We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful garden”

Andromeda Botanic Gardens
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Bathsheba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A wonderful collection of plants with a relaxing pond at the heart of these historic gardens. Journey through these gardens at your leisure and marvel at the vision of its creator, the multi-award winning Iris Bannochie. A plant-lovers' paradise and a unique place to visit, get married, picnic or hire for you own special event. Andromeda Botanic Gardens - sustainable, beautiful, unforgettable.
Herrenberg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved the Andromeda Botanic Gardens very much. It is a quite garden where you can see that the people who opened it to the public love nature.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    135
    32
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must for any plant lovers”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife & I visited these gardens on a recent trip to Barbados.
The gadens are amazing & well worth the 25B$ entrance charge.
There is a cool snack bar in which we sat drinking our ice cool fruit juices.
There are good paths but some are quite steep so you need good legs.
One of the highlights of our holiday.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well-designed with outstanding plantings”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was a warm day at noon so I walked fast through this gorgeous Garden. Their are two tracks one with lettered sites and one with numbered sites. In all it should take about two hours to see both at a moderate walking speed. The terrain is hilly and rocky but the paths are cleared. For the most part, the presentation is of mature plants native to Barbados from trees to ground cover. Many plants were flowering so the image was colorful and the air fragrant. Andromeda is a wonderful old establishment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lnois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Paradise on the hill - what a lovely couple of hours”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I must start by countering some disappointingly negative reviews we read prior to visiting andromeda!

Justifiably we are keen gardeners in our native England and appreciate the splendour of the achievements within this attraction maybepre than non-gardeners. Furthermore, without a GPS the drive to the gardens may have been somewhat trying!! Nevertheless, we saved on the marital driving directions arguments (and stress) by using a GPS to get to andromeda and other east coast attractions.

The souvenir shop lady was very enthusiastic and warm in her introduction and provided the tour cards which were handy to describe the feature plants, shrubs and trees as well as keep us on track with the John and Iris paths - both clearly marked for our enjoyment.

Whilst in our 30's and fit; my wife and I did find the humidity rather intense so do consider this when visiting and pace yourself on some of the steep elements - take time to enjoy the gardens as it can be very warm to navigate.

One pleasant aspect was seeing a gardener providing some in depth info to some fellow American visitors as hoc.

Finally, the souvenir shop is te best quality we've found on the island during our three weeks.

Ensure you schedule a spare thirty mins to absorb the dramatic scape of Bathsheba beach it's immense.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had a wonderful visit here this week, the staff were helpful and it is divided into 2 walks and we stopped for a needed drink inbetween. Some amazing plants and trees - well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ace246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andromeda Botanic Gardens also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Andromeda Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing