    55
    34
    32
    22
See reviews for
75
139
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We loved Pink Sands!. We were looking for a combination of the most beautiful setting, luxurious rooms, best service, great food and chose Pink Sands on Harbour Island. It was all that and more! Right smack on the most beautiful beach we had ever seen. All the staff were so friendly and accomodating we knew everyone by name by the time we left. A perfect place to have a intimate romantic wedding, which is just what we dreampt of and our dreams came true. Thank you all so much, already planning another trip in June.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious, comfortible beds, very nicely appointed, A/C worked very well, nice TV a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, General Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent trip to Pink Sands and Harbour Island. It is an amazing location and its great to hear that you felt a part of the family while you were here.

We aim to provide professional service in a relaxed and friendly way, so its always rewarding for the team here to know that we met and exceeded your expectations.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.
best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Harbour Island is fabulous... But do not expect anything that has to do with service of a real resort there... No welcome.. no service. woman .bartender rude when we came in making you feel like please have your drink and.. go.. Manager was totally inexistant..and Staff does'nt care at all.. very complicated to have a drink on the beach... apart from this the pink sand beach is so beautiful.. breathless.. if you know how to manage your own way... ... fine..the houses in the resort are fantastic.. so it is like renting.. in a resort.. food is lousy... at the Blue bar..like a cheap snack..and how do they expect people to eat in this terrible garden in the middle of the mosquitos at night or inside... ??? that is why everybody goes out... but as you are renting a golf cart if you know your way...you can go and have wonderful meals at so many good places around..like Rock house..wonderful and always full what a surprise.. !!! or the Dunmore..lovely..or the Landing..or even Coral Sands for lunch right next door... They could do so much better... Prices are outrageous..but that is the way.. Transfers..are a disaster...well..never mind..they are lucky to be in such a unique environment.. if you take it easy..you will survive..

Room Tip: Bimini cottages or villa.. or cottage..but with a view..the rest forget it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, General Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear past guests,
We appreciate all feedback from our guests and use all comments as a tool to improve our everyday performance across all areas of the resort. Of course we are very disappointed when we do not meet guests expectations and that certainly seems to be the case from your response in this forum; so for this I apologize.

I was away from the resort for your arrival on the 29th, so again apologize that you felt there was no welcome. I do my utmost to meet and connect with each and every guest we have stay with us.

I did note that you filled in a guest exit survey where we ask you to rate each area of the resort based on your experience with us. I see you rated the Blue Bar food 7/10, the Blue Bar beverage 8/10, The Garden Terrace food 8/10 and beverage 8/10. These scores do not seem to reflect your comments here so would be happy to discuss with you further if you wish.

I also note you scored staff 9/10 and overall hospitality 9/10. Thank you for those scores and comments. When asked " would you return to Pink Sands" you marked yes, so this was also very pleasing, as was your score of 9/10 for accommodations

Once again thank you for taking the time to give feedback both here and on your guest comment exit survey and please let me know if you would like me to contact you for anything further.

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stay at Governors Harbour, Eleuthera annually in May and always drive to North Eleuthera, take the ferry across to Harbour Island, and rent a golf cart so that we can have lunch at the Blue Bar. Today was the day, and we were not disappointed. All the staff were very friendly and our waitress Latoya was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for her, and she had a great personality. It was well worth the effort and we look forward to doing it again next year.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight - just lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotia42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, General Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
On behalf of La Toya and the team at the Blue Bar , I would like to thank you for making the trip across and joining us for lunch. Also thank you for taking the time to comment on the great experience you enjoyed at our beach bar restaurant.
LaToya is very special and receives many such comments on her personality and the attention she provides to all our customers.
I hope to see you again,

best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Not what the pictures show. Beautiful beach...but unkempt. Rooms and public areas all very tired and in need of repair & updating. Gorgeous view from room deck but awful hike down to beach over hills. Coming up is worse. Would not return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank NJSaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, General Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
We certainly feel as though we have not delivered when a guest says they would not return, so my apologies for that. We do enjoy a very high percentage of return guests, but of course Harbour Island and Pink Sands is not for everyone. All of our beach front cottages have private pathways to the beach though the sand dune creating a privacy buffer from the beach. I am sorry you felt this was too far. We also have a team of workers who rake and groom the beach seven days a week, so I am a little confused at your comment regarding an unkept beach.
Pink Sands is undertaking a refurbishment programe and should you change your mind about returning and would like to see the final product, please feel free to contact me directly. I will esure your cottage has easy access to the beach.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I planned, from South Carolina, a rehearsal dinner for my son's wedding at the Blue Bar sight unseen via e-mail and the Internet. I was a little nervous to say the least. Molly O., their planner, was wonderful, promptly responding to our many questions and even took care of having flowers flown in from a florist off island and arranged on the tables based on photos we sent. The event and venue was beautiful, everything exactly as promised, the food was delicious and service couldn't have been better! I couldn't say enough positive things. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan29681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments regarding the recent birthday event at Pink Sands. Molly does an amazing job for us and I will pass on your comments to her and the rest of the team. Thank you also for your positive comments after the event relating to food and service. We hope to see you all back at Pink Sands in the very near future.
best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is completely run down. It's easily the worst supposedly 5 star hotel I've ever stayed in. The service is a joke the food and the food is even funnier. Save yourself the disappointment and pick any another hotel on the island.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRCWFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
The Team at Pink Sands is obviously very dissapointed by your comments and experience . We value each guest and aim to exceed their expectations. Obviouly we did not meet yours and I apologize for this. We recieve many positive comments regarding our food ( some have appreared in this forum ) and I certainly stand by it and our kitchen team.
You did not give specifics regarding service, but I would be happy to connect with you directly should you wish to do so. We use any constructive feedback as a tool to train and lead our staff with the aim of enhancing the overall atmosphere and of course improving specific services we provide.

regards.
management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.3 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tingum Village Hotel
Tingum Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Sands Resort

Property: Pink Sands Resort
Address: Chapel St, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Sands Hotel Harbour Island
Pink Sands Resort Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing