We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Improvements to a Previously Unloved Inn!”
Review of Glenuig Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenuig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenuig Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenuig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Improvements to a Previously Unloved Inn!”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Just returned from a stay at the warm and welcoming Glenuig Inn. This is a return visit and I was pleasantly surprised with the amazing transformation of what WAS a rather ‘ neglected Inn’. This Inn had previously been uncared for, but the Inn is now a really pleasant experience. It’s clean, well maintained and free of stale smelling Inn smells that you so often find. A breath of fresh air! The location is perfect and the new owner has undertaken a superb refurbishment of an Inn that ‘deserved tender loving care’. The renovation is outstanding. The staff were welcoming and the food was tasty. The portions were excellent and I felt I had real value for money. The Chef is very imaginative and presentation is excellent. Loved the Chowder! Steak and Ale Pie beat me- the portion was huge! The beers offered were exciting and I could find nothing to fault! I am not a beer drinker but I found it fun tasting the Skye Brewery and Cairngorm Beers. Glad to see a good selection of wine available. Last years trip was good but this years stay was outstanding. It’s a great location to walk from. Glenuig is a stunning location to explore. It’s a great idea that there may be moorings in the bay. The introduction of moorings would also benefit the community and bring custom to the Community Shop. Perhaps others like me will be able to sail to this secret location. It is an incredible setting and the Inn made a perfect base. The rooms were clean, tidy and warm. Stayed in a few other accommodation providers in the Highlands, but this was by far the best location and hospitality. This Inn is warm, clean, tidy and modern. I came back because of the location and that the management are making every effort to make people come and visit the area and bring tourism to the area. Everyone gains! Will be Back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hardygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    74
    19
    17
    27
See reviews for
52
83
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We recently visited this newly renovated Inn on the west coast of Scotland for a long weekend break. The room was very clean and had ample space for the 4 of us.

The food was prepared using local products and was well presented and at a fair price, the beers were excellent and well kept.

The location is excellent and there ample places to visit within the local area.

We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our stay, and will stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jkebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We arrived at this little bit of paradise a little travel weary but the welcoming landlord soon refreshed us with a great selection of local beers. Before long a meal appeared and we ate it warmed by the gentle glow of the wood burner. The Inn we found out only uses fresh produce which are locally sourced and I have to say - both myself and my partner were pleased with the great tasting meal. The Inn also has really gone for the renewable energy and green credentials bit. Its great to see an Inn like this making such a great effort in this area - clearly a passion of the Landlord.During the week we paddled in the bay area which is amazing as we explored the islands and coast line. We have pledged to go back next year and paddle out to the 'Small Isles' that look so inviting. With a ferry service to Malaig to the small isles its great to know you have an option should the weather turn bad. We also got the bikes out and rode to Arisaig on one day. As the weather changed we phoned the Landlord and used his collection service - which got us back in time for a glass of wine and a pint.
The week went too fast. Everyong we met was pleasant and helpful (always found this on the West Coast of Scotland). Next year we are also going to take a family holiday with our 4 children and stay at the Inn. Just up the road from the Inn is a beautiful sheltered sandy beach that we found which is ideal for barbeques, and family fun in the water. The small island just 50mts off the beach also provides a place to explore!Finally just want to thank the Landlord, Steve for all the help he gave in making our stay so memorable for all the right reasons - we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahandfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I have visited this lovely old Inn many times in the past, and have always enjoyed the hospitality of the staff and locals, and the slightly ramshackle nature of the building simply added to the allure.
The new owner has totally destroyed everything that made Glenuig Inn wonderful and replaced it with a school canteen. He declines to sell what visitors, and indeed locals, would like - draught Guinnes and lager, fish & chips for the kids - and instead is attempting to foist his own tastes in real ale and a strange Scottish/mediterranean fusion menu on his clientele. Our seafood platter appreared to be sourced in Morrison's supermarket, appalling for a place that used to be the haunt of local fishermen. His own manner is verging on the creepy, and the total lack of friendly faces, cosy atmosphere and pleasant relaxed conversation between visitors and locals was very very sad.
It was very upsetting to see this wonderful Inn that has seen so many wonderful sessions of live music and good crack destroyed by somone who obviously has no appreciation of the culture of the west highlands and seems intent on imposing his own notions of hospitality and tastes in beers and food on the local community and on us, the visitors to this wonderful place. Our previous stays have seen us engage with the locals in the bar on many occasions - this time we saw none in the Inn itself, and it is not surprising.
The bright side is that the locals have responded in a positive fashion, and the local Glenuig Hall, (which already contributes so much to the cultural life of the highlands), now operates a wonderful tearoom serving lunches and an occasional bar (called "Hub Clubs") at weekends where locals and visitors can meet and mingle.
Our visits to the area around Glenuig and to its wonderful events in the hall will continue but unfortunately future visits to Glenuig Inn will begin with some trepidation and if our recent visit is anything to go by, will end in despair.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank HughieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

My wife and I have been visiting the Glenuig area for several years. We had always enjoyed the conviviality and hospitality of the Glenuig Inn- until this summer.
We found the remodelled 'Inn' to be spartan, soulless and cheap looking. The only concession to the previous facility were the tacky-in every sense of the word-school canteen style dining tables. There was no draft beer on tap, however there were some over priced bottles of 'speciality ales'.
The one member of staff on duty, although polite and helpful, was shuttling between the bar, the kitchen and serving tables: we waited 10 minutes to be served at the bar. This was a profoundly disappointing experience., and one we will not be repeating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank st29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seakayakarisaig, Director at Glenuig Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Notwithstanding the other embellished and inaccurate claims of this anonymous 'reviewer' there were, at the time of his visit, some four Draught Ales and one Draught Cider on tap, namely: Black Gold, Tradewinds and Nessie's Monster Mash from Cairngorm Brewery, Red Cuillin from Skye Brewery, and Real Cider from Watkins. Ales are priced at £3.00 per pint and Cider at £3.50 per pint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We spent three nights at the Glenuig Inn, using it as a base for our sea kayaking adventures, we enjoyed the whole experience discovering not only the beauty of this stunning part of Scotland but the delight of delicious food and very acceptable rooms in a rather unexpected location. Venison plater starter, longustine as a main course followed by raspberry and white chocolate cheese cake to die for! Must not forget to mention the smoked salmon rolls we were supplied with as our packed lunch for the day....
We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SuffolkHugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We were 4 adults and 4 children staying in 3 nights in 2 spaceous rooms, neat, quiet and comfortable with all what is needed. We arrived at 6 pm driving in from Prestwick Airport, where we left at about 1 pm, stopping along the way to enjoy the scenery of the Highlands. The Inn can be reached from the south by car on easy and excellent two-lane roads or by a more spectacular single track road. Easy connections (30-45 min) to Mallaig where you can catch a ferry to the Isle of Skye, 45 min. to Fort William. The food is good with a (too) small children's menu (wild boar sausages with mash or spaghetti bolognaise) in addition to a variety of dishes with local ingredients. Excellent breakfast too (add that Nutella and cheese and it will be perfect)! The bar has a great selection of local ales, and even more whisky's. The friendly boss runs the place with a great smile, he has unique suggestions for excursions on the Western coast and knows the weather from a look at his watch (magic!). We spent 2 marvelous days on the Ardnamurchan peninsula and the small isles. A recommendation for who wants to explore some of the purest parts of the Western Highlands.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MacPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenuig
5.2 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
6.3 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
76 reviews
5.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
14.8 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
268 reviews
9.7 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenuig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenuig Inn

Property: Glenuig Inn
Address: Sound of Arisaig, Glenuig PH38 4NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenuig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenuig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Glenuig Hotel Glenuig
Glenuig Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing