We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real Bahamas....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tingum Village Hotel
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“The real Bahamas....”
Reviewed January 7, 2008

I just spent a week in Harbour Island staying at Tingum Village Hotel. I was one of a party of nine: two sets of parents, four children and one grandparent. We rented the cottage and a room. Overall, our stay was delightful and a real bargain, especially given that it was high season.

As other reviewers have emphasized, the place is a local institution, run by the welcoming, capable Juanita, daughter of Ma Ruby (the owner).

The location is excellent - a short walk from downtown in the the midst of a tropical grove that provides nice shade and a lovely setting, and less than a five minute walk from the famed pink sands beach.

There is also a nice bar and restaurant, and we agreed that the cheeseburgers were as good as advertised. We also loved the fish, rice & peas.

The facilities are basic- this is simple, low key living, not a resort. The furnishings are a bit dated and the plumbing is a challenge -- the water pressure was mediocre, at best, and hot water was only intermitently available. That said, it was a comfortable place, and we successfully prepared several lively and lovely family meals, including excellent fresh tuna from the fish market across from the main boat dock.

In short, if you are not too picky about your amenities, Tingum Village offers wonderful hospitality and a memorable stay.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — the plumbing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

I cannot believe the other reviews. Our experience was TERRIBLE. The room was dirty, lots of hairs in the bathtub, no water pressure, AND the owner organized a wedding in front of our room which was filled with unbearable noise all day long (actually you could hear the music all over the island). Ma Ruby was very rude too.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDZ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

Do you want relaxation and something different than the ordinary plastic-wrapped, hypersanitized, same-as everywhere-else visit. Then let Ma Ruby set you up for some fish stew and johnnycakes. Fish for breakfast? I didn't believe it would be good but boy was I in for a shock. Those Bahamians know how to make a filling healthy meal. Of course it takes really fresh grouper, sweet, coconut johnny cakes, grits and Ma Ruby's love. This nook is paradise!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank azkoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2007

More than a dozen stays in more than a dozen years at Tingum Village! My husband, our daughters and many friends have enjoyed the hospitality of all the Percenties. We no longer feel like guests...it's more like a family reunion. The property is tropical, well kept and quiet. The rooms are spacious and clean. If you need anything...just ask...Juanita will make it happen. Staying at one of the resorts? Stop by for breakfast, lunch or dinner...you won't be disappointed...I guarantee...You will come again. Jack & Stacy, Bradenton, FL.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ILBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2003

We had a great time with Ma Ruby. Her Inn -not really anything larger than that- was very clean, and the hospitality was great.

Helpful?
2 Thank haircut11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2003

Almost five years ago my husband and I celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at Ma Ruby's on Harbour Island. Just tonight, I told my husband I thought it was the best VACATION we ever had. No phone, no TV in the room, no newspapers, just peace and quiet. The only noise was from a gorgeous rooster who came into the yard at dawn. We had a comfortable room in a cottage at the back of the property. There was a hammock strung outside for our use. We could walk to the same pink sand beach that the people in the expensive resorts were paying a LOT more for. In the morning we strolled up front for an outdoor breakfast, and in the evening enjoyed a delicious dinner of real Bahamian food. The owner and her daughter were delightful and very helpful as we toured the town and became acquainted with the people who lived there. The Cheesburger from Paradise was indeed that, and Ma Ruby's cottages and restaurant were paradise enough.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2003

Our very first visit to Harbour Island. Tingum Village was perfect for us..our room was large, well appointed and, as well, a large jacuzzi tub - the hospitality shown by Ma Ruby, Juanita and JJ was unbelievable. This is a very well-run family hotel and all the special touches are there for you (without every asking). They all truly want you to enjoy the Bahamian Life and are very responsive to all of your questions. Understanding a little more about politics; cheeseburgers; and disco-dancing with JJ makes it the most memorable holiday we have ever had. Golf carts are available for your use and directions and suggestions are provided by all. Mike was a superb cook (of course under MaRuby's watchful eye); Juanita knows everything about basketball and politics (a delight to meet); and JJ (our Joseph) was always poshly dressed, eager to be the best host ever and "oh that smile" we love ya "child" -- Ma Ruby made us feel wonderful with "Welcome Home Baby" -- We definitely will be back - thanks for everything Edna & Chelsea MacKenzie

Helpful?
13 Thank MacKenzieD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harbour Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#4 of 9 in Harbour Island
418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pink Sands Resort
Pink Sands Resort
#5 of 9 in Harbour Island
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
Romora Bay Resort & Marina
#8 of 9 in Harbour Island
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valentines Resort and Marina
Valentines Resort and Marina
#2 of 9 in Harbour Island
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel
Royal Palm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunmore Town
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tingum Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tingum Village Hotel

Property: Tingum Village Hotel
Address: Colebrook St. | P.O. Box 61, Harbour Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Harbour Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harbour Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tingum Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of lush garden and steps away from the Pink Sandy Beaches of historic Dunmore Town Harbour Island, Bahamas, is an hidden village that can only be best described as a 'Tropical Paradise" called Tingum Village Hotel. A family owed operated Bare foot elegance offers a one, two or three bed room bungalow. Owned and operated by the Percentie Family lead by legendary Ruby Hanna Percentie, MBE. "Ma Ruby" greets you with her welcoming smile and says "Welcome Home". Tingum Village Hotel offers and open honor bar as your second home. Perfect for the traveler looking for a long term rentals, reading/writing in our swinging hammocks. Backpackers or families who are looking for an authentic Island experience. A Honey monomer's hide out. Ma Ruby's Restaurant has signature Jimmy Buffet " Cheeseburger in Paradise" and serves organic vegetarian and native dishes daily. Your catch of the day can be prepared at for your liking at sunset. Operated by Juanita Ma Ruby's daughter and friendly staff has listened to customers concerns and request and have captured the true essence of an authentic Bahamian experience and renovated in 2013. Tingum Village Hotel is located 50 miles from Florida and 15 minutes away from the capital Nassau, Bahamas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Tingum Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tingum Village Hotel Bahamas/Harbour Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing