We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Mulu”
Review of D'Cave Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunung Mulu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D'Cave Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find in Mulu”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Robert and Dina were great hosts. We stayed in a private room for 4 nights while exploring mulu national park. The breakfast was really good and Dina was really helpful about my dietary requirements as I have a gluten allergy. The location is good and it's the best value place to stay if your travelling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    53
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
47
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sohar, Oman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here in a dorm bed for three nights in the busy July travel period. A good choice outside the park in Mulu. Staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Relaxed atmosphere and a good place to meet fellow travelers. Excellent value for the price with a very generous and substantial breakfast included in the price. About a 10 minute walk from both the park entrance and airport. Very playful kittens are likely to befriend you here.

Room Tip: There are some simple private 'family' rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights as accommodation in the National Park was fully booked. We stayed in a private room which was spacious and clean (although basic).

But it was the family which made our stay comfortable. They were helpful, informative and full of smiles! Breakfast every morning was a real treat! They also live with 7 cats which love attention. So if you're not a cat person, book a private room as they love to snuggle with people in the dorm room.

They don't have wifi access so every night everyone would sit around the table sharing travel stories. It had a nice family feel about it. If you need wifi access, you can just go to the cafe in the national park.

It's only a 15 min walk from the airport and a 5 min walk to the national park. We enjoyed our stay so much it felt like saying goodbye to family when we left.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJI1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was like staying with your family. Dina and Robert are great hosts and made sure that you were ok and answered any questions you had.
The homestay is quite basic but you do get a huge breakfast and is only just over a 5 minute walk away from the park entrance.
D'Cave is about a 5-10 minute walk from the airport or you can get transport there for 5 ringgits.
Most people come together to eat outside for breakfast and dinner, exchange the days tales and have a bit of a laugh every night, so really makes your experience a good one.
Will def be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: They have 7 cats, so if you d not like cats, this is not the place for you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiraz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 beds here but when we got there a mixup had occurred and there were no beds available. The owner felt really bad and arranged a bed down the road for us. Although the new place was not nearly as nice the owners paid for our night and we still went back to D'cave for our free breakfast. I thought that wa great service! A free night when on a budget is always welcomed. The next two nights we got a private room at D'cave. Breakfast was different every morning and plentiful with delicious coffee. Dinner could also be arranged and was also delicious!!! When we left they arranged a ride back to the airport (which is only a 10 min walk away) and gave us 2 free ice cold beers. :) When the owners weren't cooking they were cleaning. D'cave is only a 5 minute walk from the park and was a very pleasant stay if you are on a budget. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Kelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Dina and Robert are the ultimate hosts. They would do anything for you and give their heart and soul to their job and guests. They take the time to talk to everyone and smother you with tlc such as welcome drinks and extra food. No-one goes hungry. They work very hard and meals sometimes come at varied times depending on how busy they are. The homestay has a collection of interesting guests and the atmosphere is wonderful. 8 cats were in residence when I visited so those allergic or intolerant of cats would not enjoy their stay. It adds to the charm. Despite limited bathroom facilities out the back there was never a line up and Dina even brings your clothes in off the line if there is a downpour- so thoughtful. You are treated like family at this lovely homestay.

Room Tip: There are twin and family rooms and also a dorm room. Everyone walks through the dorm to get to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alp390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I Stayed for 3 nights in the open dorm of this humble yet extremely accommodating homestay. In terms of value for what you pay for, you get a decent sized breakfast, beds that were not laid on the ground that were also comfortable enough where two nights in a row I was able to get 9 hours of sleep. Basic shower and toilet facilities, but everyone has to share some sometimes there is a queue. There are kittens that will say Hello so if you do not like cats I would not reccomend you stay here. But more importantly the owners will go out of there way to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay. The homestay is basic so do not expect ammenities similar to a hotel. Overall best value for budget travel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ADKraised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunung Mulu National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa
Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Gunung Mulu National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mulu Village
Mulu Village
#1 of 2 in Gunung Mulu National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benarat Inn
Benarat Inn
#4 of 7 in Gunung Mulu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Cave Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Cave Homestay

Property: D'Cave Homestay
Address: Mulu National Park, Gunung Mulu National Park 98008, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Gunung Mulu National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gunung Mulu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mulu D'Cave Homestay - An alternative accomodation option for travellers to Mulu National Park. Located just 300 m away from Mulu National Park and near the river, we welcome you to stay with us and experience the way our local Mulu people live in this small and remote village. Do expect a warm and welcoming service provided by my family. So come and join us. Here might just be your home away from home! We also organize tours in the park to the show caves (Deer and Lang caves, Clearwater and Wind caves) with a licensed guide, the Pinnacles, Headhunter Trail, and pitcher plant. Paypal is accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D'Cave Homestay Gunung Mulu National Park, Malaysia - Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing