We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what we needed”
Review of Glenuig Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenuig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenuig Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Glenuig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

we have visited this part of the coast several times and really enjoy the warm welcome, food and accommodation on offer here. Everything is either locally sourced, organic or sustainable and as such it doesn't really cater for the J2o drinking, crisp eating global brand brigade. Yes, there is no bottled beer or lager and there is only locally brewed ales available at the bar and no, they don't sell coke (except organic curiosity cola) They have set out to provide something quite specific and have kept to their aims despite criticism. We found all the staff and the owner to be friendly, helpful and professional and will be returning whenever we can

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having heard so many different opinions from local and visitor alike on Glen Uig we decided to make up our own minds! We went for drinks with friends a few weeks ago and were all very pleasantly surprised by the selection of soft and carbonated drinks and beers on offer as well as the cider selection.Sitting at the lovely locally sourced timber bar was great and enjoyed the nibble selection,I do understand if you want lager and crisps this is not the place for you!
We then having glanced at the menu board decided to return at some point to try some of the food on offer,what a good decision this was! My prawns came freshly cooked with exquisite baby roast potatoes and a salad- 32 medium sized prawns in scallop shells beautifully presented,I was only expecting a maximum of 20. Our guests who had the Mezze and venison burger, both came with home made bread and home made rolls,felt that they had made good choices too- in fact we all ended up sampling each others mains.
If you want something different in a warm welcoming atmosphere with a host who is passionate about what he is trying to achieve this is definitely the place to try! The prices might seem a bit high at first but BUT believe me you definitely get what you pay for and for 4 people it did not work out any more expensive then other well frequented places in and around Ardnamurchan.We will definitely be back to sample more of the menu!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nikkilivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I can't believe the number of positive reviews on here. Rooms good, but expensive for what is pretty basic accomodation. Food well below average and overpriced - £14 for a steak pie, with minimal steak content - more like a soup. Customer service left a lot to be desired too.

A stunning location, but that doesn't justify over-charging a captive audience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Edinburger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Myself and my 13y/o son had an excellent 2 day seakayak experience at Glenuig in July2012. Steve provided the top quality kayaks,paddles and cags, gave us some quick instruction and led us to some amazing places over the two days. Steve was a terrific guide and gave us lots of tips on technique and information on wildlife and history of the area(but not too much). My son particularly enjoyed the capsize and rescue drill.The accomodation was very comfortable and we enjoyed the dinner and breakfasts at the restaurant. Steve later e-mailed us photographs of our kayak trip. Overall I felt it was a memorable experience and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Visited Glenuig Inn as part of our kayaking holiday. It is set in a stunning and peaceful location - all you can hear is the sea and the sheep! Although the Inn is a haven for kayakers wanting a little luxury and freshen up, it is welcoming to all. Steve, the owner, is friendly and informative and there is the option to try kayaking if you haven't before - be warned though, you will be hooked as you couldn't get a better place to explore by canoe. We were looked after by Chris, waitress, bar maid, cleaner and general Girl Friday! She visited the Inn on a kayaking holiday and loved it so much, she came to stay and work!
The Inn is beautifully designed inside with a fresh, comtemporary feel but has cosy touches like a wood burning stove in the dining room. The bar is a beautiful carved wooden creation. The food is lovely - all home cooked using good quality produce, and there is a great selection of real ales and interesting wines. Thankfully they don't serve Coke, choosing to offer the Fentimans and Belvoir Farm range of soft drinks. Don't expect paninis and chips either, the lunch selection is a range of 'boards' like a Ghillies Board featuring smoked fish or a Stalkers Board withlocally smoked game - yum! There are also curries and a range of other mouth watering dishes.
The rooms are lovely and spacious and have a bath as well as a shower - wonderful for the weary kayaker. There is also a bunkhouse which is alot nicer than normal bunkhouses that sleep eight, and a drying room.
Although we didn't bring our dogs, the Inn is dog friendly and Isla, the resident Belgian Shepherd is a delight.
This place ticked all the boxes for us and we can't wait to come back, along with our kayaks (and maybe even our dogs) and enjoy more than one night here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We sailed into Glenuig Bay and tied up to one of the very welcome visitor moorings provided by the Glenuig Inn. After a brief walk ashore we adjourned to the Inn where we received a very warm welcome from the Proprietor and his staff. Great selection of cask ales in the tastefully decorated contemporary bar. The evening menu was varied and offered a good variety - as a party of four we all selected a different meal and were delighted with our choices - fresh food cooked to order and delicious! Other reviews have commented on the prices but in our experience (we've been sailing in these waters for 15 years) we always expect to pay a little more for quality in a remote location. Well done Steve and team!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank gigha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was here with my family, and we stayed in a four-bed room. It was lovely and very homey. The man who worked at the Inn was very friendly and helpful. The weather was awful so it was nice to be in a spacious and clean room. Not much to see around however (perhaps more of a result of our containment due to the weather)! The food was good as well and decently priced for the area. If you need wifi however, you have to go stand outside the 'shop' 100m away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Find Yourself F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenuig Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenuig Inn

Address: Sound of Arisaig, Glenuig PH38 4NG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenuig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glenuig
Price Range: $21 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Glenuig Hotel Glenuig
Glenuig Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing