We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed. 5 star cost for 3 star property.”
Review of Pink Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pink Sands Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Ill.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed. 5 star cost for 3 star property.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel has long enjoyed a good reputation. We were extremely disappointed. Was our first trip to Bahamas. We were thrilled with Harbor Island. The hotel gave a great first impression with a welcoming smile by the property's representative at the airport. He escorted us to the hotel. After a quick boat ride and even quicker taxi ride we were at the hotel. Mark, the GM warmly greeted us and made us feel right at home. Unfortunately the warm and fuzzy feelings stopped there. The room was tired. In dire need of updating. Especially the bathrooms. Several things were in need of maintenance. To the hotel's credit - maintenance was sent in immediately to rectify those items that could be fixed.

My impression of Pink Sands is that ownership is not giving able management the budget it needs to run this hotel properly. The real estate and the beach are amazing. You will not find a nicer beach without going to the S. Pacific. But the accommodations at this hotel are not acceptable for the prices they charge.

Staff is often friendly and attentive. Some more than others. But you get a sense that the locals employed here, while well-intentioned, aren't going to go the extra mile. Part of it is cultural.

The Blue Bar restaurant enjoys a killer view and wicked fast WiFi which can reach the beach. The property's chef seems capable and inspired, but doesn't have the clientele or the budget to be as creative as he wants to be. It all goes back to ownership giving the hotel the tools (and money) needed to keep the property up to date. Then they need to promote the property.

Our walk by The Dunmore Hotel down the beach had us wishing we stayed there.

The hotel's lobby is charming. The bar a great place to hang out. But the whole place seemed a little sleepy. And we were there in high season.

The neighborhood is charming and everything is walkable. You feel very safe.

Food is Expensive. Everywhere you go. But you eat very well.

NOTE: The management at the Pink Sands has stated they intend to remodel the bathrooms in the Fall of 2013. If that happens it will be a great improvement. Don't book here until that occurs, or unless prices drop in half.

Positives: Beach beach beach. Super fast - free - WiFi speeds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clark_W_Griswold_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    57
    35
    33
    22
See reviews for
81
142
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our 2nd time to the pink sands and it continues to be our favorite. We checked out the Dunmore on our last visit but, we felt that the Pink Sands allows for more privacy and the spacing of the rooms throughout the Pink Sands property makes for a beautiful setting. The staff throughout was extremely helpful especially Quinnith. 5 days on Harbour Island is about the right amount of time. Definitely rent a golf cart and explore the darling town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyandlaughter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent a week at Pink Sands which was 2 days too long as we do not like to sit on a beach all day. With the island being so small we quickly ran out of things to do. The staff at Pink Sands could not have more accommodating and friendly. Service at the restaurant was very slow (not blu bar). The resort is on the verge of needing a makeover. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moodypoint42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and took a cooking class with Chef Ed at the Pink Sands. It was just perfect! Not only did Chef Ed teach us how to make some delicious Harbour Island specialties but we also received adorable aprons and got to do our cooking right out in the open at the Blu Bar. The setting was perfect (as it is always in on harbour island)! We loved every minute of the class and the cevchie and grouper lunch we got to eat the conclusion of the classes just as delicious as everything else at the Pink Sands! Call ahead for the class and make sure you talk to Chef Ed to get the time and date locked in. The more notice he has the better! ENJOY!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alpine717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have just returned from Pink Sands in the Bahamas, where we were royally treated by a superb manager, Mark, and his excellent staff. Thank you Cherene and Adolphus for getting us settled; thank you Muriel for your awesome attention to detail; thank you Toya, Lenricka, and Yolanda for taking care of us at breakfast and lunch; and Cagney and Chris at dinner; and Jonathan, Kendrick and Adellio, thank you for your all around helpfulness.

This resort is beautiful in every way - well placed cottages, pristine beach and relaxed ambience. The food is excellent...we cancelled our reservations at other restaurants after realizing that Chef Ed's talent was unsurpassed - the selection, texture, taste and combination of flavors are perfect.

A memorable experience in every way!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethH497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've just returned from Harbour Island,The Bahamas, a place that we refer to as our favourite vacation destination. This time we tried something different and stayed at Pink Sands Resort. This five star property is exquisitely manicured from the front gate through to the side-roads that meander to our private beach house ... perched on a bluff, overlooking the world famous Pink Sands Beach ... the view is magnificent.
On most mornings we'd open the doors to our massive deck and watch the sun rise, a ritual that was always served-up with a hot cup of coffee and a profound sense of connection. And, ooh, those wonderful breakfasts, followed by a long walk along the beach...there's not a better way in the world to start the day.
Thank you, Mark Kitchen and team for your warmth, hospitality and helping hands that have given us a lifetime of memories. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaconda, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a private home on the Island, but had one of our favorite experiences at the Blue Bar Restaurant at the Pink Sands. My wife and I and our friends (another couple) took a cooking class with Chef Ed. He was a great teacher and we enjoyed preparing a delicious meal under his expert instruction. We made a seared tuna dish, ceviche, and a grouper dish with pineapple salsa. I would recommend having a few beers during class and going with a huge appetite--it ends up being a ton of food. In a week of highlights, this was a standout experience. Thanks to Ed, Latoya, and al the great staff at the Pink Sands. We can't wait for another visit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
281 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunmore Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Sands Resort

Property: Pink Sands Resort
Address: Chapel St, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pink Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Sands Hotel Harbour Island
Pink Sands Resort Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing