We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value in Mulu”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunung Mulu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mulu World Heritage Area Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in It's spacious 21-bed hostel, which allowed us enough time for most attractions around the Park headquarter. Each bed cost 41 RM per night, including a cleanly washed set of bed sheet, blanket and pillowcase. The complementary breakfast comes with choices of continental, Indian, Malay or Chinese style. The maintenance team do a great job in keeping everything tidy and neat. They even take care of my leftover bottle until I returned to claim it.
Family run hotels outside the park may offer cheaper rooms at 35 RM, but can never match the park hostel's safety, cleanness, as well as the chance to share your experience in the daytime with other occupants.

Room Tip: bed selection is based on "first come, first serve" practice, while those at the inner end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qing0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 300 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place is amazing! We stayed in a room in one of the longhouses after feeling a bit disappointed that we missed out on one of the garden bungalows (based on previous reviews). Don't be afraid to stay in the longhouses! The rooms are private (including good sized bathroom), beds are comfortable, huge amount of space including a clothes hanger for wet stuff. The restaurant on site was terrific - good meals, ok process, fantastic ambience. Activities are all well organised, well guided (the guides are all really fun). I cannot recommend this place highly enough - it is truly a magical place!

Room Tip: Any of the longhouse rooms are great - completely private and well positioned with outside (under-co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent two nights in one of the luxurious chalets of the Mulu World Heritage Area, and we absolutely loved it! The chalet really was luxurious, with plenty of space (including in the bathroom), air-con, modern furniture, and a lovely terrace. We slept really well both nights. Everything was spotless, and right next to the main park facilities. An additional advantage is that you do not have to go far to go on one of the organised cave tours or jungle/canopy walks.

The park was also really well maintained. As for the caves... well, the fact that they are part of the world heritage says it all! A must stay.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to go for the most expensive chalets: they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthemise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We could not fault the accommodation at this park. We stayed in the garden cabins and they were of a standard that would be acceptable in Australia let alone Malaysia. Spacious, air-conditioned and with excellent shower and bathroom. Big veranda's for relaxing and close to the facilities. The park itself offers many different walks and going to the caves (including Deer and Lang) are a must. Be prepared for a fair bit of walking and climbing of stairs inside the caves. It is well worth it. The food was limited but okay and we could not complain about the quality.The airport is only a short 5 minute drive from the park. This park is professionally managed unlike Bako National park where we also went.Highly recommend this on your itinerary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hostel as the other accomodation were fully booked. The facilities inside the hostel was basic but still comfortable. They have hot water and the toilets are commendable. Those who wants to save money should opt for this type of accomodation. Plus you can interact with the other visitors if you would like to.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josinadom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best location to stay within the Mulu NP (not too much else around). These cabins give you the jungle vibe but are quite luxurious considering you are in the jungle. The food in the restaurant is cheap and nice, the price for the beer was below 10 ringgit. The transportation from the airport is arranged, but be careful you need to arrange it yourself when going back. It is not difficult and costs 5 ringgit.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

There's not much choice when it comes to staying in or near Gunung Mulu - the Resort was being redeveloped by Marriott, so I stayed in the park - and given some of the poor reviews for dorm accommodation I splashed out on a bungalow. These are large and bright, with deck areas outside, good shower facilities, air-conditioning and beds that are comfortable but not exactly luxurious. There are no tables/desks inside where you could work (and there's no internet access) and the bungalows have limited electrical sockets for charging devices. Being inside the park means one can wander out at leisure and follow any of the park trails at dawn or at dusk (they recommend you advise Park HQ before setting out and on return).

The only restaurant on-site offers rather a good breakfast. Though I was travelling alone, the bungalow would happily have slept three, or even possibly 4.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terribleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gunung Mulu National Park hotels
5.7 mi away
Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa
Mulu Marriott Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Gunung Mulu National Park
446 reviews
0 mi away
Mulu Village
Mulu Village
#1 of 2 in Gunung Mulu National Park
85 reviews
0 mi away
Benarat Inn
Benarat Inn
#4 of 7 in Gunung Mulu National Park
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kenny's B&B
Kenny's B&B
#6 of 7 in Gunung Mulu National Park
2 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mulu World Heritage Area Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulu World Heritage Area Accommodation

Address: Mulu National Park Headquarters, Gunung Mulu National Park 98007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Gunung Mulu National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gunung Mulu National Park
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Gunung Mulu National Park Headquarters Hotel Gunung Mulu National Park
Mulu World Heritage Area Accommodation Gunung Mulu National Park, Malaysia - Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing