We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bethsheba beach, Barbados” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soup Bowl

Soup Bowl
Book In Advance
$86*
and up
Beautiful Coastal Sightseeing Tour of Barbados
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Bathsheba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surfers take note: this beach's consistent and sizeable waves make it a surfer's heaven and is best known for the strangely shaped rocks that stick out of the sand.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bethsheba beach, Barbados”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Amazing white beach!! Caught the surfing championships...awesome. Hire a car and visit the east coast - follow roads closest to the coast.you cant get lost.Well worth it.You cant travel all that way wihout going because you may not return to Barbados.Its expensive ...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank contented2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The east coast of Barbados is certainly uncrowded. When we visited the "Soup Bowl", it was a Sunday afternoon and the beach was almost deserted. This is a special "natural" spot. Photographers will be in their glory. The beach is very peaceful and relaxing. You could spend quite a bit of time here if you choose. There are very large boulders in the water near the shore. They are parts of an old coral reef that broke off due to erosion. The waves were not high the day we visited. We're told that swimming here is very dangerous. The land behind the beach rises up in steep hills. There was a small restaurant which was closed on a Sunday. We'd go back again for the beauty and the serenity.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vagabondoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most post card-perfect spot we saw in Barbados!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We took a bus/beach tour and this was one of our stops. It's beautiful!!! Excellent spot for some great pictures. There were a few locals (who I'm sure know when tours will be making the rounds) that were there waiting at the lookout spot to sell jewelry and such but they were very friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
322 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“play with the waves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

It is in the east coast between Bathsheba and Cattlewash. Nice scenery. It is major surfing spot, so unless you like waves, it is good for pictures.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Truly brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We combined a visit to the Soup Bowl and Bathsheba with a trip down the East Coast of the island and had a brilliant time exploring the more rugged side of Barbados.

Come here and experience nature at its best!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TAE467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soup Bowl also viewed

Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Saint Lucy Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Soup Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing