We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and low key.”
Review of Runaway Hill Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Harbour Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Runaway Hill Club
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and low key.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went in early June 2013 & same time last year. Private, relaxing and low key with excellent accomodations and everything right there. Beaches outstanding and clean and simply at bottom of steps. Pool on way to beach. Restaurant and bar right above pool and beach.If you want to relax and not venture out this is the spot. Rest of Island small, easy to access. We have found our beach so will be returning often.

Room Tip: Villas are the largest & newest, however main house right by everything and interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zorrro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
66
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Runaway Hill for 6 nights at the beginning of June. We absolutely loved every second of our stay. Everyone at RHC were so personable and took so much pride in the resort. The rooms were beautiful - simple but elegant. The pink sand beach was only a couple of steps away!! We ate at the restaurant daily - either breakfast, lunch or dinner...and sometimes all three. The new Chef did a wonderful job with all of our meals - clearly I recommend any/all fish dishes (since it's caught daily)...but everything we ate was top notch. The owner, Jen, is fantastic. We had a great time getting to know her and the entire team. They have the ability to help you plan additional "excursions" in/around the island. For the most part we just sat and relaxed on the beach and in the ocean in the mornings and then spent time at the pool most afternoons....very relaxing.
I can't recommend this place enough...

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have an ocean view - most of them have a large front porch & a sundeck a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPHVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Traveling to Harbour Island by boat, we took a break for a few days at this lovely hotel. We had dined there on past trips, and always said we would return as resort guests. We enjoyed a room on the top floor of the main building, which featured a private deck overlooking one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Despite being located over the restaurant and bar area, our room was not noisy, just as promised by our wonderful host and manager Jennifer. We are seasoned travelers, and seldom have we enjoyed such warm, friendly and personal service -- everything we expected and more from a fellow Canadian! Over breakfast she shared ideas about things to see, where to dine, and how to get the most from the beach and coral reefs just offshore. At dinner (which is consistently excellent, thanks to another Canuck, Chef Luc) we heard about the history of the resort, and where to head for dancing and fun in Dunsmore Town. All to say that we will return to Runaway Hill again soon, and can't wait for that trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WineLoverOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor, but felt compelled to after spending an exceptional week at Runaway Hill. I have never been on a beach vacation where we had more bad weather than good and still had a magical time!! Everything you have read about Jennifer is true, she is an amazing host... She is warm, friendly, helpful and makes you feel as though you are a guest in her own home. The staff at every level are helpful, friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to make you feel welcome and fulfill any requests you have, and always with a smile on their faces. Runaway Hill is small, total chill and laid back, the grounds are beatifully landscaped, the rooms and villas are comfortable, cozy and warm. The common areas are relaxing and well done and of course the beach is beyond description with its turqoise waters and white (soft like flour) sand. It seems that wherever you are on the hotel grounds you are seeing the beuaty of the water, the beach, a sunrise or a sunset. Their is a small and refreshing pool with great views and many comfortable places on the grounds to grab a hammock or a chair for a good book. The food at Runaway Hill is also exceptional, the new chief who happens to be a charming Bahamian young lady is talented and prepares delicous and creative food. While on our stay Jen had a number of her family members in house including her parents, two brothers and a number of nephews, it was great getting to know and spend a bit of time with them all as they are all great peeps!!

Harbour Island has a number of places to choose from, however on the beach side you have Pink Sands, Coral Sands and The Dunmore. Runaway Hill is the most unique of all and will always be the place that I stay. Make sure to rent your golf cart (for getting around the island) from Mike, he is great and gives a fair deal. Their are a number of fantastic restaurants on the Island, for lunch the best is Sip Sip next door to Runaway Hill, also down on the dock check out Queen Conch and Harry O`s, great local food and cheap. For dinner Aqua Pazza, The Landing, The Rock House and of course Runaway Hill.

If you are looking to get away from it all Harbour Island and Runaway Hill is your escape, no T.V, cars, noise traffic and the RUM is killer!!

Say hi to Mom and Dad, Paul and Mark, hope the fishing was awesome!

Thanks Jen, you are the best Cori and I cannot wait to see you soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thanks to Jen and her wonderful crew for making our stay a perfect blend of relaxation and fun! Justin makes the best vodka gimlet, Donna gives a very good reading of the map as far as what we should do, Shelly brought delicious breakfast with a warm smile, Jay was a most willing driver and all around provider of whatever we needed. Definitely will return to this most laid back but proper Inn set right on a lovely stretch of soft beach. Couldn't have been a better vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emery T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Thank you Jen for your extraordinary hospitality, we had a wonderful experience at Runaway Hill. The room was sumptuous, the bathing products luscious, the food fantastic, the service second to none. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were high quality and lovely. We were made to feel like invited guests rather than paying customers and I know we weren't alone in feeling that way, Jennifer has a gift for hospitality! The attention to detail in this hotel reflects the fact that the owners and their extended family use the property for their own enjoyment at certain times of the year. I highly recommend this location for anyone wanting quality, comfort, and a little pampering, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the last room with the view of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My trip to Harbour Island, Bahamas was made so much better because of my decision to stay at Runaway Hill. Not only was the beach the prettiest beach I have ever been to but the staff at Runaway Hill made me feel like I was right at home. Jennifer Messier, the co-manager at Runaway, catered to my every need and then some. She is one of the best entertainers that I've ever met. I recommend a trip to Harbour Island to everyone but especially to stay at Runaway Hill if you want the best possible trip!
Thank you to all the staff and especially Jennifer Messier for making that the best vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghirsch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.1 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runaway Hill Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runaway Hill Club

Property: Runaway Hill Club
Address: 27031 Box EL | Dunmore Town, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front 11 room Inn and four bedroom beach house located on the pink sand beach of Harbour Island. Beachside pool and restaurant nestled on 13 tropical acres. A variety of rooms including a one bedroom owners cottage makes this the perfect location for intimate weddings, birthday celebrations or family reunions. Our Chef, Krishna Higgs, has a wonderful menu which features daily local fresh fish options. The Four Bedroom Infinity House has sliding glass doors in each bedroom and endless deck. Newly renovated it offers everything you could wish for in a rental home and offers all the amenities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Runaway Hill Club Hotel Harbour Island
Runaway Hill Club Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing