We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccably welcoming hostel, extremely worthy of praise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Ness Backpackers
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Six of us, all students at St Andrews University, travelled to Drumnadrochit as part of a tour of Scotland. We stayed in hostels all over the country, at Aviemore, Inverness, Skye, Fort William etc and this was by far and away the most impressive. Drumnadrochit itself is a fantastic little town next to Loch Ness that does much to capture your imagination. One cannot help but marvel and wonder at myths regarding the Loch Ness Monster, the Hanging Tree and Alasdeir Crowley's nearby haunted house. Our group marvelled at the Backpackers Hostel, which sits in a great location from which to explore the area, and we later wondered how our stay there could have been improved. The kitchen, dining, bathroom and bedroom facilities were all of a high standard and this made the low cost of the stay even more of a pleasant surprise. Whilst on the subject of surprises, it certainly shocked me to find poor reviews of this hostel on this website. They are absolutely undeserved for this is a unique hostel, in the sense that you are treated like family, in a very unique place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

Lochness Backpackers is a warm and friendly place, you immediately feel at home when you walk in. Most of all Wendy, the owner, adds a lot to this place because she'd give you very helpful advice on anything that concerns your stay there and is just such a good laugh to chat with. We had the best time there, we did eventually end up not doing a lot of sightseeing because we felt so comfortable at this place. I can't wait to come back and see the new built bar open, it certainly contributes a lot to the hostel vibe. Of course wintertime travels are always a bit more quiet and you'll appreciate the cozy fire in the living room but this is a place where you can just get you batteries recharged and I'm sure it'll be a good craic during summer as well. I'd come back any time and I certainly will!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supicoco86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Some friends and İ really enjoyed our stay here just before Christmas, although weather was exceptionally unkind to us at this time.

Staff are well knowledged of the area. I found their attentiveness exceeded that expected from a hostel, always cheerful and offering advice when I needed to draw money from an ATM or use the internet. Let's face it I don't expect best service when backpacking (what you see is what you get so to speak) but this topped some worn-out expensive B&Bs I have stayed in, with friendly folks to boot.. İt was a nice environment to relax in, a huge fire burning in lounge as we arrived, then we relaxed in the comfy bar and took part in a groups' quiz night. Neil did us proud with some lovely wine in time for the Christmas festivities, at our service despite a recent hand injury, which seemingly happened during the building works; the bar being a new addition! The bar provided us welcoming seating and a useful group briefing place. We did find some clutter about in the hostel but disregarded as there was a refurb going on and also more welly boots around due to the bad weather! All in all it was a good place to enjoy a different kind of festivities. The town, Drumnadrochit, holds a Hogmany party, we missed sadly as were going overseas afterwards.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosycarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Booking made by my friends so we could celebrate the New Year in the Highlands together.

They could not have picked a better place for us to stay, it provided exactly what we were looking for, good clean accomodation at an affordable price. The new addition of a resident bar was great and had great time with other guests, staff and owners.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Spent 3 nights here over Hogmanay. A very depressing place. The owners have packed in as many beds as possible (30+), but with no thoughts about facilities, and clearly started building work and never finished it. The parking is inadequate, and causing running battles with neighbours, the kitchens are dirty, crammed with old boxes and gym equipment and the 3 showers broken, black with mould and grim. Solution, clean the place, finish the building works and reduce the beds to match the facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MintH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmacintosh, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2011

A petty and spiteful comment. This group were taken at short notice because the hostel they were staying at was shut due to burst pipes. We explained that there was equipment in the outside kitchen and they were happy to be accommodated.
The other guests at hogmanay (who were return visitors) didn't find their stay depressing, partying until 5am.
The building work on our brand new bar and function facility is finished offering bar, dining and conference facilities for up to 40 people.
As other guests will attest to, our hostel is cleaned from top to bottom every day. However, groups of hillwalkers, of whom this person was a member, are often very inconsiderate visitors, leaving mud throughout the communal and shower areas, throughout the day as they return. This makes it difficult for the staff to keep the hostel looking how we expect it to.

This group brought 18 cars for 20 guests, taking great exception when asked not to park in the single track lane as a courtesy to our neighbours but to use the overspill carpark at the bottom of the road. Hardly a running battle.
Incidentally, the boxes were brought in by their own group who were doing the catering. Clearly this person was so jack they didn't get involved with the cooking.
The facilities on offer at Loch Ness Backpackers are in excess of that required for a three star VS rated hostel. We are inspected every year at the start of the season by VisitScotland to confirm this.
If you want or expect hotel facilities I suggest that is where you stay. Please don't leave malicious comments about our business, which has thousands of happy travellers every year, because you are too tight to pay for what you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Stayed here just for the one night while we travelled around the highlands and had a seperate room. for what we paid, we were literally sleeping on stinky damp matresses in someones back garden shed.. so noisy, people passing through all hours of the night, impossible to sleep, aboslutely frozre and the kitchen/bathroom facilities were appalling. fine if this was what it was advertised as but it really was dreadful. bit of a downer on such a good trip, not really like the photos on the website at all. disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeriKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmacintosh, Manager at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2011

???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed in the Loch Ness Backpackers hostel for just one night and am glad we were not staying much longer! As far as Youth Hostels go, this is one of the more tatty ones Ive stayed in, with damp in the carpet and cracks in the plasterboard walls - even trying to plug my phone in was a hazard! On the upside, it had a well equipped kichen and friendy, helpful staff and the location is good, but for £60 for a family room per night, I would have hoped for more and was glad I was not staying any longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lottie172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmacintosh, Owner at Loch Ness Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2011

Damp carpet was due to a leak from the shower which has been repaired. Electrical socket was replaced when reported.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loch Ness Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Backpackers

Address: Coiltie Farm House | Drumnadrochit, East Lewiston IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > East Lewiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in East Lewiston
Price Range: $31 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Ness Backpackers is your Highland home away from home. Owners Patrick and Nikki and their team provide a warm welcome in all weathers, with free tea and coffee, a wood burning stove, a well stocked bar, large guest kitchen and lots of friendly smiles and conversation. The farmhouse itself dates back to the 18th century. You can read about the original owners on the wall in the living room. Nowadays, it retains its charm but has been modernized to ensure that you get a good night's sleep and a nice hot shower in the morning before you head out to explore the spectacular surroundings. Free parking and free wifi. Inverness is just 20 minutes by car or bus. On the Great Glen Way. Ideal location for visiting Urquhart Castle. Breakfast, packed lunches and laundry service are available. Dogs welcome (but please call in advance). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Loch Ness Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing