We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amelia B is right - this place needs to step off it's pious ledge and feel the real world”
Review of The Landing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Landing
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Reviewed May 30, 2013

For years I have dreamed of coming to this place. Made famous by Vogue, India Hicks, her life and family steeped in the modern history of this island and this house. The fabulous intimate parties in the courtyard and bar and the warm breeze of the islands and it's magic scent.

From this viewpoint The Landing was a huge disappointment, apart from Tina (yes she was gracious, friendly and super accommodating) but the room we were given was above the restaurant - not only super noisy and hot and next to the public gentleman's toilet but caused our warm water to run out before a shower after the an afternoon at the beach.

The prices in the hotel restaurant were excessively high and trying to find an alternative was hard on short notice and a Friday night. However we decided to return to the hotel bar for a drink and cheese plate. The hotel staff were as Amelia put it "surly" and seemed almost annoyed we were there. Could not pack up soon enough and get us out of there. We were told by 11 pm it was all over, no sipping rum with the locals or even out of towners, it was out of here now. At least the restaurant was well and truly shut by this time and sleep was assured. The beds and sheets were top notch, the towels worn and not "fluffy". Of course not able to have a shower meant that element was needed as much. The beach - a pleasant walk was superb and a delightful if not expensive lunch at Sip Sip was worth the flight, the water taxi and the cost of one night at The Landing. The islanders were super friendly - what's wrong with the staff at The Landing? At these prices they should get a good wage and maybe a share in the profits??? heaven forbid.
Harbour Island was wonderful in its Colonial Houses and beaches and islander charm but the influx of J crew / Brooks Bros clad New Englanders was not really our style.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for The Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 124 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Regarding Amelia B's comments ..
[I was at the Landing the same time she was there.]
There is NO fee for wifi.
Breakfast is bountiful and fresh, and a comparable bfast anywhere on the island is around that price.
The Landing does not rent golf carts so "Amelia B" would have had to rent it off property - that has nothing to do with the Landing. In addition, the island is small, so "Amelia B" could have walked around, or rented a bike.
The Landing staff have worked there for many years and get high compliments (including letters to the owner) from most everyone who stays there. They are professional and courteous.
The Landing does not claim to have "service" to the rooms. In fact they do not claim to be anything they are not.
I believe "Amelia B" arrived after some travel challenges in getting to Harbour Island and decided to take out her frustration on the
Landing.
How very unfortunate that someone could purposefully state things that are not true.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cooklah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

In center of things but that means it can be noisy. Nice ambiance in keeping with flavor of the island but needs some updating. Staff friendly but often hard to find and you are charged for service. Beautiful beach but 15 minute walk away. Town delightful to explore.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Hibiscus. Noisy and damp. Away from main house more quiet. More expensive rooms la...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jantrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a two star Bahamian guest house with no service and exorbitant prices for everything. Wifi in rooms 25 dollars a day . Tea 10 dollars a cup if you can get it. Breakfast 25 dollars. 15 minute walk to beach. Golf card 60 dollars a day a must. Surly staff with the exception of Tina who was charming. Management nonexistent Reception staff unhelpful. Food average very small servings no lunch and totally closed down on Wednesday all day. 85 dollar late check out charge..
We won't be going back and feel any guest house advertising as a hotel should clearly state at booking that the room rates are plus 24%. 500 dollar rooms with no service. 650 a day with breakfast and dinner. This is 5 star New York prices for 2 star guest house.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend this place. Avoid main house. Very noisy. Curtains are unlined and light...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have travelled quite a bit in my lifetime, but The Landing is my all-time favorite place.
Tina and her staff are exceptional! It really is such a treat to have such friendly and kind professionals running this hotel!

The food at the Hotel is the best on the Island! Both breakfast and dinner are marvellous!

The laid-back vibe here is the perfect mix of attentiveness and privacy! The interiors of the Hotel, as well as the rooms, are done by the incomparable India Hicks.They are magnificent! Colonial, yet with an edge.

I could not have asked for a more perfect stay, go as soon as you can, you will not be dissappointed!

Room Tip: The Attic is my favorite!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Landing is a beautiful hotel, the furnishings are excellent and hark back to an earlier era of colonial days. The bar area is extremely atmospheric and the food is simply excellent!

The only downside was the loud guitar playing that interrupted the peace - when we complained, we were told that this was the owner's husband and that he couldn't be asked to stop!

The island is very expensive but a wonderful place to go.

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms in the main house if you want peace and quiet as the restaurant and bar were...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruby_travels_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A relaxed at home atmosphere and considerate staff. Came to our aid with a hot toddy when my wife had a fever...no charge, hope she feels better~ was the greeting. Delicious breakfast. Cosy bed. Daughter age 6 loved the pool. Unfussy and will be back.

Stayed: December 2012
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harbour Island
0.4 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
289 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Cove Eleuthera
The Cove Eleuthera
#1 of 1 in Gregory Town
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing

Address: Bay Street | P.O. Box 190, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Harbour Island
Price Range: $209 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landing Hotel Harbour Island
Landing Harbor Island
Landing Hotel Harbor Island
The Landing Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing