We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, decent food inconsistent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, decent food inconsistent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed for one night with my partner as a romantic last night in Barbados. The Atlantis is a lovely hotel and our room was absolutely beautiful. The staff, however, are rather odd even by Bajan standards.

On arrival, we were told to sit in the 'lounge' (a sofa in reception) and to remain there whilst our bags were taken to our room. After about 15 minutes, we were then allowed to see our room and given a cursory and disinterested tour. There was an Apple TV machine in the room, but no-one told us how to turn it on or use it. There were no instructions in the book in the room.

After an afternoon stroll, and having developed a hunger, we returned and asked if bar snacks were available. The answer was 'no'. No other words, just no. Again, room service appears to be unavailable, so we starved for a few hours.

Our dinner, which was very good, was quite a pleasant experience although we found that we had to get up and walk to the bar to get drinks because the waiting staff were ignoring us. Equally, no-one was interested in our paying for food so, again, we had to go inside to pay it.

The Atlantis prides itself on having something like 40 staff for only eight rooms. Be cautious - at least 50% of these are wandering around chatting at any one time and most of the remainder are incredibly terse. There are, however, one or two diamonds and the quality of staff will hopefully improve over time.

On our day of departure, we checked out (after more paper shuffling), booked a cab for later in the day and took another walk. On returning to the hotel, the lady at reception told us that we weren't allowed to sit in the 'lounge' and wait for the taxi as we weren't residents (although we had paid £300 to stay the previous night). When we eventually got her permission to sit there, the owner eventually spotted us and offered us some drinks.

All in all, great hotel, friendly owner, one or two lovely staff and a whole heap of useless and rude people standing around.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamSancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    49
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
165
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bimjimmy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

We are locals who now live near Toronto. We visited 21-28 April on vacation, and were invited by a friend to the Atlantis Hotel for their Sunday buffet lunch.

I had been disappointed with the screwed-up flavours and textures of all my favourite local "Bajan" foods served elsewhere, possibly from the "chefs" taking short cuts, but the Atlantis kitchen got it all right at the same time, and their care showed in the perfection of the food. From the suckling pig to the (Jamaican breadfruit recipe) "Oil-down" to the flying fish and coucou and everything in-between I could not have asked for more.

And of course it was buffet, so if you really like something you can go back and have seconds!! Thirds, even!!

One of the things I really like and miss is pork skin - we always called it ":crackling" - so I asked for some of that when I was in the buffet line. I was a bit disappointed when I got to the table because it was very thin and hard - almost inedible - but then I realised it came from a suckling (young) pig and there would be no satisfying crunching I was accustomed to from an adult pig's much thicker skin, and gave up.

The overall opinion is that if you like "Bajan" food or if you want to have an authentic taste of a wide range of "Bajan" food, this is absolutely the place to come. Make reservations, update your GPS with the (free) "BajanNav" mapping of Barbados' more than 900 miles of road (Google it on the Net), find Tent Bay (south-east of Bathsheba, on the east coast), and get thee thither as fast as thy wheels will carry thee on Sunday for lunch.

Warning... this is located on the eastern side of Barbados - we call it "the country" - so expect a scarcity of gas stations, steep hills, narrow roads, close brushes with large buses and trucks (and other cars) and a 30 to 45 minute drive from the south or west coasts. And if you don't have a GPS with BajanNav on it, expect to get lost a few times and spend quite a bit longer getting there (and back). Anyone you stop and ask can help you make progress!!

While I was there (21-28April'10), one of the major bridges at the bottom of Horse Hill (Joe's River Bridge) was out - and may take as long as year to replace - so in the near time frame there may be complications other than just finding the hotel.

My friend paid the bill, but my understanding is that the Buffet will cost you BDS$75 plus taxes plus drinks, so figure about BDS$100 (CAD/US$50) per person for the experience.

Finally, a drink suggestion. There is a history of a Bishop Bentley "way back when" in Barbados who became fed up with the excessive consumption of alcohol in the island, and came up with a replacement for those who would receive his preaching against the "demon rum". It is much like a lemonade, with a few shakes of bitters, some maraschino cherry juice, and (traditionally) with a cherry on a toothpick at the bottom of the glass.

This is also served with a straw, useful for spearing the cherry to eat when you have finished your drink!! Next time you are in Barbados, ask your bartender for a "Bentley", and you may be pleasantly refreshed!!

Jim Lynch
"bimjimmy)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bimjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We were staying at a nearby hotel and came to the Atlantis for lunch. We were immediately impressed with the setting and views from the terrace restaurant which were matched by the delicious food and the friendly professional service. Andrew the owner gave us a tour of the newly refurbished hotel of which he is rightly proud. We instantly fell in love with the simple elegance of the whole place and decided to move in for the rest of our stay in Barbados. All the bedrooms are enormous and the view of the sea from our window through the white-wooden shutters (which we could see from our canopied four poster bed) was like a picture-postcard. We were made to feel completely at home by each and every member of the friendly staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble and when we were subsequently caught up in the volcanic ash fiasco, Andrew and all his staff were helpful and understanding beyond the call of duty. Then moved to sister hotel Little Good Harbour (see our review for that too! - also great)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppopeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

My wife and I spent Christmas at the completely restored Atlantis Hotel. All the rooms are beautifully furnished with fantastic ocean views. The friendly but professional staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. The food is incredible and the wine list is excellent. Their Sunday Buffet is not to be missed. Excellent walking trails lead you to the small town of Bathsheba. The pool over looks the ocean and is a fantastic place to enjoy a book or just appreciate the ocean views. Don't miss an opportunity to stay in this old but newly renovated beauty. It's a wonderful opportunity to experience the rugged east coast of Barbados. We plan on returning to the Atlantis.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjmWestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed several nights at the newly re-opened Atlantis hotel late last year; it was a beautiful and memorable experience. all the rooms in the hotel are very large and luxurious with stunning views. We ate all our meals at the hotel; the food was delicious and the service was friendly and proffessional. I enjoyed lazing beside the pool with a rum punch or walking along the coast. It was one of the highlights of my stay in Barbados and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic and relaxing holiday in a stunning location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GamMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

First I confess to absolutely loving the Fish Pot Restaurant, so with them owning the Atlantis I said let’s see what it’s like.
Well I have to admit, for a Sunday Brunch, it is absolutely fantastic and here’s why.
The setting on the Atlantic side is a view of life as it has been for millenniums. Rough seas, calm enough to be pleasant to look at, not calm enough to swim in but you can take a boat out and sail or fish. The breeze is very relaxing and makes the thought if air conditioning or the use of fans a non issue.
The restaurant and hotel itself is tucked away off the main path so you really need to pay attention to the signs but it was easier to follow the ones for Sea U and then go past there to the Atlantis. The road is rough and for a first time visitor you’ll probably say or think you’ve made a mistake, no you didn’t, just keep going and suddenly you see it on your left.
We approached the entrance and spoke to the staff and our name and reservation was clearly written down and we were efficiently guided to our table overlooking the ocean. We were pleasantly surprised to see the maitre’d from the Fish Pot who recognized us, and welcomed us warmly.
The ambience is great with beautiful but simple tables and chairs, white wood ceilings inside, with open windows and breeze. The outside terrace is covered with a canopy that makes you feel like you’re really outside bur protected. from the elements. Most of the clients were either long-time residents or locals or people who have been to Barbados many times and know their way around. Not many tourists as we either knew most of them or were friends of friends.
Once at our seaside table our waitress was also a regular we knew from the Roundhouse, so it was some what of a homecoming for everyone.
Now to the serious part. One ordered a Banks, (plebeian but that’s his choice) the rest ordered some wine. We chose a New Zealand Babich Sauvignon Blanc for $60 Bds. There were two others at $82 & $126, but really unless you want to have a fine wine tasting contest, what we had was excellent value and quite enjoyable. Managed to save a few pennies also, imagine that. Well we had two bottles, oh my gosh, it was so good and refreshing and such a great compliment to the meal.
Well, though the meal was a buffet, the selection was of a wide range, local, and of a very high quality.
First as you entered the area, on the immediate right was the soup, which was Atlantic fish and seafood done with some vegetables in a clear broth. The main area had the following, fish cakes, pumpkin cakes, rice and peas, scalloped potatoes, macaroni pie, peas and rice and mashed potatoes and peas, then there was a vegetable section with egg plant Creole, steamed vegetables, coucou ( and something else I forget). Then there was oil down which is bread fruit and pigs knuckle/onion (absolutely fantastic) a beef stew almost a pepper pot but not quite, chicken, flying fish.Then there was a series of salads, potatoes, cucumber, spinach, green salad, macaroni salad followed by pork, oh so tender and dolphin right off the steamed fish.
Once everyone had a delicate sufficiency (delicate is really relative) then we waddled over to the dessert table where there was a bread pudding with a vanilla or chocolate sauce, poached pears, fruit salad, pastries, carrot cake and coconut cake. Plus a coffee or tea of choice.
After two and half hours of absolute pleasure, great company, service and food we aid the bill $491.00 Bds including the service charge. A bargain for what we had.
My opinion and that of everyone else was that it was a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

On our annual trips to Barbados we visited the Altantis in late January 2008 and found it a rather run down but very picturesquely situated hotel restaurant.
In late January 2009 we visited it again only to find it had been reduced to a pile of rubble.
We were therefore very much surprised to visit again in late January 2010 to not only find it open but also very much improved although entirely within the character of the previous establishment.
There are now 8 bedrooms in the main building and two 2 bedroom suites in the cottage annex between the pool and the Beach(?). All rooms have a view of the sea (some side). Fittings are now modern and what you would expect in a good standard of hotel.
As other reviewers have commented most people visit the Atlantis for the buffet lunches served on Wednesday and Sunday and which have long been a Barbados custom. Outside of these times, especially in the evenings the hotel is very much off the beaten track. On the evening we ate there, there were 7 other diners in the restaurant (3 residents and a local party of 4). Food was well prepared and served by friendly and helpful staff. The menu strikes a balance between local dishes and standard international fare. Although the main restaurant is inside there are a large number of shuttered windows which open onto the sea and let the breezes in (no need for aircon here-but if you have a table near a window you do have to hold down your food as the garnish will very easily end up flying towards Reception at high speed!)
If you do not know the Atlantis you should realise that it is located on the wild Atlantic east coast of Barbados where the continually strong N.E. Trades Wind blows large waves onto the rugged and rocky coast - no sleepy palm fringed beaches here! It is also about an hour drive along minor and sometimes challenging roads from any of the more tourist developed parts of the island,although there is a fairly frequent local bus service from both Bridgetown and Speightstown. This is therefore a place for the independent traveller rather than a family looking for a typical Caribbean beach holiday .

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ARegularVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
9.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
8.5 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
8.6 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
10.8 mi away
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
Accra Beach Hotel & Spa
#22 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Property: The Atlantis Hotel
Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, West Indies, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing