We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best stay in costa rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Lichtervelde, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best stay in costa rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Two weeks ago, we had a holiday in costa rica. After we had rent a car in San Jose, we went up to our first hotel, Las Nubes in Matapalo. Las Nubes is an full selfsupporting energy resort. The owner Filip, from Belgium, has built this resort two years ago. The "cabanas" are very private and very luxiourious.
Especially the way to LAs Nubes is an adventure on its own. But once upon the top of the mountain, the setting is spectacular. One side you have a magnificent view over the pacific ocean, on the other side you see the moutains.
The owner serves a fantastic breakfast, and on your request he also serves dinner.
Las Nubes, the best place i visited, the last couple of years. Highly recommended to everyone who seeks for rest, and peace, and a wonderful setting.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same, but if possible choose the one with the seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comines, Hainaut, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Once arrived at Las Nubes, you think you are dreaming... you immediately feel part of all that beautiful nature around you, you look around, you are in perfect harmony. It is a very special place that gives you a feeling of peacefulness, of self-confidence, of beauty... words can not really describe this. That is the reason why it is worth seeing this by yourself, with your own eyes. And also share it with others, as much as possible.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zonhoven, Limburg, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

A unique place with a unique kind of energy. Staying there means travelling between clouds, sun and an impressive nature to end up into your own heart. Completely filled with joy I recommend this from the bottom of my heart!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Never have been on a place like this! Such an authentic place, that invites you to be just who you are and to live an authentic life!!! I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Just touched home base again and I directly booked my holiday for 2013. I spend 2 weeks at Las Nubes: the first week with clients, the second week with family. Living in Las Nubes moved me to tears. Every word you read on the website is true...and beyond. AMAZING and devine.
Don't hesitate. If it feels good by watching the pictures, book it!

Room Tip: Every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inge1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtervelde, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

A stunning place on earth with unbelievable views, phantastic walk to the waterfalls, charming owner and chef (a real culinary treat), horse riding on the beach, refreshing personal coaching sessions. This hotel is beyond your imagination and ideal to get re-energised!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

For the people that are looking for a hide place, admire nature, incredible views, excellent food and service and beautiful facilities, everything in a subtained way with earth, THIS IS THE PLACE!. Cannot leave this comment without mentioning that the people that work in Las Nubes are in total harmony with nature and unique. Friendship, sharing and feeling at home is something you will definitely experience at Las Nubes.
We will come back there for sure. ; )

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federicocruzch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Matapalo
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Palapa Eco Lodge Resort
10.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
12.3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#2 of 13 in Dominical
5.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Jardin de los Monos
Jardin de los Monos
#2 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rafiki Beach Camp
Rafiki Beach Camp
#1 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Aba Matapalo
Casa Aba Matapalo
#3 of 5 in Playa Matapalo
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort

Property: Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort
Address: 6 km al Norte de Escuela San Andres, Playa Matapalo 60601, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Matapalo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Nubes is a biotech resort design to relax, detoxify and retreat in an eco-friendly and pure environment. A sacred place of happiness and live energy, far from everything but closer to its goal: building a better life through consciousness, sustainability and friendliness. Our aim is to offer a unique, small scale and exclusive experience to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Nubes Natural Energy Resort Costa Rica/Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing