We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
The lounge with wood-burning stove and double height ceiling The lounge also boasts fabulous views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Coopers Knowe House with the hills and the loch in the background
The lounge with wood-burning stove and double height ceiling
The lounge also boasts fabulous views
Looking back from the loch
Deer are regular visitors to the garden
The kitchen with central island and up to the minute appliances
The dining room - the table extends to seat 10
The games room - pool table, table tennis top, TV, PlayStation 3, darts
Soaking up the stunning views
The house in winter with snow capped hills in the background
The master suite with views of the loch and the hills
Ready for breakfast on the balcony
Time for tea in the snug
Wonderful Scottish light
The private sandy beach on the estate
The ground floor bedroom with its own terrace
The west facing bedroom with ensuite shower room
The en-suite to bedroom 4 with Japanese-style square bath
The twin-bedded room
The first floor landing
Fabulous scenery all around
Take a sea-kayakking excursion on the loch
Enjoy the perfect day out for steam railway & Harry Potter fans: a trip on the Jacobite steam tr
Nearby Traigh golf course: one of the most scenic in the UK
A golden eagle - regularly sighted nearby
Hoping for a bite from the rocks close to the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Glenuig, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
vivien p
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Coopers Knowe House is beautifully sited: the view from the house is wonderful and there are so many beautiful places near by to visit. The house is so spacious that we did not fall over one another; it's immaculate, very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Everything you can possibly need has been thought of and everything works to perfection. I've already recommended the house to two friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
We very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review and we're naturally delighted that you liked the house and were also able to enjoy the wonderful scenery and places of interest close by. We hope you will consider Coopers Knowe House again for a future holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I’ll admit to being slightly envious that you got to see otters on the loch because this is something I've personally yet to do! You are though more or less guaranteed to spot a wide variety of wildlife either directly from the house or whilst out walking. We’re so pleased you enjoyed such a good week and we hope to welcome you back to the Highlands before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
We are naturally delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the house met with the approval of all the members of your family. We’re also pleased that you were able to make the most of the pebbly beach close to the house and the nearby sandy cove. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review – we hope we will be able to entice you back before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and the views
Liked least: The end of the holiday
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We are naturally delighted to receive your compliments regarding the views from the house which we think are a real feature of the property. We’re also of course pleased that the house fulfilled the needs of your family and that you enjoyed a good holiday. We hope to have you as our guests again before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review and of course we're naturally delighted that you all had a good holiday and liked the house. Many thanks also for detailing some of what you got up to during your stay - I'm sure prospective renters will be interested in all of this. Yes, some of the local roads are rather windy but really pleased that this didn't stop you enjoying a complete range of varied activities. We hope to be able to welcome you back before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lynn S
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning, superb, wonderful!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our family and some friends stayed for Easter week. The house was wonderful, comfortable with lots of little touches that made us feel instantly at home. The bedrooms were very comfortable and as we were a large group of adults, there was enough space for everyone, even a games room in a separate annex with pool table, computer games etc. The house is in a fairly remote location, but we went for a walking holiday and there are some great walks from the house, we also did sea kayaking and the two closest pubs provided good food too. Evenings were spent watching the stunning sunsets, sipping a rather nice glass of wine and watching the feet grade in front of the house. We don't often return to the same place as the world is too big, but we will definitely return to Coopers Knowe House in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury and comfort with amenities
Liked least: Some hot water issues in the afternoon, but very minor.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2014
I'm delighted that you felt so at home at Coopers Knowe House and enjoyed a good holiday. Also pleased that the local inns were able to provide good pub grub. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review and hope to you have you back as guests before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob D
Tijuana, Mexico
1 review
“The perfect Highland retreat”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Coopers Knowe House is tucked away next to Loch Ailort in the 'rough bounds' of Moidart. It is a stunning place to stay with dramatic views of the impressive Corbetts of An Stac and Rois Bheinn. As the sun sets you can sit back with a dram to hand and enjoy the surrounding hills transform through a range of vivid amber tones. With the local deer roaming past and the gentle shoreline of the Loch and beach within easy reach for a late night or early morning stroll it is instantly relaxing and easy to unwind, even for southern city types. The house itself is a very clean modern structure, large and comfortable when full to capacity and up there with the very best of Highland holiday lets in my considerable experience of visiting the west coast of Scotland and beyond. It is fitted with lots of mod-cons, even a bread maker (so no need to bring your own as my wife insisted on doing). Nearby Glenuig Inn, Glenfinnan, Arisaig and Malaig all offer plenty of day trip activities without having to drive too far and the roads are very light on traffic. My favourite though was the beach where Local Hero was filmed and the climb up Rois Bheinn to see spectacular views of Rhum, Moidart, Knoydart and Ardnamurchan peninsulas - well worth the ascent to +800m on a good day if you are fit and daft enough like me. My wife has just added that the house was so lovely and warm we did not even need to light the giant log fire and sitting in the lounge at night felt like being on luxury liner. As they said in Hawaii FiveO; 'Book 'em Danno'.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge
Liked least: Load up at Fort William supermarkets before you arrive!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautifully worded review which is so wonderfully evocative of the local area’s attractions. We’re of course also delighted you liked the house and enjoyed a good holiday - being likened to a luxury liner is definitely a first! And I’ve made a note to tell future guests about the bread-maker so others don’t feel the need to lug one with them.

We hope we will be able to welcome you all back to Coopers Knowe before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing