We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Scotland's Best?”

Craig Millar @ 16 West End
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in St Monans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of Scotland's Best?”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Been a while since we have nipped over for lunch to the East Neuk from Edinburgh but well worth the trip. What has this place got going for it, well just about everything, fantastic setting overlooking The Firth of Forth, cosy well laid out restaurant, very friendly and knowledgable staff, some really nice local artwork on the walls and most importantly great food, short menu but very good mix of dishes.

Spicy crab soup followed by cod with chorizo, courgette and mushrooms just fabulous! Desserts really not my thing but the honey parfait with sour plums delicious! Hope to return for dinner one day soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    54
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
186 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“one word - Excellent”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

staying at Anstruther and couln't get in at The Cellar who kindly recommended the Craig Millar.
very, very good and compares with the best.
superb setting overlooking the harbour which must be great in summer and also outside seating for nice days/evenings. Easy parking just outside too.
as expected not a big menu but it is good, we went for the Taster Menu with wine and enjoyed one of ther better meals we have had (compares well with our Michelin experiences here and overseas). You may think that tasters don't fill you but when you have 5 or 6 courses with accompanying wines your are replete! All the dishes complemented each other and you could actually taste them all (as the name suggests). Obviously not cheap but for this standard it never is.
Go here for that special occassion it's well worth it. Very good service, not rushed and didn't try to shift us out even though it was getting late.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madhatterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love it even more”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went there last Friday lunchtime to celebrate my father-in-law's birthday. We have been from time to time over the last five years, but not for a couple - it was "The Seafood Restaurant" then. Not only has the name changed, but the interior has been remodelled. I discovered this by trying to enter via the kitchen! They had moved it and opened up the interior with more and better harbour views.

The lunch menu had cod and halibut based dishes - they still have a seafood bias. We had three courses, tried all three starters, both fish mains and three deserts. There was no way we could critisise any of them. Portion sizes are pefect - ie not enormous and concentrate on the star ingedients.

The wine list may have moved a little up market - and compensates for the reasonable price of the food! But we had one £50 bottle of Sancerre that was worth every penny - on a celebration along with everything else.

Service is still great, knowledgeable about the food and the wine, unobtrusive whilst attentive, although they missed one or two opportunities when we had to pour our own wine.

It's definitely still high on our list of treats in the East Neuk.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

When we went to the "Seafood Restaurant" in St. Monans 12 years ago we were blown away by Craig Millar's talents as chef. Now that he is the Owner and Chef it is even better. All I can say is don't miss it! The Scallops were the best ever and the Pork Belly was fantastic.
The STAR is really deserved.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hineconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & a great view”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I came here for lunch while hiking the Fife Coastal Path, and it was a great decision.

The food is fabulous. I had a beer and the three course lunch, which is a really good deal for the quality of the food. It was nice outside, so I ate on the patio by myself.

The courses were:
Smoked Duck Breast - served chilled w/a cherry compote and duck liver pate. i was into it.
Halibut - absolutely cooked to perfection.
Dark Chocolate Tart - the chocolate was amazing, and it came with a side of salted caramel ice cream that complimented it nicely.

Service was great too, and the only other restaurant in town just has pub fare. Don't miss this place - set in one of the prettiest towns in the East Neuk

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William_Walker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craig Millar @ 16 West End also viewed

 

Been to Craig Millar @ 16 West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing