We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a clear day you can see paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sip Sip

Sip Sip
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
NYC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“On a clear day you can see paradise”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Sure Sip Sip is grossly overpriced, crowded, slow and full of pretentious snobs. Now, with that out of the way, let me also say that the view and ambience of Sip Sip on Harbour Island beach is unparalleled anywhere in the world and that (gulp) makes the unpleasantness worth it.

There is really nothing like sipping wine on their balcony on a sunny day and gazing down Pink Sand beach and watching paradise roll in.

I have been a few times and try to time my visits so that I'm there when the place is not crazy crowded.

Highly recommended

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandHopper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    59
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sip Sip is worth the wait”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've been home only a few days and I am already craving the lobster quesadilla. It is pricey ($40 when I was there) but it is HUGE! We ordered 2 for a table of 8, as well as 1 grouper sandwich and we had leftovers. Cocktails were great, and you can't beat the view of the beach. Feel free to go in your bath suit, cover up and flip-flops. It is very casual.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalkey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
182 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The ultimate beach side lunch!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Take a walk down the pink sand beach and up the stairs (shoes optional) to Sip Sip in the bright green building. If it's a busy time of year, go early or late and be sure to check their hours - they are only open some days and from about 11:30 - 4pm. The view, as with all the beach side restaurants on the island, is magnificent and the atmosphere/decor is eclectic and unusual! Check out the shop for unusual items such as bracelets made of Barbie doll shoes?! And of course they have great t-shirts that explain what Sip Sip means… They do not take reservations, so plan your visit there early in your vacation. All the food we had was delicious - lobster quesidillas, boil fish, curry chicken salad - and the drinks were great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandjfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So delish”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The last time I ate at Sip Sip was 2 years ago. Have had 2 lunches this holiday at Sip Sip and nothing has changed. Delish food, fantastic view, friendly waitresses. The lobster quesadilla is a must as is the carrot cake.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbiewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We arrived about 1:30 and caught the end of the lunch rush. The food is fantastic. Grouper sandwich is a must have and my wife raved about the smoked Mahi dip. The service was fun, friendly and fast considering the number of guests. Arrive early of enjoy a cocktail before dinner the setting is beautiful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CirrusSR22_pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sip Sip also viewed

Harbour Island, Out Islands
Harbour Island, Out Islands
 
Harbour Island, Out Islands
Harbour Island, Out Islands
 

Been to Sip Sip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing