We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully comfortable beds.... and more!!”
other travelers have booked this property
 The open plan sitting room and kitchen.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 The open plan sitting room and kitchen.
The Neuk is the middle house in a row of three similar fishing cottages. The kitchen is well-equipped and has an induction hob and dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
The open plan sitting room and kitchen.
The Neuk is the middle house in a row of three similar fishing cottages.
The kitchen is well-equipped and has an induction hob and dishwasher.
The dining area sits four people comfortably.
Lots of books, maps and games are provided for your stay.
The double (kingsize) bedroom is on the first floor, adjacent to the bathroom.
The cottage is filled with an eclectic mix of furniture, artwork and curios.
The bathroom has a large shower cubicle and an extra-large heated towel rail.
A rope banister leads you to the attic bedroom.
This room has two single beds and faces the front of of the cottage.
This is a spacious room and filled with light during the summer.
The cottage is located just round the corner from the harbour.
A view of the west harbour.
A rainbow over the east end of the village at low tide.
In the winter, all boats are lifted out of the water and stored on the quay.
The St Monans windmill, on the coastal path leading to Pittenweem a mile away.
The pan tile roofs are a traditional feature in this area of Fife.
St Monans is an active harbour with shellfish boats and pleasure boats too.
A view of the harbour from the West end.
St Monans Kirk, overlooks the sea and the coastal path leading to Elie.
Enjoy amazing beach walks such as the West Sands in St Andrews. (image:Cornfield/(Shutterstock)
There are lots of golf course options available locally.(image:Cornfield/(Shutterstock)
Fresh seafood is available locally - to buy and cook at home or to eat out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie G
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderfully comfortable beds.... and more!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We arrived after a long drive, the cottage was very easy to find, the key was where Steven had said it would be and parking was easy.
The cottage is decorated in a tasteful manner , lovely open plan down stairs living area, not cramped at all.
Bedrooms were nicely decorated with the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in (apart from my own), bedding and towels are included and the beds were made up for us . The cottage was spotlessly clean.
The three adults and 2 dogs had a fantastic 4 night break - walks around the coast and drives further afield.
I'm going to be hard pressed to top this for next year - looks like we'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and decor
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigsteffy...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a lovely village!”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was a great holiday and fantastic experience from start to finish.
Steven was always polite and helpful in his correspondence and we set off for St Monans on a sunny day. The cottage was very easy to find and centrally located and after collecting the keys we made ourselves comfortable.
The cottage is very well appointed and very nicely renovated. The main living area has enough space for 4 and was thankfully cool in the summer heat. We stayed here for three nights and loved the place. St Monans is a lovely, quiet harbour village and has some great places to eat and relax.
The bedrooms were comfy and well appointed and we had no issues to report.
Would definitely stay here again and the bonus of this cottage is that it's dog friendly and a lovely walk to Elie one way or Pittenweem the other.
Thanks Steven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We are staying here just now with our little dog for the weekend . The cottage is everything it says it is and more. It is cosy and stylish and in a perfect location if you like peace and quiet, beautiful scenery, and some nice coastal walks. We love lighting the fire at night after a long day of walking and just chilling. Will be back and would recommend to anyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - come back for your boots!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann s
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very belated review but second visit even better than the first”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Meant to post this last year during our stay with our two young granddaughers. What a fantastic return visit. Pre-visit correspondence, arrival arrangements absolutely spot on.

The owner also very helpful gave us details about Sam (the Lobster Man) who lives next door. Our granddaughters wrote him a note and negotiated us buying two lobster which he delivered the next day - an unforgettable experience for them.

Our previous visit suited us as a couple and our little ones (age 8 and 5) adored their top floor bedroom and were also charmed by the design and furniture in the house. Although it was July, we lit a cosy fire which made it all the more charming.

The house was as clean as it had been the first time and the reading materials and facilities were super useful. The occasional wish for a TV from the little ones but we spent so much time outside crabbing, rock pooling etc etc that they were far too tired to really think about watching TV.

We look forward to visiting again one day and although we live less than 30 minutes away, the East Neuk and this house specifically, makes you feel you're in a very special place.

Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous design and location
Liked least: No TV if young ones with you but tbh, we didn't really need or want it!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write so eloquently about your holiday - I am pleased you all had such a good time at the Neuk - come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kit141
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“quality and simple style”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house is well located and well set up. Great linen. We all loved St Monans Fishing Village. Very handy having the Diving Gannet cafe/shop opposite for cake, latte/ milkshakes ans seaside gifts. The Smokehouse salmon was so good.
Friendly locals - a beautiful time of year to go to Fife. Visited Falkland Palace 30 mins away for a contrast. Highly recommend a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good peaceful location
Liked least: the sofa was uncomfortable
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great bolt hole”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautifully decorated throughout, stones throw from the harbour. Ideal stopping off point for St Andrews and the area. Will be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no tv
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn C
Netherfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spacious cottage with great character”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

It's always amazed me how the weather can influence your feelings; when we arrived early evening on the Friday, after driving 7 hours in drizzle and lorry spray and no sunshine, everywhere felt cold and disappointing. No desire to go far and an early night beckoned. Wake up next day to blue skies and a cottage that was shining. Great nights sleep in really comfy beds and a terrific shower, plenty of hot water too.
We enjoyed our stay immensely, with just a small problem caused by the cleaner overlooking downstairs, whereas everywhere else was immaculate.
You'll need to plan your eating as the village has only a small Spar (now a post office in the road opposite the house), but there's a nice place to eat called East Pier and Pittenweem and Anstruther have good choice too.
We don't want TV on holiday when there's a hundred walks on your doorstep or the sea to gaze across whilst contemplating your next move. It's a wonderful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: situation and access; the charming character inside the house
Liked least: no mat inside the front door which meant for a wet and dirty kitchen floor!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing