We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mulu World Heritage Area Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa(Gunung Mulu National Park)
$128
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Purnama Hotel(Limbang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mulu Village(Gunung Mulu National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Breakfast included
    Prime Hotel(Limbang)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Mulu Backpackers Homestay(Gunung Mulu National Park)
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (310)
    Filter reviews
    310 results
    Traveler rating
    157
    118
    24
    6
    5
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    157
    118
    24
    6
    5
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgarden bungalownight walkcanopy walkbat exoduspark hqclearwater cavehot wateradventure cavingin advancethe riversuspension bridgesouvenir shopracer cavecancelled dueeden walkwonderful parkgunung mulu
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    153 - 158 of 310 reviews
    Reviewed December 28, 2013

    All the trails to the Mulu caves start from the Park HQ, so it is most convenient to stay in Mulu National Park. We stayed in a 4-beded room in Longhouse II. The room is large with 2 shower rooms and 1 toilet. However, only one of the shower room has an instant water heater. The room is basic but comfortable enough, considering that this is a remote village in the midst of the jungle. The food in the café was good, though a little pricey. Most of the service staffs are locals. Other than those in the Park HQ, most of the other staffs could only speak simple English.

    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Kosmos-phos
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 26, 2013

    Just came back from this place! It was our least favorite trip! The caves are great and overall the (outside) park is well maintained with wooden pathways. But the chalet = gross! It was musty, old, mildew with the wood floor and cabinets rotten and cracked/ripped out/blackened with molds!

    I expected simple and woodsy but this was gross! The curtains were hung up crooked and old/dusty! We had to leave the windows opened so we could bare to sleep inside. Some light plugs didn't work and air conds, when on, make the place even smellier if that is possible! We were told that they were fully booked and only had hostel beds as the only other option, which may be we should have changed to... At rm324 (for 4 people), that chalet (the first one you come to on the path, in case they change the name) is outrageously overpriced!!!

    We are even more disappointed with the staff. We have traveled all over SE Asia and have lived in Penang, but here the attitude was not the famed Malaysian hospitality that i come to love. Everyone from the park staff to the servers in the restaurant were sub par. It's like they didn't want to be there because they rather be home with their families for Christmas... Everyone wore a somber and uninterested face! For us it's the people that make the place memorable!

    The guides were unknowledgeable and unenthusiastic! Some tours we had to jog to keep up with the guide! He would share some info then move on before the rest of the group could gather / hear what he had said. Two ladies in our group told me at dinner to complain cuz they did and got their money back!

    Another guest said he was there back in 2008 and loved it! Everything from the tours to the food and couldn't wait to show to his wife this time... Sadly he had the same crappy experience that we did, but we didn't have any expectation just that nothing was good! He confirmed it for us... plus the food is 2 - 3X the norm (a la carte rm12-16 for nasi lemak or rice/chicken curry) and not even tasty! Beer was rm 9.60.

    To top it off, every night until late- 2 am, someone decides to set off some sort of fireworks, with loud explosion sound, which jarred us out of our sleep!

    When first booked back in May, already was told that there was only chalets left since we were a family of 4. Then i was asked to put a deposit of rm200 via cc or bank. When i asked if that was the norm, the reply from Jeremy was a one liner, that "it was their prerogative to ask for a deposit" with no other explanation! Seriously?!?it's a national park, not a privately owned resort!!! Of course i was leery since no such info is on their website and several of the other reviewers said that they did not have to prepay... I already have a bad taste in my mouth... i brought my cc statement as proof per their instruction, cuz i didn't want anymore hassles...it was bad attitude from day 1...

    May be because it was Christmas so the usual guides are off duty! In that case the Park should really consider closing for a few days instead of having substitute workers, providing sub par services! How very sad for us guests who are on a family Christmas holiday!?!

    Room Tip: Avoid the Garden of Eden chalet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank TBONEUSA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 21, 2013

    The Mulu caves are a must and staying right in the World Heritage Area is a rare privilege. We stayed in the hostel, which was quiet, clean and safe. Sharing bathrooms was not a problem and there was plenty of room. We were provided with a sheet, blanket, towel and pillow case. For evening meals we went just outside the park to a nearby restaurant for fine Malaysian rice and noodles. A bit cheaper than the cafe in the park.

    Room Tip: Try the hostel.
    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Robyn12
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 20, 2013

    Nothing to complain about the bungalow. It's clean and spacious. Minor complain is the pillow case kinda damp. Might due to the rainy season. They were not dried enough with lack of sunshine days. They should really consider to dry stuff with dryer.
    Very close to the national park trail. Food was good in cafe, not cheap though, expected.
    The room has a queen bed and a large single bed.
    Wifi is only available in Cafe with 5rm a day.

    • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Enig_Hui
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 1, 2013

    The first thing you should understand about the reviews on Mulu accommodations is there dorms, longhouses, and cottages, all very different.

    I did check out the dorms. They were clean and bright enough, you're experience will largely be determined by your dorm mates. I haven't stayed in the longhouses so I'm unable to provide any information.

    The bungalows are the deluxe accommodations at the park headquarters. They are relatively new, spacious with really great patios. There is a large bed and a queen sized futon mattress in each room, making it good for a family with small children. There are plenty of windows so there is good light in the room.

    The patios are great for sitting when the rain comes down. I've been here during the dry and wet season. I definitely prefer the wet season as it will cool down more with the afternoon rains. The bungalows are located right between the headquarters office and the trail heads which are all fairly close together.

    The park headquarters has a nice open restaurant perched over the river. It's a great place to hang out after hiking and the food menu is surprisingly good. There is a restaurant just out side the park gates, they'll have cheaper beer but the food isn't on the same level. The locals do go there so it can make for a good crowd in the evenings.

    Overall the park is very well run, well worth a visit.

    • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Michael S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews