We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced bungalo”
Review of Pink Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pink Sands Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel looks WAY better in their pictures than in person. We stayed in "Bird Cay" cottage. It's very weathered and run down. I will say that the staff is extremely friendly. The food is WAY overpriced and mediocre at best. This beach is absolutely beautiful and very clean. We visited at the end of May and the weather was not on our side. We take 1 family trip to the carribean each Summer. This time the rain ruined nearly the entire trip. We tried to get Pink Sands to refund us a few nights so we could leave early and go some place sunny. The manager refused to give us a refund and we were forced to remain on this rainy island. I feel our money was wasted as we were in search of a sunny beach vacation. Instead we were holed up in a less than stellar room waiting for storms to pass.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 351 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Pink Sands Resort is directly located at the tidy and beautiful Pinks Sands Beach with easy beach access. The Resort covers a pretty large property as all guests are accommodated in individual bungalows. It is quiet and you only meet other guests if you want to. The main restaurant and bar area are beautifully located within a nice garden. The Food in the main restaurant is excellent thanks to F&B Manager Michael and the young and very talented executive chef James van Dyke. All is fresh, nicely prepared and tastes very well. Michael, the F&B manager always has an open ear and can also do magic if you want to have something special. Just talk to him.
Directly at the beach you will find the Blu Bar, a place with a scenic beach view, delicious breakfast and well prepared lunches - also a great place to eat.
From Peter the wonderful barkeeper, from Cherene and Violet at the front desk up to Suzanne and Dalio at the beach service along with Valarie and Lenricka at the Blu Bar - all should get an award for their friendly treatment of the guests.THEY make the difference and add to your wish to come back. The GM Mark Kitchen does a great job running the Resort smoothly, efficiently and close to perfection.
The Resort has acquired a certain patina over the years - in a good way. Bar, Restaurant and the Bungalows are all not brand-new and lack the artificial perfection of some Grand Hyatts, W-Hotels and similar hotels. But: everything you touch and use either in your room or elsewhere in the resort is clean and in flawless shape.
Somehow the Resort represents Harbour Island in a perfect way. A little worn but tidy, laid back, almost free from over-the-top show-offs - an authentic place with loads of charm, friendliness and beautiful places. Wanna wear your Manolos, Jimmy Choos or your golden Rolex? Pls do so but nobody will care or notice. Looking for a nightclub like the "Greystone Manor" in LA? Haha - go to Gusty's which is not much more than a shack with a sand dance floor, drinks from plastic cups but unbelievable fun.
Harbour Island is certainly not a cheap place - you need some money to go there and have a good time but you do not have to show it.

The local people are very friendly, sincere and very helpful. Everybody greets everyone on the street. No big shops on the island but you can get all important daily supplies plus some nice clothing etc.

If artificial luxury and impressive steel/glass architecture hotels is your thing, when handing your Bentley keys to a valet guy makes you feel good and the 96 Dom Perignon has to be correctly chilled - then you might want to look for some other vacation place.

We'll be coming back - for sure. Jana and Kai

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Wow what a disappointment , thank goodness for the great view and beach.....this inn reached its expiration dated years ago and has yet to acknowledge that a flat screen tv will not offset a tied and worn room with a bathroom that has peeling paint and rusty fixtures. How about all the warnings to lock your room......or the staff who run the gamet between delightful and arrogant. The blue bar is great place for lunch ......but skip the complimentary breakfast...it's a dud, attended by a staff who are pre occupied with socializing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dewolfe13013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our family just returned from a wonderful vacation at Pink Sands. From the reception at the airport, to boat transfer, to taxi transfer, to reception by general manager in the resort lobby, and throughout a week stay--we experienced excellent service and facilities. The Blue Bar is one of the best lunch and drinks spots on the beach. The dinners were fantastic due to attentive waiters, a great food & beverage manager, and delicious food. Beach facilities are very nice. Like all of Harbour Island, this is a small, quiet locale that caters to its guests. One word of advice--bring a pair of ear plugs because the roosters crow all night (not unique only to Pinks Sands). It's no wonder that the local cars have a bumper sticker--"Take a rooster to Eleuthera."

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonesfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We went on a couple of occasions and certainly enjoyed ourselves, all very pleasant.
The staff are great but we did sometimes feel rushed especially towards closing time.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycaptainchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

we spent a weekend in harbor island beginning in budget room at another hotel for $250 that was basically in the driveway. We visited pink sands and I was totally taken by the ambiance of the lobby and spent a few hours trying to justify spending $600/night there. We never spend that much money on accommodations. I finally managed to talk myself into it, so we moved to pink sands. The room was lovely with a private verandah and lovely tiled bathroom. The food was good, the staff pleasant and I couldnt bear to even look at the bill when I left.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We last visited Pink Sands in 2006. It was perfect. The room. the service. The food. However, a recent visit showed major flaws in the dinning space. Shoddy service, terrible food and a lack of damage control were all prevalent. I stay stay away and visit the nearby Dunmore. Far superior with great food and a caring staff that will make your day and the decor will blow you away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#9 of 13 in Eleuthera
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
298 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Sands Resort

Address: Chapel St, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range: $453 - $1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pink Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Sands Hotel Harbour Island
Pink Sands Resort Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing