We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another loss to the highlands”
Review of Glenuig Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenuig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenuig Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenuig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I have visited this lovely old Inn many times in the past, and have always enjoyed the hospitality of the staff and locals, and the slightly ramshackle nature of the building simply added to the allure.
The new owner has totally destroyed everything that made Glenuig Inn wonderful and replaced it with a school canteen. He declines to sell what visitors, and indeed locals, would like - draught Guinnes and lager, fish & chips for the kids - and instead is attempting to foist his own tastes in real ale and a strange Scottish/mediterranean fusion menu on his clientele. Our seafood platter appreared to be sourced in Morrison's supermarket, appalling for a place that used to be the haunt of local fishermen. His own manner is verging on the creepy, and the total lack of friendly faces, cosy atmosphere and pleasant relaxed conversation between visitors and locals was very very sad.
It was very upsetting to see this wonderful Inn that has seen so many wonderful sessions of live music and good crack destroyed by somone who obviously has no appreciation of the culture of the west highlands and seems intent on imposing his own notions of hospitality and tastes in beers and food on the local community and on us, the visitors to this wonderful place. Our previous stays have seen us engage with the locals in the bar on many occasions - this time we saw none in the Inn itself, and it is not surprising.
The bright side is that the locals have responded in a positive fashion, and the local Glenuig Hall, (which already contributes so much to the cultural life of the highlands), now operates a wonderful tearoom serving lunches and an occasional bar (called "Hub Clubs") at weekends where locals and visitors can meet and mingle.
Our visits to the area around Glenuig and to its wonderful events in the hall will continue but unfortunately future visits to Glenuig Inn will begin with some trepidation and if our recent visit is anything to go by, will end in despair.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank HughieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Glenuig Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2009

My wife and I have been visiting the Glenuig area for several years. We had always enjoyed the conviviality and hospitality of the Glenuig Inn- until this summer.
We found the remodelled 'Inn' to be spartan, soulless and cheap looking. The only concession to the previous facility were the tacky-in every sense of the word-school canteen style dining tables. There was no draft beer on tap, however there were some over priced bottles of 'speciality ales'.
The one member of staff on duty, although polite and helpful, was shuttling between the bar, the kitchen and serving tables: we waited 10 minutes to be served at the bar. This was a profoundly disappointing experience., and one we will not be repeating.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank st29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seakayakarisaig, Director at Glenuig Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2009

Notwithstanding the other embellished and inaccurate claims of this anonymous 'reviewer' there were, at the time of his visit, some four Draught Ales and one Draught Cider on tap, namely: Black Gold, Tradewinds and Nessie's Monster Mash from Cairngorm Brewery, Red Cuillin from Skye Brewery, and Real Cider from Watkins. Ales are priced at £3.00 per pint and Cider at £3.50 per pint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We spent three nights at the Glenuig Inn, using it as a base for our sea kayaking adventures, we enjoyed the whole experience discovering not only the beauty of this stunning part of Scotland but the delight of delicious food and very acceptable rooms in a rather unexpected location. Venison plater starter, longustine as a main course followed by raspberry and white chocolate cheese cake to die for! Must not forget to mention the smoked salmon rolls we were supplied with as our packed lunch for the day....
We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ammohug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We were 4 adults and 4 children staying in 3 nights in 2 spaceous rooms, neat, quiet and comfortable with all what is needed. We arrived at 6 pm driving in from Prestwick Airport, where we left at about 1 pm, stopping along the way to enjoy the scenery of the Highlands. The Inn can be reached from the south by car on easy and excellent two-lane roads or by a more spectacular single track road. Easy connections (30-45 min) to Mallaig where you can catch a ferry to the Isle of Skye, 45 min. to Fort William. The food is good with a (too) small children's menu (wild boar sausages with mash or spaghetti bolognaise) in addition to a variety of dishes with local ingredients. Excellent breakfast too (add that Nutella and cheese and it will be perfect)! The bar has a great selection of local ales, and even more whisky's. The friendly boss runs the place with a great smile, he has unique suggestions for excursions on the Western coast and knows the weather from a look at his watch (magic!). We spent 2 marvelous days on the Ardnamurchan peninsula and the small isles. A recommendation for who wants to explore some of the purest parts of the Western Highlands.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MacPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights at the newly refurbished Glenuig Inn and can't praise the place enough. We went in search of some nice walking, good food and some peace and quiet and were not disappointed. Steve and his staff made us feel really welcome and were welcoming and informative without being too intrusive. A special mention must be made for the food which was all locally sourced, excellent value and absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for the same things as we were.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scuzz189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maailmanmatkaaja17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank enricosicuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenuig
6.3 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
84 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
310 reviews
5.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
13.7 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenuig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenuig Inn

Address: Sound of Arisaig, Glenuig PH38 4NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenuig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenuig
Price Range: $20 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Glenuig Hotel Glenuig
Glenuig Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing