We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wild side of Barbados.”
Review of Bathsheba Beach

Bathsheba Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.00*
and up
Half Day Barbados Tour: Harrison's Cave, Hunte's Gardens and Bathsheba
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Taste of Barbados Full-Day Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Barbados Sightseeing Tour: Harrison's Cave, Bathsheba and Welchman Hall Gully
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bathsheba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach offers spectacular views of the island, but watch out if you want to go swimming - strong undercurrents can make swimming here dangerous.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing wild side of Barbados.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved the wildness, greener, bigger palms, bigger views and vistas. Rockpools, look for the ones tucked away in shade, full of local kids - good for a day long session. Others in full sun will cook your kids.
Tricky part, as ever, is navigation. Windows / Nokia navigation does not work. Google maps probably does - use it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ToonNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    352
    74
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Made a welcome change to the west and south coast, but unless you are into surfing you do t need to be there for longer than an hour. Watch out for the local street traders they will give you samples and then charge!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bring a picnic lunch and hire a driver.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This trip was combined with Harrison's cave. We were told that not many taxis would be around at Bathsheba (my original plan was to just hail a taxi when needed). Solid advice. We found a driver "the doc" that we liked and he offered to take us to harrisons and Bathsheba for the morning and wait outside these places for a set amount. Totally worth it. We were able to see the countryside and hear the history. When I am on vacation I like to be the passenger and take it all in. Bathsheba is an interesting location with plenty of unique rock formations. We packed a light picnic and by the time we arrived the kids were hungry. Bring some sand toys or even a kite since it can be pretty windy there. If your kids are eight and up I am sure they will enjoy walking further along the rocky shore and discovering little sections on the beach. If you are travelling with kids younger than 3 I think this may not be the best beach for you. For the life of me I can't remember if it is legal to drink on the beach. If it is bring a few beers and watch the waves roll in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank doctorwho2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,289 reviews
709 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,268 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited Barbados as part of a cruise and stopped here on our island tour. It's beautiful! The views are stunning. Walking along the beach is interesting looking at the rock formations and the strong waves and surfers. You can't swim here but it's enjoyable to walk around and take in the scenery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

What can really be said about this place other than it's one of the most beautiful places in the Caribbean. The view from the Round House Restaurant is particularly spectacular, plus their food isn't bad either. Swimming is tougher on this side of the island due to currents and rocks, but I saw several surfers who didn't seem to have problems. A must see in Barbados.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bathsheba Beach also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Bathsheba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing