We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway from it all....”
Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is located on the East Coast of Barbados and to watch the waves and the sky by night without light pollution is heavenly. Would recommend it to anyone... Staff are delightful and the rooms dreamy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FORESTFLOWER6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for The Atlantis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Atlantis to begin our two weeks in Barbados. It was fabulous and we will do this again! The rooms are beautifully furnished and the views are breathtaking.
We have been to the Atlantis many times for drinks, meals and the buffet Sunday lunch and have enjoyed all our experiences. Diane and Kathy Ann make you feel very welcome and the welcome rum punch on check in begins your vacation and everything else is a bonus.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay and the Easter Sunday buffet was fabulous with so many choices. Congratulations on the transformation of The Atlantis Hotel, Andrew. We have been coming for many years and everything that has been done is so sympathetic to the original building. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, ocean front lovely if you enjoy the sound of the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was the first time for our family to travel to Barbados. We could not have dreamt of a better location. We stayed in the Upper Cappernum portion of the cottage connected to the hotel. It had privacy for us, beautiful views and relaxing sounds of the ocean day and night. Their breakfast selection was outstanding. Their lunch and dinner menu are equally outstanding. Their pool was perfect for us, where we were able to enjoy views of the ocean, superb food from the Atlantis, and also the monkeys in the trees on occasion. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples, as well as families. We were able to recharge our batteries and reconnect with each other. The east coast is definitely where you want to be if you want all of this. Also, each and every one of the staff were so professional, friendly, helpful, and warm. The hotel really tries to cater to each and everyone on a personal level with regard to every need you may have. If we needed any information, whether it was before we arrived or after, Diane, their amazing manager always made herself available. We felt like family there and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in Feb 2013, on a week-long escape from a dreary Irish winter. The room (Three Boys) with its breath-taking ocean view, was one of the most memorable places we have ever stayed. The sound of the waves as you fall asleep and wake up is something really magical. The staff were incredibly kind and helpful and the restaurant was excellent. We ourselves, were not particularly impressed by the much-vaunted Sunday buffet but the a la carte dishes on the other evenings were delicious. Some day, we would love to come back

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stopped off and had a lovely lunch here while we were out exploring the island, the food and setting of this restaurant is lovely whilst enjoying lobster and steak my husband and I could watch the waves splash high against the rocks. We understand that they also do a really good Sunday feast of which if we come back we will definitely give it a go. Take time out and enjoy the food at the Atlantis.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jaganagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Three of us stayed at the Atlantis for eight nights in March in the Upper Cappernum two bedroom apartment. Due to a booking conflict, we also spent one night in two of the ocean front rooms in the main hotel: Martins Bay and Glenbernie. The Atlantis is a wonderful hotel and most of the other visitor entries here describe it well. The staff is absolutely top-notch and they contributed to our pleasure in staying there: kind, professional, thoughtful, fun, real people! They even went out of there way when my daughter came down with a bad head cold, delivering, unbidden, meals and hot mint teas. (Hello to Diane and the whole staff!) It is the place to stay if you are not interested in having a full resort experience or dealing with the scene on the west coast, but are looking for something more personal, quiet and grounded in the real Barbados. The location is wonderful even if it does lack a good swimming beach. We did take several walks on the Bathsheba beach and we also went swimming in the tidal pools there. The east coast has a constant breeze and the porch of Upper Cappernum looks directly out towards the ocean. The waves are ceaseless, but as the bedrooms are at the back of the unit, you are not really bothered by them at night, and by day, when you open up all the windows, it is magical! The apartment is perfect for a family of four or two couples. You are set apart from the hotel, and have your own porch, but you also have all of the conveniences of the hotel at your disposal. You can cook if you want, (no coffee maker though, we brought our own French press) but the fabulous hotel restaurant is right next door and this makes it very easy to just waddle home after dinner. We did not eat anywhere else. Contrary to an earlier entry, we were not in the least bit bothered by the Sunday and Wednesday brunch crowds. We also loved the ocean front rooms inthe hotel, esp Glenbernie which is a corner room with great cross breezes. These rooms are quite large. A few suggestions: you must rent a car if you want to explore the island on your own, that said, for two days we did use the services of Valance, a local cabby, who grew up in Bathsheba and was a great guide. We drove to some of the more swimmable beaches, which are not more than 30 mins away. Our favorite was Crane, but you can also use the beach over at Little Good Harbour, the sister hotel of the Atlantis located on the west coast. We found the west coast beaches to be VERY hot, not to our liking. Also, if you do plan on cooking at the apartment, make sure you stop at the Emerald Isle grocery store at Six Points which is on your way from the airport (ask your cabbie to stop there). There are NO grocery stores in Bathsheba and only some small markets in nearby villages. Also, for the hotel: I urge you to tend to the few maintenance issues around the cottage caused by the corrosive salt air, though truly, most of these I stopped noticing after the second rum punch!

Room Tip: Upper Cappernum or Glenbernie
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McWarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We only visited the restaurant rather than the hotel - but would love to come back and stay in the hotel. It was in such a beautiful place - the restaurant overlooks the beach and the views are stunning. We stopped off for lunch and had a very warm welcome - the staff were great. The food was lovely - as was the wine. We had stopped here on recomendation and were very glad we did - I very much hope we can go back someday!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salthewelsjhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
11.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
10.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
332 reviews
10.4 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,557 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea-U Guest House
Sea-U Guest House
#2 of 3 in Bathsheba
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range: $173 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing