We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect View for Morning Sunrises!”
other travelers have booked this property
Mor Carraig.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mor Carraig.
Back of Mor Carraig and steading.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Mor Carraig.
Back of Mor Carraig and steading.
Sitting room.
Open fire in the cosy sitting room.
Conservatory with dining and sitting area.
View from conservatory.
View from conservatory door of garden and Loch Ness.
Kitchen.
Utility room.
Downstairs bedroom with twin beds.
Upstairs bedroom 1.
Upstairs bedroom 2.
Landing between the two upstairs bedrooms, a great place to sit and enjoy the view of Loch Ness.
Upstairs landing with stairs leading to downstairs hall.
Upstairs bathroom.
Upstairs bathroom.
Front door.
The grounds at the front, looking up to Mor Carraig.
Back of Mor Carraig.
View from garden of steading and Loch Ness.
Sunrise from the conservatory.
A winter sunrise taken from  upstairs bedroom 1.
Loch Ness , with view over to Dores, taken from the rock in the garden
Rural scene of Abriachan taken from the rock in the garden.
View of garden with mist over Loch Ness
Wood supply in the steading.
View from steading door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abriachan, Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
markandro...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect View for Morning Sunrises!”
Reviewed December 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After staying several times we love the serenity of the cottage and the tranquility it presents. The weather changes frequently over the Loch and this makes for an ever changing picture!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Frequent stays here so we like it all.
Liked least: There is nothing not to like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peaceful setting and wonderful cottage”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family spent the week from 26th Sept till 3rd Oct and couldn't have asked for better! The cottage has everything you could possibly need. We were welcomed by a lovely bottle of red wine and shortbread, most welcome! The views, sunrises and sunsets were spectacular, worth the early rise for! Sitting in the conservatory was so relaxing and the log fire in the lounge begged to be lit although we were blessed with wonderful weather. We put bird food out on the birdtable and thoroughly enjoyed watching them feed. Lovely places to visit nearby and further afield. Thoroughly recommend this home.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: homely feel and views
Liked least: steep access on narrow road but worth it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craighigg...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Still a Wonderful Place!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have been staying at Mor Carraig for over 14 years and this was our 10th visit.
Althought the property has changed ownership in the last couple of years we were really pleased that Paul has maintained the high standards that er were always used to.
It is a great location and we had a great week as normal enjoying the silence and the peace and quiet.
We look forward to our next stay!!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just sheer comfort
Liked least: Nothing except having to leave!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markandro...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Perfect Stay.....”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A lovely quiet setting and ideal location for a relaxing break. Our 3rd visit now with a 4th booked. The standards of the cottage are always maintained and you will not regret choosing this property and it's location.

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMow
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect ... lovely big cottage in idyllic setting”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a week in August at Mor Carraig. When we arrived after a long travel each of us was so excited to explore the cottage - and it exceeded all our expectations.
It is big ... and that was important to us, so that we were able to have our own space when we needed it. A big kitchen and a big utility room with plenty of bench space, and everything that you might need, - a huge conservatory with the dining table and a sitting area, - we would meet there to make our plans for where to go each day, and eat together there in an evening. We fed the birds - and they certainly do come to the feeders.
On 3 nights it was damp weather and cooler so we had a fire in the evening and that was a real pleasure - very cosy.
Inverness is only a short drive away and everything we needed we found there. We looked for dolphins at Chanonry Point - we weren't lucky, but many people do see them there. We drove to the Isle of Skye, quite a way but incredible scenery on the way. And we wandered up and down on both sides of Loch Ness - of course we went on a boat trip on the Loch too, all easy and close to Mor Carraig.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the conservatory, and the log fire
Liked least: The TV, Free Sat, and DVD are quite frustrating to work out
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage.”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Second stay at this wonderful cottage in a great location. Well equipped cottage in a tranquil location. Good base to explore the local area.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIC...
Strasbourg, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent outstanding moments in this house. The view on Loch Ness and mountains still covered by snow was beautiful. We enjoyed to warm ourselves at the end of the day beside the fireplace. The house is large, beautiful and very well equipped. Do not forget to make walks around, there is a very nice path upon the hill with great sceneries typical of the highlands. I definitely recommend to book this house for at least 5 days.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Landscape, equipment.
Liked least: Bed quality.
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing