We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Place”
other travelers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Attic Double Bedroom
The Attic Double Bedroom
The Attic Double Bedroom
The Child's Single Bedroom
The Child's Single Bedroom
The Child's Single Bedroom
The Double Bedroom with Ensuite
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Attic Double Bedroom
The Building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
David T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I stayed at the deck house with my family for 3 nights. It's a beautiful house in the most amazing setting. The views are spectacular. The house is very comfortable and it has everything you would need. We enjoyed the outdoor space that the house offered. There are lots of interesting places nearby. The Deck House is perfect for a family holiday at anytime of the year.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Many thanks for such a great review, we are so happy you had a lovely time and we hope you will come back and visit us again. Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo G
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed here with our 2 girls and friends over the new year period. The house is beautiful split over lots of levels with gorgeous sea views. The kitchen is very well equipped. Lots of games and a wii to keep the kids amused. We loved it so much we are going back this new year.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Many thanks for such a great review and we look forward to having you visit us again at New Year. Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
velzian1
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Deckhouse”
Reviewed July 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I am so glad I managed to Book The Deckhouse for my mums surprise 70th Birthday. We had a small group of family and it really made her long weekend extra special. Lyn was extremely communative throughout the booking and we were made to feel very welcome. The house is very well equipped. The Deckhose has stunning views and ideally situated. Great for a BBQ outside. Inside the house was spotless. Just above the kitchen their is a bedroom ( accessable by ladder) and I struggled to get up and down it but I can be a little over cautious and I think most would not have have an issue with this. Id say that this is a bedroom would suit a younger couple. St Monans is such a lovely littte place and I would definatley recomment staying at The Deckhouse.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
I am so glad you all had a such a great time and many thanks for such a great review, we really do appreciate your comments and we hope you will return.

Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenf...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely house in lovely location”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a long weekend here as attending a family wedding nearby. Accommodation was excellent. The stair to upper bedroom is a bit steep so not suitable for less able folk! Only fault with stay was it wasn't nearly long enough!

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Many thanks for such a lovely review and we hope you will return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice house, lovely situation, but description of the accommodation is inaccurate”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

The situation of The Deck House is lovely and St Monans is a beautiful fishing village. The sitting room is comfortable, with lots of seating and views over the sea, and the kitchen is very well equipped. However the bedrooms are not as described: there is one lovely double bedroom at the front of the house looking out to the sea, but the other so-called double is not an "attic bedroom" but actually a mezzanine above the kitchen, reached by a ladder, with poorly placed grab handles at the top. This was very awkward and quite alarming to use. The youngest members of our group, in their thirties, were unwilling to use the ladder and the older ones were even more reluctant. The other accommodation consists of an adequate twin bedroom at the back of the house and a bunkbed, so if two bedrooms and a bunkbed are all you need then you may well enjoy a stay at The Deck House.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the bedrooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2016
We are please that you enjoyed your stay at The Deck House and we are also sorry that you found the upstairs bedroom innaccessable, I myself am 60 years of age and find it no problem but I do tell people it has a firemans ladder when they call me, however we know the owner is looking to change the outlay of that room and hopefully you will come back and visit us again. Lyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresfam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant house with fantastic sea views”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a brilliant house. It has a modern, light feel and is perfect for a family holiday by the sea. We loved watching the sea from the big windows and hope to return when it is warm enough to enjoy sitting out on the deck. It was our first visit to this part of Scotland and we were impressed by how much there was to do and see. Many thanks for letting us stay in this fantastic house, we'd love to come back.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2015
The Deck House is a brilliant house with everything you could want or need on holiday and the panoramic views across the Forth are amazing. Thank you for giving us a great review and we hope you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildegard...
Muenster, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A house that keeps all it promises”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

It´s nice to find a house on the internet that does not promise more than it delivers. The pictures show the house exactly as it is, high, overlooking the ocean and with direct access to the rocky beach. We loved it. It was perfect for our little boys (9 and 10 years) to roam the rocks on the beach, with us enjoying the views and peace of the verandah, while still being able to keep an eye on the young explorers.
The house was lovingly and carefully finished to suit all of our needs, including wifi, video, books and games. The floor heating worked a treat and was very self explanatory.
We have rarlely had a holiday home in such a stunning natural position, right on the cliff, on the edge of town and next to a wonderfully quaint stone church.
The house is best enjoyed in spring/summer/early fall from the verandah with it´s stunning views.

We think that anybody managing to book this house can look forward to a relaxing holiday by the sea.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the verandah
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2015
Thank you so much for giving us a fantastic review on The Deck House, we hope you will return to visit us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing