We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loch Ness Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Drumnadrochit Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Whitebridge Hotel(Whitebridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priory Hotel(Beauly)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveler rating
59
36
21
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
36
21
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge roomone nightloch nesskitchen and dining areagreat glen waymunro baggingurquhart castlemain buildingplaces to visitsmall villageother guestsbrilliant staybeds were comfortablewell equipped kitchenexcellent locationa great place to staywarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 146 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

nice quiet hostel, loved the roasting coal fire and the bar. Room was comfortable and well heated. Liked the bar and being able to get a snack meal late at night. Enjoyed the tip of going up to see the castle at night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here whilst paddling the Great Glen Canoe Trail during December, so when we arrived after a days paddling Loch Ness, we were wet, tired and in need of hot showers and a rest......what we got was far from this!
Firstly the 'drying room' as they call it is a damp old shed with a leaky roof and rotting walls....not dry or warm at all! Secondly, the 'host' was almost rude in his tour of the hostel when we arrived, he seemed to spend his time playing on computer games rather than assisting his guests or cleaning the hostel. Perhaps the most disgraceful thing was that the male and female dorms were not kept this way when a coach party arrived, with men seemingly being put into the female dorm.
We stayed in a variety of accommodation including private backpackers and Scottish Youth Hostels. This was most definitely the most disappointing stay, so much so that we did not return for the second night of our stay, but opted to drive to Inverness for better accomodation. Mixed sex toilets and showers, with only 1 lockable cubicle for around 15 people using the hostel on that night. The duvet covers are not changed between guests.....quite how this is hygienic I do not know! The rooms are in a state of dis-repair and the kitchen was a health hazard quite frankly with dirt and muck adorning every surface, unwashed pots and pans.
We felt that the £22 paid per person was far too much and very expensive and we have stayed in much better places for less. Definitely would not stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a group of 4 - 3males+1female

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craystonrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff was wonderful as were the guests staying there. Hands down one of the best experiences I've had while touring around Scotland. The staff was very helpful in telling us about the area and where we might travel to next. The guests kept us entertained all evening telling us stories. All in all it was a very friendly and positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mermaid1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I had an enjoyable stay here. Nothing fancy or to write home about, but nothing disappointing either. Was a short walk from wherever I needed to go. Free Wifi in the downstairs. Very helpful staff. Rooms were tidy also

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank paksaltopam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here whilst walking the Great Glen Way. We stayed in a variety of accommodation including private backpackers and Scottish Youth Hostels. This was most definitely the most disappointing stay. Mixed wc's and showers. Duvet covers not changed between guests. Room in dis-repair. Kitchen in need of tlc. Noisy stairs. Paid £3 per person for breakfast which was help yourself from the cupboards, but unfortunately not well stocked.
In saying that it is a Backpackers hostel so you pay for what you get, but have stayed in much better for the same price. Definitely would not stay here again. This hostel is also 1.5 miles from Drumnadrochit and makes the last day on the GGW to Inverness a long day!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews