We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Well Located and Clean.”
Review of D'Cave Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunung Mulu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D'Cave Homestay
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed in room 2 (private room) with 2 queen bed and 1 single bed. The bed is big for 3 of us. Fan's provided. The weather is hot during the day (wont be a big problem coz you're out there almost all day in the park) and cold during night in which we won't turn on the fan. Dina and family were very helpful and friendly. They tried as much as they can to provide the best service. The food supply are halal (as they claimed the food/meat was from Miri in which have been slaughtered), but they have used the utensil to serve/cook pork in which Dina have honestly told us. Hence, she prepared the simple meals (toast and scramble eggs) and serve it in polystyrene box. She cook the eggs in the separate pan from the one she used before. She also plan eagerly to buy a new cooking utensils so that it can be conveniently used for her muslim guest. The private room price is RM35 per head (breakfast included). The shared bathroom is clean and it also being upgraded during my stay, hence there will be more shower room in future. The hostel was very near to the airport, you can either walk or arrange for pick up with Robert/Dina for free. (1-2 minutes drive). It also only 7 minutes walking to the park, but the road will be dark (no lamp post along the road), it is advisable to bring your torchlight if you went back to the hostel at night from th park.

Room Tip: I would recommend the private room unless you dont mind mix with others in dorms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ariza213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for D'Cave Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Dina's philosophy is service with a smile. She will make you feel at home from the moment you walk in. She is smiling and laughing all the time. Her cooking is fantastic, the breakfast price is included in the room price (25 MYR per bed for the dorm room). Keep in mind that the breakfast inside the park costs more than 15 MYR!!! The homestay is located between the airport and the park entrance which is perfect. We were comfortable and extremely satisfied with D'Cave and hope to return. One of the highlights of our trip was the cultural dancing night and hanging out with Beckham (Dina and Robert's son). ***There are many cats so don't stay here if you don't like cats.

Room Tip: The dorm room has many beds and everyone wakes up quite early, 7:30am at the latest. Pick a private...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie6688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Dina, Robert and their staff are so welcoming and warm. Dina goes out of her way to make you feel at home and runs a great homestay. The rooms are cleaned daily and the breakfast always fills you up for the day! We were very lucky to be here during a family birthday and were welcomed to their party and Dina showed us some Malaysian dancing. One of the best nights of my 7 month trip.
A fantastic place to meet other travellers and explore mulu national park!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Dina and Robert were the most welcoming, friendly and personable hosts ever. Dina and her family provide super breakfasts every morning with lots of variety (banana crepes, fried noodles, samosas, eggs, etc.) Several evenings she also cooked dinner which was amazingly good. I was there for her birthday celebration which included fabulous food, local beer and dancing. I will never forget how much fun I had there. There are private rooms as well as a very reasonably priced dorm room. When I visited the bath house was in the process of being upgraded. When hot showers are installed, I'll move in permanently:)

Room Tip: I'd suggest a private room unless you are a dorm kind of person.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drleanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Robert and Dina's house. They were extremely hospitable and informative. Everything is quite basic but the cozy atmosphere that's always present makes this place way better than the accommodation elsewhere in mulu. Btw, Dina is a great cook! She serves the best breakfast in Malaysia! And also let her prepare dinner for you! Amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuudBeverborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here at Dcave! We were able to book a private room for 3 for 35myr each per night even though there were 4 beds in our room. Accommodations are basic and they seemed to be redoing the bathroom while we were there and prepping to install actual sinks. The family that lives in the home and runs the business could not have been nicer. Dina picked us up from the airport even though it was a short drive from their home. It made it easier with our packs and they were nice enough to take us back to the airport before our flight back free of charge. Breakfast was included with our stay and every morning was great. Crêpes, eggs, toast, and a few other rotating choices were prepared quickly as we sat down so we could eat a hot meal before heading out to hike for the day. The park is only about a 10 min walk around the corner from the house and easy to find. This is the best budget choice for the area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Clambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This homestay is truly a great place to stay when visiting Gunung Mulu National Park. Robert and Dina will do everything to make your stay pleasant. They have four private rooms and a dormitory with 10 beds. We have met quite some people who were not able to make bookings at any homestay around the National pPrk. It is only a short walk from the National Park and it has electricity almost all day (and no bedbugs)!

As per 1 January 2014 it is, however, possible to book a room or a bed in the dormitory through AIRBNB!

Hopefully our fellow travellers will now find it easier to book a room at this homestay and meet Robert, Dina, their son Beckham and the three cute cats (Maro, Moto and Masi).

Room Tip: Just take a look at Airbnb
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Dutch_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunung Mulu National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa
Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Gunung Mulu National Park
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mulu Village
Mulu Village
#1 of 2 in Gunung Mulu National Park
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benarat Inn
Benarat Inn
#4 of 7 in Gunung Mulu National Park
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Cave Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Cave Homestay

Address: Mulu National Park, Gunung Mulu National Park 98008, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Gunung Mulu National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gunung Mulu National Park
Price Range: $7 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mulu D'Cave Homestay - An alternative accomodation option for travellers to Mulu National Park. Located just 300 m away from Mulu National Park and near the river, we welcome you to stay with us and experience the way our local Mulu people live in this small and remote village. Do expect a warm and welcoming service provided by my family. So come and join us. Here might just be your home away from home! We also organize tours in the park to the show caves (Deer and Lang caves, Clearwater and Wind caves) with a licensed guide, the Pinnacles, Headhunter Trail, and pitcher plant. Paypal is accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D'Cave Homestay Gunung Mulu National Park, Malaysia - Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing