We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best week ends I have ever had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Sands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“One of the best week ends I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Coral Sands is located on a gorgeous beach one of the nicest i have ever been. The hotel is cozy with spacious room and great oceanfront views. The service is impeccable with extremely friendly staff. The food is exquisite the chef is really talented. A fitness center could have been a plus, but this was close to paradise

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikino61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luna541, Owner at Coral Sands Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We take great pride in the fact that we were able to make your trip " one of the best weekends ever".

We hope you return to Coral Sands in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    97
    39
    30
    22
See reviews for
84
186
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA, CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I had kept our destination a secret from my bride of 27 years, but when we first arrived she was in awe of the beauty of this place. We stayed in the Sandpiper cottage right on the pink sand beach. We looked at a number of other accommodations on the island and were so glad we chose the Coral Sands resort. The staff was Extremely Friendly and Helpful. The manager Pamela hooked us up with a private snorkel trip when Valentines Dive Shop was unable to. Remember the three key words: Location, Location, Location. The Coral Sands resort sits right in the middle of the Pink Sands beach with Good views in all their rooms and exceptional beachfront views in their cottages. Lunch at the Coral Sands Beach Bar, Sundeck Lounge was incredible. Some reviewers complain that their room was small or the food was expensive - Get over it !!! There are only a couple places in the world that have a pink sand beach - of course it is going to be expensive!!! We basically had the beach and resort to ourselves midweek because this was the low season. Water was warm and the wind was breezy, sometimes blowing really hard. Overall a Great experience. I can't wait to come back with friends and family. Certificate of Excellence 2013 says they earned it.

Room Tip: Get out of the little rooms and live large in one of the oceanfront cottages. You won't regret i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We got married at the Coral Sands property on Harbour Island in May 2013.

Planning a destination wedding from California made me anxious, but our wedding planner at The Coral Sands, Silma, was FANTASTIC and made us feel at ease. The island is a very special place and will remain a favorite holiday location for me, my family and our 60 guests who traveled there for our wedding. Our friends are already planning their next trip back! The island is tiny (3 miles long & 1/2 mile wide) and renting a golf cart is essential if you plan to explore. The sand really is pink and is the most beautiful beach you will ever see. We were very lucky on the day of our wedding with the weather -- no rain and no wind so we were able to have wish lanterns on the beach after our dinner/reception.

Silma and Pam were an absolute delight to work with and made sure that ANYTHING we needed was handled quickly. Our florist put the wrongs flowers together for bouquets and Silma stayed up all night re-working the bouquets and they were perfect the next day! Our photographer, Donna, worked with my brother, who also photographed our wedding, and the pictures turned out beautifully!

A few of out other favorite places on the island are:
Coral Sands (beach wedding & reception on the bar patio)
Acquapazza (rehearsal dinner -- Freddy is the best!)
Romora Bay (best goombay smash on the island)
Queen Conch (great lunch spot)
Piggly Wiggley (grocery store & homemade coconut pie bread)
Gusty's Bar (sand bar)
The Landing (nice dinner restaurant)

My only regret from our wedding is that we didn't stay on Harbour Island LONGER. It is truly heavenly and the staff at The Coral Sands was absolutely wonderful. Looking forward to going back soon!

N+ K

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach front cottage. It's the best place to stay, especially during a wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamic, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I went for our honeymoon. Our room was tiny despite the very high price tag. The staff was fairly nice, and food and drink were good, but insanely expensive. We spent $200 on every meal without even trying. We went at the end of March so the water was not that warm and not very calm. The reef is quite a ways out there and was a bit difficult to swim to. Overall, we were disappointed by the Bahamas. We are from the West Coast of the U.S. and we are used to open space, clean environment, and breathtaking beauty. The Bahamas was dirty and insanely expensive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tarzians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a great getaway. The accommodations were so comfortable and clean. We indulged everyday in all the delicious food!! Our family had an amazing time and the kids enjoyed the beach!! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJRich177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Spent 8 days at the Coral Sands. We rented the Sea Oats Cottage. Magnificent beaches. The most friendly people I have ever met. No matter where we went, we felt safe. Island is wonderful. This is an expensive vacation. So if you are on a tight budget, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a vacation you will remember for the rest of your life, then book a stay at Coral Sands, rent a golf cart and explore the island. Good food, great beaches, wonderful people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at coral sands with our two teenagers (16 and 19) And we all really enjoyed it. It was extremely relaxing and the beach was beautiful. Our room was quite nice too, but nothing amazing.
The restaurant does really good food!
It rained a couple of times because of the rainy season but all in all the weather was great!
It was really enjoyable sunbathing on that beach. The water was very clean and clear too!
The staff was ok but not extremely friendly.
Would definitely go back, it's just a bit of a hassle getting there from switzerland.
Don't know if I would recommend it to people with kids, not because of the resort itself but because of the whole island. There is pretty much nothing to do but relax on the beach! Might get a bit boring for children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.4 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Landing
The Landing
#7 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Hotel

Property: Coral Sands Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Harbour Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Sands
Coral Sands Harbor Island
Coral Sands Hotel Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing