We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW ! ! ! !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Limpert Bay Guest House

Limpert Bay Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Limpert Bay Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Gileston B&B and Inns
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW ! ! ! !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We decided to go the the Carne Arms, Llysworney for our anniversary and looked for somewhere to stay for the night. We made the decision at the very last minute and with the sun shining and temperatures rising it proved impossible to find a suitable place to stay in or around Cowbridge. It was looked like we would have to make it a 300 mile daytrip until we widened our search area and found Limpert Bay B&B.

It was on a pebble beach, not too far from where we were heading and had a self-contained flat with its own private entrance. Perfect for us. The reviews praised the B&B, the owners and the breakfast . . . . And it was available.

We had a wonderful time at Limpert Bay. Sharne and Tucker treated us like old friends. On arrival Sharne asked if we had brought milk. As it happened, we had forgotten the milk and Sharne instantly made a bottle appear for us. She then kindly offered to give us a lift to the nearby pub if we wanted an evening meal. The flat was perfect. Compact but with everything you could possibly need including a ridiculously comfortable bed.

Served in a beautiful dining room, the full breakfast was the perfect way to round off our anniversary celebration (and oh my life, the reviews are spot on - fabulous breakfast, made exactly to order, poached egg, yum yum yum!)

And as for the power station. We sat alone on the beach and watched the incredible sunset. We slept like lambs. We made coffee in the morning and watched horses while the kettle bolied. Sharne gave us about eight pounds of apples from one of the trees in the garden. We had a truly marvellous breakfast that kept us going until we got home . . . . Did someone say power station?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We originally booked to say in a double room at Limpert Bay Guest House. We arrived early (our own fault) but the Landlady Sharne suggested a place to go until we were able to book in. (Which was a lovely find!)

On arrival we were offered a choice of accomodation and were shown a lovely flat which had a self contained kitchen and living area with a good size bedroom and bath. As it provided a little more privacy we opted for the flat. It was in excellent condition. Modern Decor and very comfortable, complete with a see veiw.

Breakfast was great and the staff where very flexible and helpful. Lovely people.

There is a sizeable power station next to the guest house, however this did not detract from our enjoyment of the view and of our holiday.

We were more than happy staying at the Limpert bay guest houst and would recommend to friends and family. Hope to visit again. Thank you to Sharne and Tucker.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Brilliant a little gem. All staff were friendly - and advised us on days out.
Warm.cosy.friendly.Excellent breakfast and hospitality.
Rooms were clean, warm and cosy..
Loved the free range eggs and the Welsh breakfast.
Thanks for everything- including the Lava bread.
Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niaeeinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

This little family run B&B is Fantastic, The room was clean and warm, to be honest it was a better nights sleep than I get at home, and that is saying something. The landlord and Landlady are extreamly friendly and helpful and even gave us directions to everywhere we needed to go. The Breakfast was out of this world, they let you pick what you want and how its cooked, what else can a man ask for!!.
the location is breathtaking, right on the beach., and our room over looked what looked like an endless view of fields and coastline.
I liked this place that much we have re-booked for october half term and I cant wait.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed here with my friends and my young daughter who is 3 for 1 night when visiting for a friends christening in St Athan, I thought it was really nice, relaxed and very comfortable, the owners Sharne and Tucker were really friendly and helpful with out a doubt, the twin room was very clean with good decor and had the beds were really comfortable, it had everything you needed, my daughter didnt want to get out of hers, the en suite was more than big enough, our room looked out into a little courtyard which was nice, and the full english breakfast was spot on.
It is located on the beach with rooms with sea and beach views, there is a power station next to the guest house but who sits in there rooms all day when there is so many places to go and see. I would certainly visit this guest house again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikstaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Limpert Bay Guest House, we found it to be very comfortable, staff were friendly, the room was clean and very nicely decorated and breakfast was the biggest Id ever had in a B+B! English breakfast with the works!! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There was a power station next door but you could'nt see it or hear it from the room in fact we had a beautiful sea view from one window and a garden view from the other, all in all a very reasonably priced B+B

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaznBecksCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

Friendly landlady
Our room was small, we'd booked a double but were given a twin. Tiny bathroom in a cupboard.
The most amazing thing was the power station just next to the house. No mention of this in their advertising or during our stay. The hum of the power station was easily audible and interfered with getting off to sleep

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gileston
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
3.7 mi away
The West House Country Hotel
The West House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llantwit Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aberthaw House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel
3.9 mi away
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
Newcourt Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Llantwit Major
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limpert Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limpert Bay Guest House

Property: Limpert Bay Guest House
Address: The Leys, Gileston CF62 4HX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Gileston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gileston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Limpert Bay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limpert Bay Guest house is a friendly family-run guest house in the heart of the Vale of Glamorgan which overlooks the Bristol Channel. The Limpert Bay Guest house is a converted 16th century boat house which is situated on the beach front in Gileston village in the Vale of Glamorgan. Gileston is located off the B4265 in between Barry and Llantwit Major. it is sited on the Glamorgan Heritage Coast, which runs from Aberthaw to Porthcawl.The Limpert Bay Guest House is an ideal location for both business visitors and tourists who want a base to explore the area. The Limpert is conveniently located near: Cardiff International Airport - 6 milesCardiff City Centre -12 milesBarry - 8 milesBridgend- 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Limpert Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing