We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location on Atlantic Ocean”
Review of Round House

Round House
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Bathsheba
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in historic Bathsheba on the rugged east coast of Barbados, Round House has been a popular destination for locals and visitors for 150 years. With a colorful history as a train stop and longtime private residence, Round House today is one of the island's most beloved landmarks. The property offers commanding views of the Atlantic coastline, a panoramic vista of the iconic limestone rocks and thundering waves of Bathsheba, and an undisturbed stretch of beach studded with natural tidal pools just above one of the world's premier surf spots. Our bed-and-breakfast inn offers five architecturally-unique guest rooms, with unparalleled views and historic features intact throughout the completely original building. Our bustling restaurant uses only simple, fresh, locally-sourced ingredients for our menu served daily inside our dining room or outside on our decks overlooking the Atlantic, where you can put up your feet and unwind with one of the best views on the island.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location.Try the flying fish pate.Watch the surfers at Soup Bowl in Bathsheba as you dine.
Location is excellent but food quality and service not always as good as it should be.

1  Thank Joseca80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 553 of 770 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

Beautiful views over the Atlantic and the lunch was great but the staff were very frosty! They were the unfriendliest staff that we encountered in the whole of the 18 days we spent on Barbados! Shame because it is the most wonderful setting.

Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to speak with us directly regarding your experience and helping us to improve our standard of service. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in as a family for lunch and got a great table looking out into the bay. Service was great and the food even better! Between us we had the brie, flying fish goujons and Mac pie to start and pulled pork sandwich, chicken club sandwich, fish chowder and catch of the day sandwich (Maui Maui). The Maui Maui was to die for and all other meals were delicious. Breadfruit chips were a nice addition and washing it down with a great rum punch made for a great lunch. Everyone we know who comes heads over here and I'm certain we'll return!

1  Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

What a lovely review, thank you so much :)
Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is time again to travel. The only place I know in February 2014 to go where I am treated like family is Round House. I am making my arrangments to go In October 2013. Do not want someone else booking and being told no vacanices. Can not wait for Flying Fish Pate

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Can't wait to see you again, Gene!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant almost by accident, and were very glad that we did. The view over Bathsheba was stunning with incredible views from the balcony across the coast of surfers and the waves crashing against the breathtaking rock formations. The food was also incredible causing my wife and I to return to eat a couple of times in our two week stay. the Flying fish sandwich and catch of the day sandwich were both gorgeously cooked and presented. This was also our first experience of Breadfruit chips which were amazing.
The staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful, moving tables for us when we asked if we could sit in the sun outside rather than the shade. The one instance that could've tarnished or experience was when they forgot to bring our drinks until almost the end of the meal. When they realised their mistake, the could not have been more apologetic and brought our drinks to us and gave them to us free of charge.
We had a brilliant experience and a lovely meal and would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the East coast of Barbados.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T_Spicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoundHouseBarbados, Owner at Round House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review :) Happy to hear that we could introduce you to our delicious breadfruit chips - a staple on our menu since we opened over 20 years ago - and that our staff was so accommodating to you.

Thank you again for taking the time to write, and we do hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Round House also viewed

Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
New Castle, Saint John Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Round House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing