We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rip off with hidden fees”
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A rip off with hidden fees”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Our room # 23 was $500/ night, + $45 maid service fee, +29% tax. We had to pay ~$1200 upon making the reservation to guarantee the room. We stayed 3 nights. The room was filthy at check-in. The glass shelves above the sinks in both bathrooms were covered in water marks and toothpaste smudges, the bathroom floor was dirty with hair and after walking around the room for 10 minutes barefoot, the bottom or my feet were black and had to be washed. The only light/lamp in the sofa bed room had a burnt out bulb. We got a replacement bulb (only 40 watts) and requested another lamp, also with a 40 watt bulb. These 2 measely lamps were not sufficient to light the room at night. You could see in the center of the ceiling of both rooms where there used to be ceiling fans, but they had been removed at some point, probably when the AC units were installed.
The sofa bed was very comfortable and I slept very well all 3 nights on it and my mother of 78 slept very well on the main bed. The room was quiet and the AC in the sofa bedroom was strong enought to cool both rooms very well. The hot water takes a long toime to reach the shower. When it finally arrives, it is never really hot. No soap dish is in the bathroom, so you must put the soap on the counter or glass shelf making a slimey mess. The drain of the sofa bed bathroom sink was VERY slow.
The ~32-37" Samsung flat screen TV's in each room were very nice and the free wi-fi was also appreciated with a little wooden desk to set the laptop on. The closet in the master bedroom was spaceous but the safe was rinky-dink. Both baths had showers with shower curtains and no tubs.
There is free coffee in the lobby starting at 7 am and decaff is available upon request.
We ate dinner at the hotel the first night because we were so tired and too lazy to seek out another place for dinner. The food was not very good and extremely overpriced. I had the grouper which was overcooked and on a bed of rice with no veggies or salad. My mother had the "lobster stack" for ~$18 which was an appetizer. She did not like it. When we sat down they asked us if we wanted still water or sparkling. We said "still" .
They charged us $10 for the water on the check! They did not tell us there was a charge for the water up front. We complained and got the water taken off the bill, but it was a hassel and a cause of stress.

The walkways and steps/stairs around the property are uneven and rough. My 78 year old mother had a hard tme getting around with very few railings for her to grab ahold of the steady herself. She was in constant fear of falling so I had to hold on to her every time she left the room. This is not a place for anyone with any trouble getting around.
The pool is small and dinky.
Only 1 small bottle of purified water is provided each day per person.
Pros:
The view from the porch was fantastic and peaceful. Beach access to the Pink Sands Beach is on the property and the beach is gorgeous and very soft on the feet. There is also a place to wash your feet off after leaving the beach that is handy. Lounge chairs are free on the nbeach for hotel guests and are good ones.
The "room" was actually 2 rooms with 2 complete baths and was very spaceous. We did not feel crowded. It was very quiet and comfortable with good AV. There was also a mini frig.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tango191191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    98
    39
    32
    23
See reviews for
89
194
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ctyankee20
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

A beautiful location spoiled by poor service, spotty food quality and bad management. The Hotel seemed to feel they were doing us a favor by accepting our money. If you want to be met with a demand for a credit card imprint upon arrival for "incidentals" this is your kind of place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ctyankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We recently hosted a wedding and reception at the Coral Sands for about 60 people. The General Manager was involved personally in all the planning details with the bride, which included a beautiful ceremony on the lawn overlooking the turquoise ocean at sunset followed by a reception overlooking the beach in an elegant open pavilion. The food was extraordinary as was the service. I could not recommend this location more highly for a group event. There is plenty of room for everyone to stay in this oceanside hotel together to enjoy the hotel's amenities, the pink sand beach, as well as the many charms of Harbour Island

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsripley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, FL
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed for a few nights in the new cottages on the beach. The rooms are SPECTACULAR!! They have private beach access to the famed pink sands beach, the bathrooms are huge with steam showers and the location offers lots of privacy. Sitting in bed, with the French doors open, while watching the ocean from bed was unlike any experience i've ever had!

The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff is jovial and friendly, the grounds are clean and inviting, and the restaurant / food & drink is outstanding!! (best fresh fish i've had in a while). We had a wonderful stay at the Coral Sands and would recommend to anyone visiting the island. It seemed very kid friendly as well.

You get a luxurious experience for a great price. It was a great romantic get-a-way and we are looking forward to a return visit!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asr664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

To celebrate my girlfriend's 40th birthday, we decided to book a holiday of a lifetime, including a stay at Pink Sands.

Unfortunately this was perhaps the worst hotel experience we have ever had (we have both travelled the world on business for the past 20 years).

We initially booked into an Ocean view room - however the sea was only visible over the roof of other chalets. The floor was dirty (covered with sand that had not been swept. The bed linen and towels were tired. The bathroom was in need of repair. And general fittings were lacking. (This room was rated 1/5)

After complaining we were upgraded to beach chalet - an amazing difference, was this the same hotel? The floor was clean, bed linen and towels were good; though there were too many cushions on the bed - 18! The bathroom was a wonderful experience. However the mirrors and glass doors always had areas in the middle that never got cleaned. The worst though was the security with the veranda doors being rattled (tested?) during the early hours of the morning by an unknown person (the morning after someone had their fingers chopped off on the island). So whilst the room was great, the security issues means we could only give this room 3/5

Throughout the stay we talked with the management, hoping to see an improvement - but to no avail. When we checked out, the management said "You would have been better staying in Fawlty Towers... At least you were staying in the rooms above the main hotel, they're like dog kennels!" I must commend their honesty

As for the service, I was waiting at the bar for a room service order and member of staff came over to get a glass of wine for a customer - but quickly poured himself a large paper cup of the same wine saying to his colleague in clear ear shot of myself "Well I might as well get tipsy, as I am not going to get any tip". The reaction of the colleague? An amused smile and no apology to witnessing guests.

The beach by the way is amazing but the hotel is a little out of town - so if you do decide to stay here, you must hire a golf cart (Harbour islands form of hire cars) to get around, as the alternative is long walks, or relying upon taxis which are few and far between (fine to get to/from the harbour).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

My mom and I stayed here for 7 nights in June 2010. The room was clean, cool and the showers were perfect for a beach hotel. The best part was relaxing on the beach all day- the water was stunning, no crowds and the service great (they set up your umbrella and chairs wherever you want). I highly recommend getting a golf cart as it was really too hot to walk very far. The rooms have refrigerators and very efficient A/C as well. Bought soda, beer, wine and snacks at grocery store downtown to save some money- as the hotel bar is good- but pricey. The hotel restaurant is delicious- try the goat cheese salad. We felt very safe at the hotel and on Harbor Island.

Overall: Lovely hotel right on the beach- super relaxing and convenient environment

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnie072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Just back from 10 days on Harbour Island. First 5 days at Valentines, next 5 at Coral Sands.
Coral Sands is beach front and beautiful! This is the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean!
We had a very large 1 bdrm ocean view suite on the second floor. Very spacious. Terrace was large enough for two lounge chairs and a breakfast table with 4 chairs. The rooms are a bit dated, but this is an older hotel. They have built a couple of cottages on the beach which look spectacular. The main building, and restaurants are perfect.
Overall Harbour Island is a very special place. It has one of the worlds best beaches, great marina's, a quaint town, and no cruise ships or mega hotels. The people were warm and friendly. Traveling with 11 and 13 year old girls we never felt unsafe.
Tempted to write a negative review to keep people away!
It is hard to get to, very expensive, and very restricted to new development, so I doubt that it will become overcrowded any time soon. We averaged about $300 per day in food and drink.
Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.1 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#6 of 9 in Harbour Island
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunmore Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Sands
Coral Sands Harbor Island
Coral Sands Hotel Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing