We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise by the skylight!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Round House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Round House Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise by the skylight!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful inn! We loved every moment of it, the location was awesome!!! The ocean sound was beautiful any time of day or night! At night we opened the louvers and what a sound to fall asleep too. The view is gorgeous and mesmerizing! The beach is not for swimming but if your lucky enough to find a little swimming hole go for it!!! Actually, down on the beach to the right around the big rocks are some lovely pools to sit and wade just be careful and cautious of the pounding surf! Do not go beyond the pools it is dangerous!!! This inn was a true Bajan experience, room 3 was lovely, the skylight lightly gently lit our room at night! No air condition but the ocean breeze is constant and cools the room. We shall return to this lovely inn again! Try the bruschetta in the restaurant very nice!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peiflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Round House is a truly special place. I've been dining here each time I've been to Barbados for many years...and finally decided to spend a night here this past February - was definitely a wise decision. I'd recommend staying in Room 4 if available - the privacy, view and peacefulness of the setting are definitely best enjoyed at the summit. The staff members are great and very gracious - I highly recommend Round House to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnpatrickday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I have been here more than once and will stay here every time I go back to Barbados! As someone else said on here "It feels like home!", it's a family run business and they treat you like family! Everyone who works there are very polite and friendly.
Round House has the best views, with a one minute walk to the beach, and if I may say so, one of the best beaches in the world!! If you are a surfer, the famous Soup Bowl is right there, and is always filled with great locals from Bathsheba.
The building is older, but has a very artistic feel, and lots of character, which is great for travelers who like some history behind there vacation. The rooms are great, exactly what you need and always clean! If your looking for somewhere unique, this is the place to be! There is a restaurant which serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily with amazing fresh, local food!
All I have to say is you have to experience Round House and beautiful Bathsheba! I already booked my next trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for a few days in February, and enjoyed the character of the Roundhouse. The location is breathtaking, and the staff all worked very hard, both in the hotel and in the busy bar/restaurant. Although it is an older building and subject to the weathering caused by the endless sea breezes (which we found to be wonderful) our room was spotless on arrival, and was cleaned/refreshed every two days, which was plenty for our needs.The management readily answered any questions we had about the area, and was helpful in arranging transportation. The restaurant was very good, and the beach offered lots of opportunity for exploring. A great value for Barbados.

Room Tip: The budget rooms are on the small side. Room 4 is spacious with spectacular panoramic views and a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squallyreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you wanna surf the Soupbowl and stay in a nice place with a good price, RoundHouse is the place to go. From everywhere in the House you can watch the break and have a great view of Bathsheba (speacially room 4), one of the most beautiful places in the island. The people from there have a good vibe and are really friendly as well, helping to have a more local experience. The restaurant is great also and, if you are travelling in a budget, there's also some good choices to find cheaper food along the main street. Spent good times there, recommend it for sure.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Once again, I have spent a week In Barbados at the Round House. You can go nowhere else in Bathsheba and find such wonderful staff and surroundings. It always feels like home when I am there!! I can walk down stairs and have breakfast, lunch & dinner for 7 days and enjoy somthing differant each day. The dessert each night tops the day. Wish I could live there year round

Room Tip: Room 3 allows for wonderful ocean breeze with no need for air condictioning. The outside deck off t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Room was dirty with towels that have seen better days. Roof window was leaking to our beds when it was raining. Old dirty Barbados brochures. Dirt and hair everywhere. Rooms look nice on website and they are nice, but seemed like we had a room that had not been cleaned properly for ages!! Restaurant was good and we enjoyed their food. Do not expect too much from the breakfast that is included the price. Its just slices of toast with butter and jam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nadlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
8.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
10.5 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
11.2 mi away
Silver Point Hotel
Silver Point Hotel
#1 of 1 in Silver Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.7 mi away
Sea-U Guest House
Sea-U Guest House
#2 of 3 in Bathsheba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Round House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round House Inn

Property: Round House Inn
Address: Highway Z, Bathsheba, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Round House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the ruggedly beautiful Bathsheba beach on the untouched East Coast of Barbados, this hidden retreat is a must for those seeking surf and relaxation a little off the beaten path.Located in historic Bathsheba on the rugged east coast of Barbados, Round House has been a popular destination for locals and visitors alike for over 100 years. Built in the early 1800’s, the property offers commanding views of the entire Atlantic coast, a unique scenic environment and an undisturbed stretch of beach studded with natural tidal pools located just a one-minute walk down the sand to "Soup Bowl", one of the world's premier surf spots.Round House houses a historic inn featuring four architecturally-unique rooms with unparalleled views, and a bustling restaurant and bar serving Continental Caribbean cuisine with indoor and outdoor seating and some of the best views on the island. With its unique history, great food, friendly people and mellow vibe, Round House is a locals' favourite year-round and the spot frequent travelers to the island return to again and again to be greeted like old friends... with its unique hilltop perch providing a breathtaking panorama of Bathsheba and its pounding surf, it is also a “must-do” part of every first-time visitor's Barbados experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Round House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round House Inn Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing