We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you live in paradise, where do you vacation? Atlantis!”
Review of The Atlantis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Bathsheba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Barbados has many great hotels and resorts and being in the industry myself, I am probably more critical when it comes to service and expectation of a great holiday.

When I think of my family's experience at Atlantis, I don't remember all the details of the very spacious room, super comfortable bed, wonderful view of the Atlantic Ocean and the rustic fishing village next door, I see the smiling faces of each and every staff member who are genuinely happy to see you and who go above and beyond anyone's expectation! A special thank you to each and everyone of them for making it an unforgettable Staycation.

Now onto the food which is divine! I have never tasted better fish anywhere on the island...the red snapper served at dinner is a must-have followed closely by the Lamb Shank which falls off of the bone because it is so tender! We also enjoyed the Sunday Lunch buffet where the quality of food and selection is wonderful and even if you don't stay at the Hotel, a definite place that anyone should pencil in on their itinerary!

Anyone who finds fault with this hotel should first examine what they are looking for in a vacation and book their hotel accordingly. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a commercial, hotel chain but hey, they don't promise too either! If you are looking for an authentic Barbadian holiday with warm and friendly people with clean, well-maintained and very comfortable suites then Atlantis is the place for you!

We can't wait to book another Staycation to see Miss Kathy, Diane, Keisha, Latoya, Denise, Jason, Edward, Mannie, Andrew and all the other wonderful people who made us and our son feel right at home!

Oh and as for the reviewer who noticed rain flies on top of her fridge...let Jason mix you another rum punch which should help put things in perspective!!!

Room Tip: Ocean View Room is worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTraveler083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for The Atlantis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 264 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

We loved our week's stay at The Atlantis from beginning to end. The staff are lovely, it's the only place I've stayed where I've been hugged by the waitresses and the manageress. We stayed in Joe's River which is excellent value for a relaxing suite, no seaviews but the space makes up for that. Yes, it's busy with tourists at lunchtime and quiet in the evening but this is the East coast not the West. Great for exploring on foot or by car, eating well, sketching by the pool, reading your book.......if you want a peaceful retreat to recharge your batteries this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wintlekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This is an interesting property and not in a good way. The overall issue is that the infrastructure and all the key components are there, but pulling it together doesn’t happen and the whole experience seems disjointed. Good one minute and frustratingly bad the next. The management of this hotel don’t seem to understand (or care) that a series of small annoying incidents form the overall lasting impression that customers get of a hotel.

When we check out of a hotel that we intend to review I do mention the things that I’m going to write on Tripadvisor. I think that’s a fair thing to do as it gives the hotel the right of reply right there and then. No surprises stored up for later and if they’ve got a sarky reply I’d much rather hear it to my face. They never do! Most say: ‘Thanks, we’ll sort it for next time’. Exactly what you want to hear. But not at the Atlantis.

There were a number of things we did try to give feedback on. Andrew (owner or manager?) wasn’t interested in listening or discussing at all. Blank looks. No response. Either he’s heard it all before or simply doesn’t care – they take your money and are quite happy if you have a good stay or an indifferent one. It was a real disappointment.

There are some good things about it:
• We stayed in Capernaum Upper, a huge suite/apartment slightly away from the main building. The furniture and the finish is to a high standard. It’s on the same level as the pool with a small balcony with four rocking chairs outside. There is a lounge with a sofa and two arm chairs. One bedroom has a queen size bed, the second has two singles. The bathroom is large with twin sinks and a shower. No bath. There is a kitchen area off the lounge – there were the basics and lots more besides. TV in the main bedroom, (slightly annoying on a wet day that there isn’t one in the lounge). Air con in the two bedrooms.
• Some of the staff were lovely. We were given a warm welcome by a lady called Diane. A promising start, but we only saw her once more during our three night stay. Some of the staff at dinner were friendly – the man who ran the bar warrants a mention. At breakfast there was a helpful waiter. I didn’t get his name but we talked about ‘The Devil Wears Prada’.
• The hotel location is amazing – yes it’s noisy but what else would you expect right next to the sea?

And the rest:
• The pool is beautifully located– it suits the size of the hotel. The downside is that it needs more attention and cleaning. We saw a piece of bark in the pool mid-afternoon one day, by mid morning on the following day it was still there. It looked like a dead bird! There are two sofas with comfy squashy cushions at one end of the pool terrace. They look nice from a distance but close up in need of some protection from the birds or at least a daily clean.
• If you’re staying in Capernaum Upper, have a look on top of the fridge. There were dozens of dead flies on top of it at the end of April. We mentioned it at check out. It was pretty gross.
• There are lots of windows in Capernaum Upper – all have shutters but they are in various states of repair so closing some of them to keep the mosquitoes out can be hard.
• Breakfast is included in the room rate. You get two choices – a bread basket or a fruit platter with salt-cod, (a local delicacy). It’s a bit restrictive for a hotel of this size. The bread was good – different types of warm freshly baked bread – but you can only eat so much. It seems a little strange that there isn’t a small buffet with some fruit/cereal. You can order extra items like fruit or pancakes. They aren’t expensive, but that isn’t the point.
• There are a lot of staff at this hotel, but the service is patchy – occasionally it works but on the whole it doesn’t. At breakfast there are more staff than customers. They think it’s ok to eat behind the bar, read magazines or chat to each other. At lunch time Atlantis is mobbed by tourists coming to see Bathsheba. We had lunch once – nice but a wait for food. Dinner was disappointing. The food wasn’t all that. The Roundhouse is better.
• There is a big sign banning smoking on the terrace (a good thing) but we spotted the man running reception smoking outside reception during breakfast – nice.
• On our last day we had breakfast on the terrace. The whole way through it a member of staff hoovered/floor polished with a noisy machine outside reception and then in the bar area. Why? We mentioned this on check-out. The explanation was that there’d been a leak by the kitchen that needed to be attended to. Rubbish. We had a look while the work was going on. The area the man covered was pretty wide and there were not pools of water.

To conclude – this place could be good – but it isn’t. It was a real disappointment. Don’t rush.

We didn’t see the rooms at Roundhouse but that might be a better bet as the service there seemed much better. The food certainly way

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank AbsandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moondance2010, Owner at The Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

The writer has every right to write what she feels is her impression of any service or experience.
In response, I met the writer for literally 30 seconds as her husband was paying the bill!!
I am sure we have all been in a situation when we have met someone and immediately you get a bad vibe - well this was one of those cases. Perhaps she was also perplexed that it had pretty much rained for 2 weeks in Barbados and just needed to off load on someone or some place.
As owner, perhaps I need some lessons on dealing with criticism, but to have only met this person for literally seconds and have only negatives come my way from her - How really would she have liked me to respond?

My wife, who was in the office at the same time that she entered gave me one of her looks - you know those looks - the ones that tell you to be careful what you say!! so I said very little, and perhaps what I said was not what she wished to hear.

As for the flies on the fridge - RAIN FLIES - I actually took photos of them as the writer did say that she would be letting the world know of us on Trip Adviser!!!! I guess I cannot blame her for not knowing the difference between rain flies and common flies but rain flies literally survive for a few hours in life and are very common in the Caribbean when it rains - which unfortunately for these guests it had been doing for days on end. I would also like to point out that she herself an average height lady said that she had NOT noticed them because of her height but her husband who was a very tall man was the one to see them.
As for the hoover at breakfast time - there was puddles of water on the walkway as a result of our cleaner cleaning - a mop perhaps would have been a better option for the cleaner to use, but he chose to use his wetvac to suck up the water, leaving the walkway dry - God forbid if someone had slipped ( especially this writer ) as the water problem would then have become a legal issue.

Her comments are useful in order to see a customers prospective of what we do, but until one runs a hotel or restaurant in a remote location with constant salt from the ocean blasting buildings, bus service ( that deliver staff to work ) being inefficient, thus the reason for there being perhaps too many staff on a morning, I do think it a bit unfair to be so critical in this manner - The writer is clearly a critic and perhaps a better ( more friendly way ) of tackling criticism of a property would be to put some time aside to discuss with management your issues - not raise them in 60 seconds as you are checking out of a hotel.

Finally, The east coast of Barbados is stunning - a potential visitor has a choice of The Atlantis Hotel, Sea U guest House The Round House or Edgewater to stay at - we all try our best to try and ensure our visitors leave with more positives than negatives, but sometimes our best is not good enough for some people!

I am sure that if the sun had shone a little more than it had during this guests stay, perhaps we may have had a more productive discussion about her grievances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have been going to the fish pot restaurant for years also owned by Andrew warden so
We were curious about his new hotel and went to see it last year having a very good lunch
As well as seeing some rooms-all clean and quite spacious -we were impressed.
This year we stayed for 2nights , next year it will be three.
Wel loved it, the room with a sensational view of the sea, the foaming lively sea it must be said a little noisy at night but actually we slept well.
Joes river another rom we saw was back from the sea with a separate sitting area would be quieter-it's your choice.
Food excellent , service with a smile and a laugh or two along the way pool very clean , again with the view of the bay, Andrew chats to the guests as do the other staff including manny ward who keeps a keen eye on the service as does Diane from the front desk.
It's simple here, ok no night life but to start your holiday here is a good idea and the food and the staff and the location on Bathsheba bay makes this a special place.
By the way breakfasts were delicious breadrcumbed slightly spicy flying fish with cooked tomatoes-perfecto.was our choice with a bread basket with some warm delicious cake
You can walk from the hotel along the beach and not see one high rise hotel just the chattel houses and a few typical small bars up the road andromeda gardens about 10 mins.

Room Tip: Joes river for space and quiet ,
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alanEastSussexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This place is exceptional. It is essential to stay here for a couple of nights if you come to Barbados. It's different from the other places, collonial style, right on the waters edge with huge breakers smashing off the rocks below. You feel like you have been transported to the edge of the known world. This hotel has been here since the 19th century and, whilst it is in excellent condition, it has retained all it's charm.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skatersav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

In most ways very good, in others comically bad.

The good - very nice well-appointed hotel in a very beautiful location, rather secluded which we liked, but not a hotel for someone who wants some night life!

The bad - remember this is a $$$ hotel - swapping one minor item for another in the set breakfast is NOT allowed - we were given a single 0.3oz pack of butter between two of us for 8 pieces of toast, and when we asked for more butter we got one more tiny pack - no cold water in our room (the cold tap leaked, but instead of fixing it the cold supply was disconnected so for our entire stay, so we had to brush our teeth in hot water, yuck) - no latch on the bathroom door so it had to be wedged to stop it banging in the breeze - worst of all, we were charged more than once for drinks we didn't have.

Very slow but pleasant service in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pick the room with the sea view
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrigitteTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moondance2010, Owner at The Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

mmmmmmm - I must thank the writter for his review however am not sure that the simple task of asking a waiter for more butter is really that relevant to a potential guests future stay - Perhaps a disappointment to the guest - but in all honesty, I feel that this might be a classic case of TMI or a down fall of Trip Advisor and the world we live in now where every piece of information can be broadcasted to the world via the internet.
The writer did perhaps slightly mislead the reader also in so much that the cold water tap in the bathroom vanity does need to change - in fact the replacment is in my office - however envolves dismantling the cupboard which would have been a greater inconvenience to the guest than not having the constant cold water.
The cold water was not actually disconected - just turned off in the cupboard - and cold water was availble in the shower. I fully appreciate the inconvenience this must have been to perhaps use the cold water in the shower to wash ones teath - or dare I say turn on the cold water from under the sink, but again reiterate that the inconvenience of changing the faucet whilst the guest was staying with us outwayed the lack of cold water as the simple "turn of the tap" would have allowed cold water to flow.
Apart from that, our service staff are extremely friendly and perhaps do work at Caribbean speed some of the time - but in a very pleasant way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and loved it.Our first room was Soup Bowl with a wonderful ocean viiew,the noise of the crashing waves lulled us into deep relaxing sleep in the mosquito net draped four poster.For the last two nights we moved to Skeets Bay a larger room with no view at the back of the hotel.
Dining on the deck at night with the noisy ocean and wind was very atmospheric and the food delicious.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Completely different fom the west coast hotels. All visitors to Barbados should come here,at the very least,for lunch.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jannyasapotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathsheba
11.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
10.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
332 reviews
10.4 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,557 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
Bougainvillea Beach Resort
#11 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
1,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea-U Guest House
Sea-U Guest House
#2 of 3 in Bathsheba
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantis Hotel

Address: Tent Bay | St. Joseph, Bathsheba BB21054, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint Joseph Parish > Bathsheba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bathsheba
Price Range: $173 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Atlantis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Views to die for, located on the rugged east coast of Barbados - ideal for those who wish to get away from it all - a good book - good company - small and friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Bathsheba
The Atlantis Hotel Barbados/Bathsheba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing