We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful Scottish Highland experience at Mor...”
other travelers have booked this property
Mor Carraig
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mor Carraig
Sunrise from the conservatory (Taken by guest M. Grubb from energymonitorworld) Log fire in the cosy sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Mor Carraig
Sunrise from the conservatory (Taken by guest M. Grubb from energymonitorworld)
Log fire in the cosy sitting room
Conservatory with seating and dining area. Fantastic views of Loch Ness
Seating area in consevatory
Conservatory - looking out to the garden and Loch Ness
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Third bedroom with twin beds
Upstairs bathroom featuring a large deep bath
Upstairs bathroom with high pressure shower
Kitchen complete with dishwasher, range cooker and microwave
Utility room with fridge freezer, washer, dryer and second bathroom with WC and shower adjacent
Landing between the two upstairs bedrooms, a great place to sit and enjoy the view of Loch Ness.
Library joining the main sitting room with front entrance adjacent
Back of Mor Carraig with grounds
A winter's sunrise taken from the master bedroom
Steading with some of the grounds at the back of Mor Carraig
View out of the steading door in winter
Loch Ness , with view over to Dores, taken from the garden
The grounds at the front, looking up to Mor Carraig
Rural scene of Abriachan taken from the rock in the garden
View of garden with mist over Loch Ness
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abriachan, Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Robin R
Crayford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful Scottish Highland experience at Mor Carraig”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Mor Carraig was an absolute gem of a place to stay at. The property was warm and comfortable with every conceivable mod con which meant it felt like a proper home away from home. The views around the cottage were amazing which we thoroughly enjoyed whilst eating our meals in the conservatory. The real log fire kept us warm of an evening and having to chop up our own wood from the stores for the log fire made it feel even more rustic. Beds and furnishings were comfortable and plenty of Scottish themed items around the property to give a good atmosphere of highland living. We had a couple of days of snowfall whilst we were there, which turned the property and surrounding areas into a magical winter wonderland with a good Christmas feel. Local forestry and hill walks at Abriachan were a MUST which had stunning scenery to enjoy (especially from the top of carn na leitire).
Gren the house manager was very helpful when we needed him and he was always very friendly. The neighbours were also polite and helped us out as well.
Mor Carraig is a good balance of being rural, but also being not too far away from Inverness.
For anyone staying during the winter/December season be mindful that the road up to Mor Carraig can be is quite steep and slippery when icy / snow covered.
Mor Carraig delivered everything we expected and more, we were sorry that we had to leave and would definitely recommend Mor carraig to anyone who is looking to have a Highland Getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
873david...
Saint-Pierre-le-Moutier, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location & location”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I'm very averse to writing reviews, apologies but that's just me. I will though say that we (a family of 4, 2 adults, 2 children aged 11 & 8) had a great week at Mor Carraig, it benefits from a fabulous location, far enough from Inverness, but not too far either.

Found the maps & visit guides in the hall table drawer to be very useful. It was only my inquisitive nature that discovered them, I suggest you draw guests' attention to their availability.

Beds comfortable, only gripe, but it's a UK-wide thing (sorry I live in France where they understand the proper functioning of showers), the shower, the shower water was, at best, luke-warm, at worst, tepid. It can not be the water-heating system as kitchen water was perfectly hot.

Otherwise, highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdaalder
Soest, The Netherlands
1 review
“Best view ever!”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Overlooking Loch Ness there is no better place than Mor Carriag. No cottage is perfect and some aspects would benefit from improvement (bit too dusty, chairs of the dining table uncomf., leakage in the kitchen due to rainfall -but housekeeper Greg was on the alert!- ). Best bedroom is downstairs, but for nightly visiting the cloak room that would require travelling through the hall, sitting room, kitchen and utility room! Yet we can advise everybody to choose this cottage, since the layout on the first floor and that magnificent conservatory more than make up for the few disadvantages!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBS417
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible views ...”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here in May and didn't want to leave. The pictures don't do it justice. Mor Carraig was an expected gem .... from the views of Loch Ness to the sheep in the meadows, you will not be disappointed. Can't wait to travel back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qmargotnp
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Although the posted pictures look inviting..in person it is so much more! I have already recommended Mor Carraig to a co worker.. The owner, Paul was easy to email and got right back to me. Gren, the manager provided us with local history.
You will not be disappointed.
Take advantage of the ride service to the Clansman Restaurant. Decent food and great service.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markandro...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Delightful Stay.......”
Reviewed March 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot rate this cottage highly enough. We've visited many times now and never disappointed. Normally we come in the winter months and we found the lovely light evenings in Mid April wonderful. It seemed strange the sun setting behind us but great for early evening walks or simply soaking up the tranquility of the views.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paynef100
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay.”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

After an initial teething problem with the lack of heating when we arrived we had a great time. The cottage has everything you need. The views across Loch Ness were amazing although we never saw Nessie. Took loads of photos of the views around us. Went out walking as we could hear gushing water from the garden. Beautiful waterfalls all around us. The neighbours gave us advice about the dustbin ritual. The whole experience was wonderful. I met a young lady on the train home and got chatting, showed her my photos of the area, she is now looking into booking mor carraig for later in the year with her children. Tv in lounge and all bedrooms, I sound like I am gushing because I am. Contact with the landlord Paul and grounds manager gren was perfect. Thank you so much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing