We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you want to get away from it all this is the place to go”
Review of Pink Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pink Sands Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“When you want to get away from it all this is the place to go”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Spent a long weekend there in an ocean view cottage. Within a couple of hours you are lost in paradise. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. The faculty is starting to slowly show its age as does anyplace that is oceanfront.

We will definitely visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, General Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your positive comments in this forum. The team here works hard to meet everyones expectations and I am happy we met yours in the service department.
We are undertaking general refurbishment of rooms and guest areas and I look forward to your return to experience these.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    57
    35
    33
    22
See reviews for
80
143
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

we loved Pinks Sands on Harbor Island...First the beach. It's even better than everyone says it is. Long, hard enough to make walking on it easy and absolutely beautiful.We walked it every day of a 12-day stay here and never got tired of it. The water is clear and it's fun to swim in. Perfect for kids. We did see kite surfers one day but the water is typically pretty tame.
There is a nice breeze here because the hotel is on the ocean side. The downside of that is the sun sets on the bay side. But it takes less than 10 minutes to walk over to the bay side and see the sun set. (Most people rent golf carts to get around but most places are an easy walk from Pink Sands.)
Pink Sands is a collection of cottages (roughly 25) spread over 90+ acres so you have a ton of privacy. Our cottage (Sleepy Cay) was spacious and comfortable. Big bed, couple chairs, a desk, plenty of light from lots of windows. We had a wet bar (with a sink that didn't work) and a coffee machine as well as a minibar. The bathroom is large and so is the walk in closet attached to it. (No place to put your clothes but that closet.) There are two tennis courts and a nice pool. The fitness center is adequate -- treadmill, elliptical and a great weight machine as well as big free weights. The restaurant (not sure it has a name beyond Pink Sands) is terrific. Garden setting, quite romantic and the food is delicious (thanks Chef Ed). We loved the bartender Peter and Jonathan, the food and beverage mgr, seemed to be everywhere and always with a big smile on his face. Breakfast is served at the Blue Bar, which is an outdoor restaurant overlooking the beach (absolutely wonderful views). All the women who work the breakfast are friending and helpful. Honestly there was only one person on the entire Pink Sands staff who wasn't absolutely terrific (the woman at the Blue bar in the afternoon.)
Beyond Pink Sands, the reason to go to Harbor Island is all the other great places to eat dinner! The Landing was our favorite. We loved Dunmore and Rock House too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, General Manager at Pink Sands Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Your trip experience details have been passed onto all the staff mentioned; so thank you very much for taking the time to report such a positive experience at Pink Sands. The food and beverage department lead by Ed and Jonathan work hard to deliver a great experience. Peter is fantastic behind the bar and a guest favorite. My apologies for your lack of detailed service with one of our daytime bartenders. We are continuing to coach and lead this team member and see a big improvement.
We trust that you will return sometime soon and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you are looking for the Four Seasons, Pink Sands is not for you. If you're looking for shabby chic, beach-ey, amazing location, fantastic food and an even more fantastic staff - Pink Sands is a great fit. We stayed in an ocean front cottage which is a bit more but worth it. The breeze was lovely and so was the view.

Words can't really describe how beautiful the beach is right outside your door. The sand really is pink and the water is crystal clear and the most amazing color turquoise.

The only con we can say about Pink Sands is that it does need a little bit of a facelift. Some of the furniture is starting to show signs of wear & tear, bathroom is very clean but fixtures are starting to rust, etc The hotel manager, Mark, mentioned they were renovating everything in the next couple of months. That said, we live in New York City and are used to the best of the best and at no time did we ever feel like Pink Sands wasn't worth it.

Harbour Island is sleepy so if you're looking for a raucous party experience, might not be for you. After midnight the local bars do start up but we ate so well we couldn't stay awake that late! The food everywhere was so good (albeit expensive) - best places were Sip Sip (lobster quesadilla, whoa), The Landing, The Rockhouse, Queen Conch and The Blue Bar at Pink Sands.

Getting around the island is the epitome of easy - everyone drives golf carts and nothing is more than a 5 minute ride.

We've been to many islands for vacation (Turks & Caicos, Bermuda, Jamaica, Nevis, Anguilla, St. Barths) and no where have the locals and all restaurant/bar staff been so genuinely nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage called Long Cay which was perfect. Again, highly recommend paying more for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JamieAScal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a little gem. Harbour Island is the Nantucket of The Bahamas and Pink Sands was a perfect choice. Our cottage was clean and while not luxurious was certainly well maintained. The food was very good in the restaurant and the included continental breakfast down at The Blue Bar with oceanfront views was excellent. The staff were all extremely helpful and courteous and the pink powdery beach and turquoise water were the highlight. I would highly recommend this property for guests looking for a quiet and low key experience.

Room Tip: We had a garden view cottage which was lovely. The ocean view cottage are identical in size and deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, IN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We visited Harbour Island in May 2013 for a friend's wedding, and I could not have enjoyed myself more. Is it a Four Seasons on Madison Ave in NYC? No. But it's a beautiful, bohemian cottage community at the edge of paradise. We stayed in the Tennis South cottage, and we found it to be quite clean and well-appointed (photos available). The staff greeted us very warmly and accommodated almost any request we made. The great thing about this resort is how isolated it is. You can walk anywhere and are steps from the ocean. The sand here is unlike any I've experienced... it was always COOL. Usually, sun-beaten sand is impossible to walk on, but this felt almost like walking on flour. If you're looking for something commercial, this is not the place for you. If you want beautiful views, a great bar, and a real slice of life in paradise, Pink Sands is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We travel quite a bit and have stayed at some very beautiful hotels around the world. Pink Sands in NOT one of them. Although they charge top dollar.

Our room was around $700 per night, it was dark and gray but the worst part was our the bed spread cover was filthy and so were the sheets. The pillows were hard and the floor had not been swept. The bathtub fixtures were rusted - we wanted to take a hot bath when we arrived but we couldn't get the rusted drain plug to close.

We had truly been excited to stay at PS when we reviewed their brochure but once we were arrived, we regretted our decsion immediately.

As I mentioned, my wife and I were so grossed out by the sheets and bed that we were terrified to think what might a black light reveal on the duvet.....it was truly discusting.

With that said, Harbour Island is a magical place - I recommend seeking other accomodations. The Landing is beautiful and they have amazing food. Another WONDERFUL place to stay is the Rock House - the staff is spectacular, the rooms are beautifully furnished and spotless. And their restaurant is amazing as well.

You are going to love Harbour Island but do yourself a favor and avoid Pink Sands at any cost.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and avoid Pink Sands
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Winston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were here for a 40th birthday party and fell in love with Harbour Island and this hotel. It had such charm and the sand is truly the consistency of baby powder and yes it is pink. What a charming and CHILL place. If you're looking for someplace to get away from it all, this is a great place to be.

Room Tip: Get an ocean facing room. Worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunmore Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Sands Resort

Property: Pink Sands Resort
Address: Chapel St, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pink Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Sands Hotel Harbour Island
Pink Sands Resort Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing