We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wee Gem in the East Neuk”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Puffin Place

Shared garden with sea views, herb garden and BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shared garden with sea views, herb garden and BBQ.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Shared garden with sea views, herb garden and BBQ.
Double bedroom with views of the garden and the sea.
Bedroom seating.
Fully equipped Living Room / Kitchen / Diner. Oven, hob, fridge freezer, microwave, kettle.
Living area with Sofa Bed, TV with Freeview, W-Fi access and larder / cupboard.
The Auld Kirk, one of the locations for the film 'The Railway Man'.
The harbour where boats still fish for Crab and Lobster.
The coastal path leading to pittenweem.
Take a boat trip to see the Puffins at the Isle of May.
Flower filled wellies decorate the old boat launch.
The view to the windmill at the old Salt Pans. Ideal location to go 'crabbing'.
The view from the garden.
The beach situated between St Monans and Elie.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Monans, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
XGourmetd...
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wee Gem in the East Neuk”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here for a short break in June.
The flat is on the ground floor of a traditional three storey building in the picturesque village of St Monans.
We were warmly greeted by Linda, the owner, who showed us around the property.
It was scrupulously clean and well decorated throughout with cheerful puffins theme in the lounge.
The kitchen/lounge was spacious enough to accommodate ourselves and our dog with ease and had all the necessary accouterments;cooker & washing machine to hand.
The bedroom was tastefully decorated, and the bed very comfortable, just the thing for a good nights rest
We were blessed with good weather, and the flat made the ideal starting point for enjoyable walks along the coastal path of the East Neuk.
The ideal topping of the break was the fact that we could have our dog with us too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beautiful scenery and the coastal path walks
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal F
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay at Puffin Place!”
Reviewed April 18, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for a week at Puffin Place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would heartily recommend. The house is located on a very pretty, quiet street of traditional 3 storey houses, and from the front window and the garden you have a lovely view down to the harbour. You are only a two minute stroll down to the sea front and harbour, and only a few minutes from the coastal path. The house is very warm and comfortable, and was spotlessly clean throughout, very well kept by the owners and a very quiet, relaxing place to stay and unwind. St Monans is a really lovely, traditional fishing village with a beautiful harbour, we fell in love with St Monans as it has a friendly, peaceful feel to the village, so we would recommend you stay at Puffin Place and St Monans!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The only suggestion we could think of would be the addition of a small toaster for breakfast time!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geodor7
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A warm welcome, lovely flowers and spotless flat - what more can you ask for to make a perfect holiday? Only the fact that our dog Rory was able to come too.

A great week in this lovely part of Scotland - walks with the dog, a little sightseeing at a leisurely pace. Beautiful scenery and sea views - very relaxing to re charge your batteries.

Thank you Linda & Steve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robf46
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well appointed holiday appartment”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed for a few days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Puffin Place was extremely clean and well equipped. Linda the owner was on hand to welcome us and give us a run down of the local area and also stays in the apartment above so is available for any queries. The village of St Monans is a beautiful wee seaside retreat and the whole of the East Neuk is within easy reach to explore whether on foot along the coastal paths or by car. Being able to take our dog was an added bonus as he very much enjoyed his holiday as well! Thank you for the best of Scottish hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog friendly
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We did not get the much needed sleep and rest we where hoping for.”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We enjoyed our stay at St Monans, It is very peaceful some lovely walks great for dogs. We did not get much sleep at Puffin Place the bed was very lumpy,my Husband slept in the car the first night, then we ended up on the bed settee was OK for teenagers not 60 plus people.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2015
We were horrified to read this review as it came completely out of the blue. We make every effort to ensure that our guests are happy and comfortable and always check with our guests to ensure that everything is ok for them.

Unfortunately there was clearly an issue here that the guests, who stayed for 7 nights, declined to inform us of. If they had then we would have done everything in our power to remedy the situation.

This is our first negative review in two years of letting our property as prospective guests will see from the reviews on here, on Airbnb and on our own website. We average 4.5 stars out of 5 for everything from communication, to amenities and comfort.

We are confident that future guests will enjoy their stay at The Puffin Place but if they have any problems at all we would encourage them to inform us and allow us to put things right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffi L
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant accommodation in beautiful coastal area”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Puffin Place. Puffin Place itself is beautifully decorated, and situated in a quiet side street, yet only a few minutes walk from harbour & coast! Major bonus for us: it's dog-friendly :-) The weather we had was excellent - the east coast of Scotland apparently has lots more sunshine and less rain than the west coast & highlands. The coastal walks to nearby fishing villages Elie, Pittenweem, Anstruther, Crail had wonderful views, and the villages themselves were all so picturesque and lovely! We absolutely fell in love with the East Neuk of Fife, and will definitely return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevan W
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Nice accommodation, warm and cosy especially since we visited the area between Christmas and New Year. Parking on street but no issues there. Great base for some lovely and stunning coastal walks and golf. The East Pier smokehouse is well worth a visit but sadly closed during the winter except for New Years Day. Stephen and Linda greeted us and were more than happy to help and advise but gave us our space too. We enjoyed our visit and Puffin Place helped make it a memorable stay, thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing