We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aladdin's Paradise”
Review of Runaway Hill Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harbour Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Runaway Hill Club
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Laguna beach, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Aladdin's Paradise”
Reviewed May 25, 2007

If you found Aladdin’s Lamp and had three wishes, the first would be to go to Harbour Island, the second to stay at the Runaway Inn, and the third to have Mark and Steve as your hosts, and Steve as your persona;l genie. Mark and Steve will go out of their way to accommodate your every request. We were treated not as hotel guests but as part of their family. They have created a warm intimate atmosphere at the Inn reminiscent of days gone by. This is by far the best Hotel on the Island, the best location (on the Pink sand beach), the best cooks, the best pool, and the best bar. They are in the process of adding a rental home with pool on the beach, adjacent to the hotel in August 2007. You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Runaway; we can't wait to return. Thank you Mark and Steve for making our stay so memorable, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Location, Management
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Our first time to Harbour Island - so glad that we stayed at Runaway Hill.

Usually we are back from vacation and within a day or two we have forgotten about the place - not Harbour island and most definitely not Runaway Hill. We can't wait to book our next visit.

Perfect location - as "on the beach" as you are going to get on Harbour Island , very peaceful property, good food, good service - highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mackie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2007

Just returned home from my second trip to Runaway Hill and it was even better than last year. The computer in the hallway has become a little business center with a computer and a telephone for guests' use. Breakfasts were great -- they had a full menu, and I particularly liked the fresh fruit cup, the best poached eggs ever, perfectly crisp bacon, and the homemade bread. And of course you can't beat the pink sand beach or if you are so inclined the heated pool.

Rooms are simple and beautiful, with really nice linens and silk curtains. The dinner menu is different every night based on what's fresh, but they'll make you whatever you want if you don't like the menu. I loved the grouper and the lobster and all the soups. People do 'dress' for dinner, but I felt comfortable in my beach dresses with sandals.

Guests were really friendly and we made some new friends especially when the bar is open before dinner! The management was great, helped us rent a golf cart and make reservations for massages and manicures. This could be the most relaxing place I've ever stayed. I recommend Runaway Hill without reservation.

  • Liked — Watching the sun rise over the pink sand beach every morning.
  • Disliked — Going hom!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gooften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2006

My wife and I just attended a wedding hosted at Runaway Hill and if I could just sum it up for you, "Without a doubt, the most wonderful experience of our lives!!" Everyone there was courteous and friendly. If you want to go somewhere to party your [--] off, this is probably not the place you'd want to go.....If you want to go spend some quality time with your family or friends in a more secluded, private piece of paridise this is the only place to be.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 5, 2006

Just returned from a wonderfully calm, relaxing and beautiful stay at Runaway Hill Club. Everything was exquisite. From the furnishings to the fine food, our stay was impeccable. Not to mention the staff - warm, real and accommodating.

Special mention goes to the General Manager, Stephen, a charming and intelligent fellow, was more than happy to cater to our needs with a smile and good joke.

Recommend it highly, you will NOT be disappointed.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmount City, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2005

We recently had the great pleasure of staying a week at Runaway Hill Club. We found it to be a near perfect place on one of the world's greatest beaches.

Steve the manager greeted us with a Goombay Smash and in the evening with a terrific home-cooked dinner. He knows all the right people on the island, so we were easily able to get everything we needed to get around and have a good time while visiting.

The staff is among the finest anywhere—sincerely interested in making sure their guests enjoy themselves. They even saved us chocolate cake from dinner the previous night, which we missed because we went local fish fry instead.

The bathrooms in all the rooms have all been renovated with amenities that include large shower heads. The beds are new and are very comfortable. Steve told that there will be more renovations. Steve and new owners have been running the place for about year. The views from the rooms that front the beach are magnificent. I think there are a total of ten units.

The hotel looks down on Pink Sands Beach. Halfway down the walkway to the beach there's a mid-sized pool and patio. From the first day we arrived to the day we left there was an umbrella and two beach chairs set up ahead of time for our use. The hotel sits on 10 well-manicured acres. Chickens and roosters rule the front of the building, thankfully, so we didn't hear roosters crowing all hours of the night. The hotel also has its own water filtration system.

I call Runaway Beach Club a hotel but it operates more like a casual inn or bed and breakfast with almost no rules. The only real rule seems to be to enjoy yourself however you choose. The best thing is that you can choose the anonymity that large hotels offer, or you can mingle with other guests. The bar, located in the main area where the restaurant, lobby and reading room are, operates on an honor system.

We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank nothing2declare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 15, 2005

The Runaway Hill Club is the only place I would stay on the island. The location is absolutely perfect perched on top of the most beautiful pink sand beach I have ever seen and right down a beach lane from beach bars and restaurants. The staff is wonderful. Steve is the best bartender on the island and the Della is most attentive to your needs. But Miss Rica's cooking is something I did not expect. I have been to many very fine restuarants in New York City, but her cooking, though simple, surpasses almost anything I have ever experienced. If you go you must ask her to make the shrimp basil soup. Staying at the Runaway Hill Club is like being invited to an English country house for a holiday only the weather is better.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
286 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runaway Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Hill Club

Property: Runaway Hill Club
Address: 27031 Box EL | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front 11 room Inn and four bedroom beach house located on the pink sand beach of Harbour Island. Beachside pool and restaurant nestled on 13 tropical acres. A variety of rooms including a one bedroom owners cottage makes this the perfect location for intimate weddings, birthday celebrations or family reunions. Our Chef, Krishna Higgs, has a wonderful menu which features daily local fresh fish options. The Four Bedroom Infinity House has sliding glass doors in each bedroom and endless deck. Newly renovated it offers everything you could wish for in a rental home and offers all the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runaway Hill Club Hotel Harbour Island
Runaway Hill Club Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing