We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach, not so hot hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Great Beach, not so hot hotel”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Pros: Beautiful beach. Gorgeous turquoise water. Some of the wait staff at the hotel are very friendly. We can always tell that the cleaning staff has cleaned our room every day and do a very good job of it.

Some of the employees who work here are very friendly and eager to help.

Cons: 1. Continental breakfast consists of toast, a croissant, 2 small jelly pastries, jelly, cream cheese if your are lucky and coffee and juice. A bowl of Cereal is $9! We have never been served or even offered water at breakfast while we have witnessed other guests being served. Consistency in what is offered is poor. The first day, my husband ordered sausage to go along with his toast. He received 3 links for $6. The second day, he again ordered the same sausage and only received 2 links.

2. The shabby not shabby chic condition of the room. I expected a little bit more out of the room for what we were paying. This time the beach makes up for it. Next time, I will try somewhere else.

3. Unpredictable hours of the beach bar/restaurant. We waited till 3:30 pm to go order lunch. The beach restaurant closes at 4. I was informed that because of a wedding the restaurant had closed down early. I went ahead and ordered drinks at the bar, where the bar attendants were not very friendly. No one informed me that the bar would be closing before 5pm because of the same wedding. My husband went back to the bar at 4:00 and was informed in a bit of a rude manner that the bar was closed because of the wedding. NO where was it posted or were we informed that the beach restaurant and bar would be closing early. My husband went to the main house to see if by chance they had opened the bar there earlier to serve the numerous other paying guests that were not part of the wedding party. He was informed that that the beach restaurant and bar had been closed due to the wedding. No apology was offered. The person then walked off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runnerchick79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna541, Owner at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Runnerchick 79,
I am sorry that you had cons associated with your stay at Coral Sands. We try very hard for all of our guests to be satisfied.
I will try to respond to your three points:
1. Continental breakfast: We do serve complimentary continental breakfast to our guests consisting of a bread basket, coffee and juice. I apologize if no water was served. As to the sausage, I will bring it up to the attention of the Food and Beverage Manager so it will not happen again to any other guests.
2. We try to make sure our rooms are up to or exceed the guest's standard. I am sorry if you felt your room did not meet with your expectations. I don't know which room you are referring to.
3. Our Beach Bar is open from 11:30 am to 5:00 p.m daily. We did close the Beach Bar last Saturday for a private function. The General Manager did send out notices the night before advising of the early closure. I apologize if this notice did not get to you. We will make sure that in the future we not only give notice but will post signs of the early closure so that it is visible to all our guests.

We hope you come back to Harbour Island and give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    97
    39
    30
    22
See reviews for
85
187
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were at the Coral Sands for a one-night, two-day getaway from Nassau, and had an overall fantastic experience. Here were the high points for us: Champagne on arrival while we checked in, beautiful common areas – especially the Beach Bar and verandah where breakfast was served, the complimentary wifi in the rooms, the wooden umbrellas and drink/food service on the beach, friendly and helpful staff (especially at the front desk), and the most important thing for us – the location being right on the stunning pink sand beach.

As for the room, it was fine, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a large terrace with a view of the water. But it also felt small, outdated, and in need of some renovating– particularly the bathroom. A few weeks prior to our stay at Coral Sands, I stayed in a hotel in Washington D.C. that cost about 25% of the price of the room at Coral Sands, and it was much more contemporary and spacious. But at Coral Sands, what you’re really paying for is the location, which really can’t be beat. We wanted to be right on the pink sand beach, and that’s what we got. Because of that and the very friendly and helpful staff we met, we would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazines_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna541, Owner at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is very important to all the staff at Coral Sands to make sure that all guests leave feeling the way you did about Coral Sands and Harbour Island.

As to the rooms, I am suspecting you stayed at one of the rooms in the main building. We are in the planning stages of remodeling all the rooms in the main building during our yearly closure.

Please come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there early November, still low season. Hotel was not full, we got an upgrade to a beach view room. Room was quite spacious, the view from the balcony was extremely beautiful.

We ate dinner a couple of times. It tasted really nice and the presentation on the plates was bwautiful. However food was quite pricey. And what I don't understand at all is the huge size of the portions. We never managed 3 courses, because it was way too much food. Even 2 courses each sometimes was too much, as we are not heavy eaters. We would have preferred menue offers with smaller dishes, for us having a nice leisurely dinner during vacation is part of the enjoyment, but I guess the hotel caters mostly to American guests and they expect huge portions.

Maids, gardeners, beach attendants, reception were really friendly, but some of the waitstaff was not friendly at all, sometimes you got disregarded or they were quite rude.

A complementary breakfast was offered by the hotel, however I always got the Impression that they wanted to upsell, and when you stayed with the free breakfast again service was not satisfying, you had to ask for things, instead of being offered them.

But don't understand me wrong we really enjoyed our stay at Coral Sands hotel.

One tip: Pink Sands Hotel offers a great Sundowner at only 5 $ a drink, great value for money. And the view from the Beach bar is great, too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We absolutely love Harbour Island and know this island it is a special slice of heaven. We have been to the island twice, staying at two different resorts. This last visit we stayed at Coral Sands and LOVED the location of being on the beautiful pink sand beach. The lobby area, pool and beach bar are very nice and have the charm and elegance of what you would expect at this price level. Also, we found the food to be good. However, I will say we felt a bit cheated on the rooms. Yes, I understand that part of the charm of HI is the older style, but older style doesn't mean falling apart.
At the prices being charged there is no excuse for cheap furniture (dresser drawers that don't even close), lamps falling apart and an outdated, a cramped bathroom with hardly any water pressure in the shower and paint peeling off the ceiling. We paid almost $3000 for a week and felt like it was not a good enough value for the room. Coral Sands needs to consider that at that price there is a level of expectation they are not reaching. They would need to invest in the decor and do some updating for us to consider staying there again.

Room Tip: The beach cottages seemed to be the only options that were updated and very nice in decor. Of cours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyfromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna541, Owner at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We at Coral Sands do understand the expectations of our guests and we try to not only meet their expectations but to exceed them. We are very sorry that you have been disappointed.

We are continuously trying to improve the property and are planning major renovations of all of our rooms in the main building during our yearly closure this fall.

We invite you to come back to Coral Sands on your next visit.

Regards,
SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel was truly better than many of the high end resorts I've stayed and better than some with Michelin Stars.

Beautiful rooms,friendly and attentive staff, very well taken care of (rooms are up to date and offer every accommodation you would expect at a world classroom escort.)

Food is excellent and could be a reason in its own right to visit.

Tom's bar, named after the owner, breaks new boundaries with off menu islands drinks and a staff that exudes the festive cheer you expect while vacationing in the islands.

The have a beautifully appointed play room/ library with billiards couches, books and a flat screen tv where you can sneak away to watch football.

The pool is located to give you privacy and gorgeous views of the ocean at the same time.

My friends and I spent every day online sand beaches right in front of the hotel and swimming in some of the clearest turquoise water you might ever see on a beach.

My more energetic friends played tennis daily on beautiful courts.

A must visit hotel on a must visit island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna541, Owner at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We appreciate it and we hope you come back and visit very soon.

SS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a lovely time staying at Coral Sands. Service was amazing, rooms are beautiful, very nice people, played tennis, went kayaking, paddle boarding, golf carts. Great food for each meal and great drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncdermond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

St Barths and Harbor Island are my two favorite places on earth. Coral Sands gives me the experience I need to enjoy the beautiful pink sand at Harbor Island. Tennis in the morning followed by a nice swim. Fresh grouper on the largest terrace overlooking, the pink beach. Kayaking and paddle boarding in the afternoon all provided free by the hotel. Piña coladas at sundown and the FRESHEST stone crabs I have ever had( yes better thank Joes in Miami). Shooting pool enjoying the rum bar. Picked up a few books from the library for an evening read. Can it get any better tomorrow?

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jacklondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.2 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
253 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tingum Village Hotel
Tingum Village Hotel
#1 of 4 in Harbour Island
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Sands
Coral Sands Harbor Island
Coral Sands Hotel Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing