We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
254
104
16
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
104
16
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseother guestshonesty barthe east coastget awaya lovely stayopen airair conditioningexplore the islandceiling fansoup bowlanimal flower cavesound of the wavesatlantis hotelbreakfast and dinnerthe atlantic oceanself catering
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 386 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary in Barbados because old friends live there and love it. We wanted sea, but not crowds. So the east coast was the answer - but a car is necessary, if you want to see the rest of the island, especially the bright lights. And if you want to swim safely in the sea.

We liked the efficient informality of Sea-U and its staff, their helpfulness and friendliness, the beauty of the site, the kitchen facilities in our room, and the hammocks swinging over the waves. I loved morning hikes for miles along the nearby, empty Cattlewash beach.

Barbados at its best.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We have only been back one week and already we are planning our next trip back. We got married in Barbados and stayed at the Sea-U as a honeymoon. Uschi and the staff's hospitality was incredible. We looked forward to the family style dinners and relaxing breakfasts. There is plenty to do on the island, but it is great to be at the Sea U away from it all. There are so many great places to walk nearby... the tide pools especially. The hammocks on the grounds and Adirondack chairs are perfect for reading and relaxing. The sound of the water and the breezes at night are incredible. We loved our yoga classes upstairs on the Veranda! To everyone at the Sea U--THANK YOU! Robyn and Greg Trout

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank robynBeachwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Sea-U In a nutshell

Positives:

- Beautiful property

- Lovely staff [esp. in the kitchen and Seacat (sp?)]

- Great dinners at the comfort of your home away from home

- Comfortable rooms (although they could have used a hot pot, better mattress and a couple extra bars of soap - we had to buy our own as we were unsure if they would restock them)

- Great cats (Ginger is a doll and Tiger is a good friend once he warms up to you)

- Great location; even though it is on the east coast, once you figure out the roads, it is only a half hour to forty minute drive to the beaches on the west and south coasts; Bathsheba has beautiful beaches of its own and a couple of tasty restaurants right down the hill (Sea Side Bar and Dina's are both excellent -- although the Sea Side is half the price); Andromeda Gardens, a absolutely gorgeous botanical garden, is within walking distance; St. Nicolas Abbey isn't too far by car.

- Relaxing atmosphere (hammocks, lounge chairs and soft grass all make excellent places to slow things down). The veranda connecting rooms 1-4 is an idyllic place to listen to the Bathsheba waves and night crickets or to meet and socialize with your neighbors.

- Sea-U facilitated the reservation of a chartered catamaran for 2 with Rubayat (the captain is the brother of Dina, the owner of Dina's Diner right down the road in Bathsheba).

- Also through Sea-U, guests can arrange individual or couple yoga sessions. The instructor is a friend of Uschi's and is flexible with her scheduling.

- Accessibility to snacks and drinks. The Sea-U has a mini bar/kitchen where guests can help themselves to local beer (Banks, yum), wine, rum, chips, and peanuts. Guests are asked to write down items they take in a dated book; the tab will be presented upon check-out. Prices are fair but, to save money, all items can be found cheaper in local supermarkets. However, one can never put a price on convenience!

Negatives:

- Uschi (the owner) seemed to be preoccupied and hurried during our stay (this could have been because this was her holiday period as well). We had to sort of pin her down on our third day to get some questions answered. Please note, as mentioned above, the staff was quite friendly and helpful. We just felt that it would have been nice had the owner paid a little bit more attention to her guests, especially to help us get settled in.

- The taxi rides arranged by Sea-U are extremely expensive ($38 American each way plus tip). Yet, I do not regret paying for the convenience of knowing that everything is taken care of when I arrive at the airport. If you rent a car for the duration of your trip, it may be best to arrange to leave the car at the airport on your way out of Barbados.

Overall, Sea-U is a very nice place to stay for the price. I would recommend it to most everyone but just keep in mind that after you arrive, you are pretty much on your own. Also, be sure to hand with Seacat. He is a great host and definitely helped give the Sea-U a great vibe.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank oldbizmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We spent the first 2 nights of our 10 day vacation at Sea-U as we were looking to escape to quiet, tranquil spot to enjoy the sun and surf in Barbados. I was traveling with my wife and 4 year old daughter. We stayed in a studio room on the first floor of the main guest house. The accomodations were sparse but entirely suitable to what we were expecting. Uschi was fantastic during the booking process, even altering the room to put in a single bed for our daughter. She met us upon arrival and escorted us to our room. The grounds are magnifcient with hammocks everywhere and an outstanding view of the seaside landscape and the Atlantic Ocean. We dined the first night next door at Atlantis. It was extremely quiet (we were the only table) but the food was excellent and the price was reasonable.

Sea-U is very isolated so dining can be difficult. There are other places around but most are a fairly long walk to the other side of the bay. This was somewhat difficult for us with a young child. I would suggest bring a few food items to keep in the room for snacks, light meals, etc. We dined Sea-U's restaurant one night. I echo the sentiments of previous reviewers in that it was somewhat expensive for the meal served. My daughter was also charged almost the full adult rate despite only eating a small amount.

Swimming int the area is not recommended but when the tide is out there are many small pools of water trapped between the coral which make for nice lounging pools and great discovery areas for kids.

Overall Sea-U met our expectations and delivered a quiet, serene location to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BajanCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Having stayed in Barbados several times, I had seen the photos on the websites and thought this would be a change from the glitzy 5* hotels on the west coast.

The fact that it rained almost every day did not help, but the welcome drink on arrival was help yourself from a fridge behind the open dining room.

Breakfast was a case of first up best fed - one morning the cereal ran out and I asked if I could have an egg instead. When we got the bill we were charged £2 for the egg! Another morning the bread ran out after asking if we could have some more was told they would have to go upstairs, which apparently meant from the fridge as when it arrived it was frozen.

One night electricity went out and the battery in the lamp in our room was flat so we were in total darkness.
We did not find the owner particularly welcoming or hospitable and infact left earlier due to an emergency at home. 5 days was quite long enough.

The balcony overlooking the sea was very pleasant, however, the accommodation is very basis to the point of one plug between the bath and the hand basin and very small bath towels.

We felt it was overpriced for what was on offer and definitely would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Wander802781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews