We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely friendly guest-house”
Review of Sea-U Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea-U Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We took this place to our hearts. The rooms are really nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean. We stayed in Owners Suite 2 for 5 nights, which was superb and spent our last night here in one of the lovely cosy cottage rooms. Both rooms had kitchen facilities which is very useful if you are on a budget, as Barbados is pretty expensive. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet style and taken in an attractive open covered gazebo. If you like sharing breakfast with other guests there is a communal table, but for those who prefer to keep themselves to themselves there are also plenty of smaller tables. We met some fantastic people over the banana bread, eggs, juice and pineapple - Brits, Americans, Canadians, Germans, Swiss and Brazilians.
There is no pool at the guest house, but a really nice garden with loungers and hammocks to relax in if you don't want to venture far.
Being on the east coast it can be a bit windy at night and the tides around Bathsheba can be dangerous, so be aware of that before booking. Bathsheba is small and as such there are limited nightlife options. The Sea-U does offer a communal dinner for a great price and this can be recommended as a nice low hassle option. Seacat often dishes out sundowner coconut drinks which is fun.
To explore the island you really need a car if you are staying at the Sea-U. Arranging this was very easy though through reception. You need to arm yourself with a good internal sense of direction though (esp. at night if you plan to dine or party elsewhere) as the roads are not well signposted on the island. You either find this part of the fun or it will bug you. A week in we were knew which markers to look out for to navigate the roads easily.
Overall, this is a great spot if you want a less glitzy Bajan experience than the west coast offers without compromising on standards of cleanliness, comfort and esp. if you really value hosts that are genuine, warm and strike a perfect balance between helpful and unobtrusive. Top marks for everyone that works at the Sea-U - they made our holiday outstanding.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamHamilton08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 363 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

Only stayed 4 nights but every day and night was great. Didn't need air conditioning or bug spray. Our dinner at See -u was great and plentiful. Lots to see and do if you care to or just chill out. Suggestion -- rent a car for exploring and get back before dark or add plenty of time for your return trip if after dark.
Staff couldn't be better also.

Thanks
Mike & Denise from NJ

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishing1Lambertville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was our third stay at Sea U and we just returned refreshed and well rested. We love this part of Barbados for its unspoiled beauty and wild and rugged coast line. SeaU suits us perfectly as we don't like the "cookie-cutter" resorts and hordes of people. This is a unique place with only a few rooms and a guest house atmoshere. We always meet wonderful fellow guests from all over the world (many of them there for surfing) and enjoy the communal dinners at night. The rooms are clean, functional and tastefully decorated in Bayan style. We love the ocean breezes through the loovered doors at night and the sound of waves crashing... Heaven! Sitting on the porch of the Main Housse, one has wonderful views of the gardens with the Atlantic Ocean shimmering turquoise in the background. Dinners are delicious, varied and typical Bayan cuisine as well. There are a few restaurants in the little town to choose from, but most are expensive for what they offer. We liked lunch at the Seaside Bar down the hill. Swimming in the tidal (!!!) pools is great (one needs to time the swimming to actually see the pools at lower tide) and walking along the beach relaxing. The staff at SeaU is wonderful! Sea Cat chops offers coconut milk right from the trees (with straw), patiently explains the local culture and is apparently also leading hikes to another nearby beach which we will try to do next year. Andrea, Stacia and all others are always very friendly and helpful in booking trips (we took the catamaran sailing trip and loved it!) and giving local information. We didn't rent a car this year and found the local busses to Speightstown and Bridgetown very convenient and fun! We will hopefully be back again next year!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eastcosttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This is our 9th visit to Sea U so I guess you might say we like it. Over the years we have never had a bad experience, the staff are warm and friendly, the food (they only serve breakfast and dinner) is excellent value for money and typical Bajan cuisine, the rooms are comfortable but most of all you are not only in the most beautiful, peaceful, undeveloped part of Barbados but in such a great location on the cliff, overlooking the ocean, cool breezes, and luscious vegetation. If you want a typical North American Holiday Inn type place (Yuk), this is not for you and you should head for the Platinum West Coast where you will pay tons of money for not a a lot. We'll be back again in 2012 for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisL799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Good: clean, monkeys roaming, fresh air from trade breeze, quiet, beach is stunning
Bad: 5 min walk up sttep hill to beach, no restraunts or stores worth mentioning, paid $80 American for lunch and a few and a few drinks with lousy service but good food. Cant swim there, beach was closed entire time due to heavy currents/choppy. Even surfers not allowed and waited for conditions to improve for 4 days.
Worst: BED WAS HORRIBLE. NOT A MATTRESS! LITERALLY A PIECE OF FOAM. Both are backs were sore. No alarm cloks, had to get up to catch a flight and was given a cleaning ladys cell phone to use as an alarm.
Roundhouse is a better resort. Nicer views and more interesting.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommysurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed for a week and had an amazing time. From the beautiful rooms to the ocean view, to the hospitality everything was perfect! We were able to meet their resident monkeys, and enjoy the beautiful east coast, much less developed than other areas in Barbados. The building and rooms were beautiful with authentic Caribbean architecture and style. This was a great take off point to visit the rest of the island, and we met and bonded with fellow travelers in the shared breakfast patio overlooking the ocean.
The staff were amazing, exceptionally accommodating and helpful and informed about the area. We were within walking distance from the beach, and enjoyed many swims in the shaded pools. Towels and sarongs were also graciously provided by Sea-U. The food was gourmet quality, and we enjoyed eating outside on their patio with other guests. We thank the whole team for an amazing experience including the resident greeting cats!
We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaghel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We just returned from Sea U Guest House. My husband and I took my parents for a long weekend. We rented Owner Suite 1 and 2, which was perfect for us . We like the old fashion Caribbean vibe and Sea U delivers. Service is outstanding and the rooms are very clean and tasteful. We rented a car, which I recommend if you want to go other places. We felt that Sea U was an excellent value and had a wonderful and very serene time. All four of us hope to return to Sea U.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninadavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
10.6 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
340 reviews
10.6 mi away
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
Little Arches Boutique Hotel
#1 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
778 reviews
8.9 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,079 reviews
10.6 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
10.6 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-U Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-U Guest House

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range: $99 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea-U Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic and affordable bed & breakfast at the lush east coast. Sea-U is tucked within a lush tropical garden along the seaside slopes of the village of Bathsheba on the east coast of Barbados, the most natural side of the island. Here you can enjoy unspoiled beaches, breathtaking views and mingle with locals. Uschi Wetzels, owner and manager and fell in love with Bathsheba and its friendly people, while working on a Barbados travel guide for a German editor. With hammocks strung between coconut palms, the Atlantic Ocean waves breaking against massive limestone boulders. Sea-U is a place for those who are looking for a decidedly significant change of pace from a busy life. The main house and the cottage are built in a traditional island style out of wood with large patios. The 10 rooms and apartments are decorated with mahogany furniture, louver window treatments, rattan chairs, locally handcrafted clay lamps and batik art. Sea-U's welcoming staff provides knowledgeable information. The atmosphere is relaxed, and guests quickly become friends. Green Globe certified, close to Andromeda Botanical Gardens and world class surfing at Soup Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea-U Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea-u Guest House Hotel Bathsheba
Sea-U Guest House Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing