We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine Dream Vacation”
Review of Pink Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pink Sands Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pristine Dream Vacation”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We have travelled many of the Bahama islands and the pristine Pink Sands Resort on Harbour Island is a hands - down favorite. The cottages are beautiful, comfortable, and relaxing. We stayed in an ocean view room that had a short path directly to the gorgeous pink sand beach. Loved the robes and evening turn down service (with cookies!) in the rooms. It was extremely refreshing to open the doors in the mornings and enjoy the breeze and beautiful ocean view. The staff is welcoming, friendly, and ready to accommodate. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and refreshing :-) Happy Hour at the Blue Bar. Dinner at the Blue Bar was amazing and the only restaurant on the island serving dinner with an ocean view. There are kayaks, boogie boards, snorkel gear, etc. for guests to use on the beach, but we chose to just walk and relax on the beach. The sand is literally pink -absolutely one of the most beautiful in the world.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dehensel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    57
    35
    33
    22
See reviews for
82
143
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My sister and I travelled to the Bahamas and had the opportunity of staying at Pink Sands Resort. I had done my research and checked the resort's website. I knew it from that moment that I wanted to stay at Pink Sands. We had an amazing time. I must say that from the moment we arrived we were greeted by Mark (General Manager) as well as their amazing friendly staff. We would like to thank everyone who made our stay a memorable one. A special thanks to the chef "Ed" who made us delicious meal the night before we left. He went out of his way to making us feel like we were at home. To the staff, Adolphus (thank you for teaching me to drive a golf car), Maefield, Toya, Suzanne, Peter, Jonathan.. Thank you.. We will never forget all of you and look forward to going back to the Pink Sands again in the near future.
I would definetely highly recommend this resort to everyone. If you want to feel like you're at home and want to have an amazing experience where you feel welcomed and the food is delicious... My sister and I can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

By far the most private and unique property on Harbour Island. Our ocean front villa was steps away from the beach, with a private deck-- perfect for sleeping under the stars. I hesitate to spill the secret but this is the place to bring in the new year- sensational party. But off-season is our favorite time, when the ocean is warm and it feels like the pink sands belong to us. The whole charm of this place is the rustic boho chic vibe, which is what we want whenever we come to this island. The staff is really representative of local culture, which is to say, they are relaxed, colloquial, and welcome you as though you were a guest in a home. We return year after year and have built local roots. It's not just a hotel, it's a vacation home-- with a super private chef. Best avocado gazpacho. In the summers, you can eat at the Blue Bar-- directly on the beach. Does not get better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayeffe, La
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just read the most recent review, and was surprised at their unfortunate experience. We booked an Ocean View Suite and did not fine it dirty or broken down in any way. We were located directly on the beach by way of a short path. The beach is awesome! They don't seem to have a lot of beach equipment, but the service from the Blue Bar was cheerful and welcome. Our patio area was nice, and our room was spacious, with a clean and well-equiped bathroom. I do agree that the prices are high for the accommodations that you receive. We ate at the restaurant twice and enjoyed our meal both times. The service in the bar and patio restaurant was friendly and attentive. Our notable disappointment was that we were not informed before our stay that they were hosting a wedding over the weekend, and had closed the restaurant and bar to their other guests. We enjoyed a meal out at the Rock House that night, and did not suffer. We also ate at the Dunmore and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. All of the restaurant prices on the island are generally comparable. I think they are kept this way deliberately to control competition! This is our second trip to Harbour Island, and we would also investigate other properties; however you can't beat this beach location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernbelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My first time in the bahamas... and part of my trip, it was ruined by staying in this hotel.
5 stars hotel?????? what about ...maybe 3 stars and paying for 5 !


Quick description of the hotel room:

-furniture : old and broken
-sofa, chairs : stained and nasty! we never sat in them!!! I did not even put my laggage on top!
-bathroom was the most disappointing: rust between tiles, flooded bathtub and sinks, toilet leaking water on the floor, some of the towels were dirty and discolored. They didn't refresh bath products. ..bring your own q-tips...they dont give them to you. There was a sewer smell too.

One morning we turned on the sink and nothing came out! Another time it was brown rust.

The bed sheets had holes. I was scared to check the mattress.

Turn-down service was inconsistent and poor.

This resort has big big big potential, but right now they should close it and renovate a-z. I would not save anything!

Food in the restaurant is good, thanks to the great chef.

The famous Blue Bar, looks like it has to be finished decorated. It is just blue with a couple of chairs table and dead flowers on it.

The beach is awesome. But the lounge chairs are mismatched.

Overall, the atmosphere is very sad. Even the main bar, while staffed with a very nice bartender, was sad and empty!

We went for spring break , thought it would have been packed with people.

I wish we would have stayed nearby at the Dunmore.... Awesome hotel, unfortunately it was fully booked when we were planning our trip.

If they lower the price to 200-300/night it might be appropriate. But they can't charge 700-800 without a renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Camilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ill.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel has long enjoyed a good reputation. We were extremely disappointed. Was our first trip to Bahamas. We were thrilled with Harbor Island. The hotel gave a great first impression with a welcoming smile by the property's representative at the airport. He escorted us to the hotel. After a quick boat ride and even quicker taxi ride we were at the hotel. Mark, the GM warmly greeted us and made us feel right at home. Unfortunately the warm and fuzzy feelings stopped there. The room was tired. In dire need of updating. Especially the bathrooms. Several things were in need of maintenance. To the hotel's credit - maintenance was sent in immediately to rectify those items that could be fixed.

My impression of Pink Sands is that ownership is not giving able management the budget it needs to run this hotel properly. The real estate and the beach are amazing. You will not find a nicer beach without going to the S. Pacific. But the accommodations at this hotel are not acceptable for the prices they charge.

Staff is often friendly and attentive. Some more than others. But you get a sense that the locals employed here, while well-intentioned, aren't going to go the extra mile. Part of it is cultural.

The Blue Bar restaurant enjoys a killer view and wicked fast WiFi which can reach the beach. The property's chef seems capable and inspired, but doesn't have the clientele or the budget to be as creative as he wants to be. It all goes back to ownership giving the hotel the tools (and money) needed to keep the property up to date. Then they need to promote the property.

Our walk by The Dunmore Hotel down the beach had us wishing we stayed there.

The hotel's lobby is charming. The bar a great place to hang out. But the whole place seemed a little sleepy. And we were there in high season.

The neighborhood is charming and everything is walkable. You feel very safe.

Food is Expensive. Everywhere you go. But you eat very well.

NOTE: The management at the Pink Sands has stated they intend to remodel the bathrooms in the Fall of 2013. If that happens it will be a great improvement. Don't book here until that occurs, or unless prices drop in half.

Positives: Beach beach beach. Super fast - free - WiFi speeds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clark_W_Griswold_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our 2nd time to the pink sands and it continues to be our favorite. We checked out the Dunmore on our last visit but, we felt that the Pink Sands allows for more privacy and the spacing of the rooms throughout the Pink Sands property makes for a beautiful setting. The staff throughout was extremely helpful especially Quinnith. 5 days on Harbour Island is about the right amount of time. Definitely rent a golf cart and explore the darling town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyandlaughter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
281 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunmore Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Sands Resort

Property: Pink Sands Resort
Address: Chapel St, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Sands Hotel Harbour Island
Pink Sands Resort Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing