We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“10 Stars”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of MacKenzie House

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Feature Staircases Upper lounge opening to balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Front of house
Feature Staircases
Upper lounge opening to balcony
Lounge
Sunset view from balcony
Cinema
Sauna
Highland cow with view
Bar
Loch Lait-10 minute walk from house.
Gallery lounge area
Back garden with hot tub & fountain
Relaxation area leading out to hot tub
Lots of ideas for great days out
Drinks on the balcony
Patio & BBQ area
Appreciation- from 3 very special guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Abriachan, Inverness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MissLynne...
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“10 Stars”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

MacKenzie House is absolutely superb. We stayed here with a group of 11 friends for a surprise birthday weekend. Right from the word go, Gail was extremely helpful and went the extra mile, for example buying birthday balloons, to ensure our stay was as best it could be!

We had a snowy weekend at MacKenzie House, however Gail’s husband kindly rescued one of my friends from the snowy road! Gail kept in contact over the course of the weekend to make sure we had everything we needed. It is little things like this that make a difference!

I have stayed in various places across various countries and MacKenzie House is probably up there as one of the best in terms of amenities, value for money and genuine helpful host/owner!

I would recommend this place to family and friends and would encourage anyone thinking about booking MacKenzie House to secure a booking as it won’t disappoint.

Thank you Gail for being very accommodating and a brilliant host. The rest of my party pass on their thanks and thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend!

If you ever decide to sell MacKenzie House I’ll be first in the queue to buy it- an absolute gem of a place!!

Thanks again :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2017
Wow lLynne,, that is one amazing review , thanks so much for all your positive feedback.
I was worried the snow would spoil your stay, but so glad everything went as planned. It truly was a pleasure to meet you all and I will keep you in mind if the house goes up for sale:). Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redsue196...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend with friends”
Reviewed December 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for a weekend with friends, 6 women. The house was lovely, clean and well-equipped. Very spacious with comfy beds and the host, Gail, was helpful and friendly. Lovely welcome pack with some food bits and pieces and prosecco, a lovely touch. Coffee and tea etc provided. Great place to spend a peaceful weekend and the hot tub is a must. Would recommend to families or groups of friends. A real gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Susan. I am so glad you all enjoyed your time at the house. It was a pleasure to meet you & I look forward to maybe meeting you again in the future. Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fshearer
Alness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at MacKenzie House to celebrate my sisters 50th Birthday. The house was all we wished for and more! On arrival we were met by Gail the owner, who showed us round and was lovely to deal with. There was also a fab basket of goodies and some prosecco.

The house is well equipped with everything you need for your stay,(tea/coffee, cleaning products, linen, washing machine, dryer, etc,etc)

The house it absolutely beautiful, it’s light, spacious and has lovely views. The gallery area is amazing! I like that there are lots of different seating areas.

It’s in a great location, just perfect if you like the countryside while only being a short car journey into Inverness. I would highly recommend a stay at MacKenzie House and hope to return at some point in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
I am delighted that your sisters 50th birthday celebration turned out to be a great success at Mackenzie House.
It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and I look forward to maybe seeing you back at the house in the future. Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieshea...
Alness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Just had the best weekend ever at Mackenzie House. The house was decorated to a high standard, very clean and catered for our every need. Would definitely go back there again. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to do this lovely review, I am glad you had such a positive experience at Mackenzie House and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future hopefully. Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The house was better than expected, And the beds were so comfy. The house is equipped with everything you need, cinema is full of DVD's and games, tea and coffee was provided and even a lovely welcome basket filled with goodies, prosecco and fruit etc. Gail was so helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. I would 100% go back again. As soon as we came home we were looking at available dates for our next trip back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review Bethany, I am so glad you all had a great time. It was a pleasure to meet you all and I look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future. Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julsngrah...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely well kept house”
Reviewed October 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely stay at Mackenzie house in October. We loved the situation and the view, very peaceful and we could hear the deer rutting along the road. The beautiful autumn colours were fab. We had two young boys with us and they played safely outside on their bikes (and in the mud as boys do).

The house was very clean and there were lots of lovely touches.

The cinema was fab, we did make sure we made time to watch a film and it was just like being at the cinema, and the heaters made it toasty in no time.

There was only issue we felt is that there is no dining downstairs apart from a breakfast bar for 3 - There were 8 of us and most of the time we stood around and ate our breakfast and had a buffet laid out in the kitchen for one evening meal. There is a lovely dining table upstairs but its tricky to carry lots of hot food though the house and up and down the stairs, esp for people who are not particularly mobile. It would be better if the lovely snooker table was upstairs and the dining table downstairs for example.

We did however have a lovely time in a lovely house.

Thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2017
Thanks for your review Alison- glad you had a nice time. Sorry your stay was tainted slightly by the positioning of the dining table, you are the first of my guests to make reference to this, as most people have made use of the food warmer and haven't found it a problem. The reason we have it positioned on the upper level is so that guests can appreciate the best views from this position- your feedback is appreciated . Thanks Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review James, you have also included some really useful information for other guests. It truly was a pleasure to meet you all and I am glad you had a fantastic time. Gail
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing