We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish”

East Pier Smokehouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in St Monans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This smoke house serves freshly caught and freshly smoked fish for lunches. Absolutely delicious! OPEN SEASONALLY. MAY opening Wednesday - Sunday 11 - 5pm. JUNE, JULY & AUGUST open every day with late opening on Friday & Saturday until 9pm. We DO NOT TAKE BOOKINGS just come on down.
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A good find- simple, fresh and very tasty dressed crab salad and smoked salmon salad. The setting was unusual, like being on a boat almost, it was on the edge of the pier.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    74
    11
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Monans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go here and chill”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stay in the village and didn't realize there was an upstairs cafe. I got my steaming frothy coffee and ventured up there. Very New England! Painted white wood floors - log burning stove and views to die for - note to self - go back when the waves are crashing in and licking up the side of the building! I sat in one of the most comfy chairs with my legs up on a stool and listened to the relaxing background music - then I got chatting to fellow coffee drinkers - all in all a most enjoyable experience - just need more choice of traybakes - a little hidden oasis to visit on your travels.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smokin!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a great place to go for lunch. We had locally caught Langoustines to start (fresh, succulent and sweet), and hot smoked Mackerel to follow (moist and aromatic). Wish we could have stayed for more!,

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge Uk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“service with a smile”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The crab salad we ate was delicious and the service was lovely.
S. Monans is a lovely harbour village.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank olikCambridgeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We did part of the Fife Coastal Walk from Elie to Pittenweem for the "Art Festival" on Saturday. When we reached St Monans, in time for lunch and came across this establishment, which to be honest doesn't look like much, however, it is an epicurean delight. With their own smoke house, they seem to have a go at smoking everything. In addition they do fantastic food to eat on the premises and have a great upper terrace, with a great view of the town and harbour, even when the "sea harr" comes in.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faldereee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Pier Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to East Pier Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing